We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay if you can!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NY, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place to stay if you can!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2008

There are not the right words in the english language to describe this oasis. It was both comfortable and elegant. The food there was out of this world. We ate at alan wong's restaurant twice. The tasting menu was reasonably priced for the 5 course menu and wine pairings that go with it ($100). The food was unique and wonderfully prepared.

The concierge and entire staff are beyond helfpful. The service was top notch. It was our honeymoon and we got an upgrade complimentary that gave us a better view of the pool and ocean. The property is large but everything is within minutes of each other.

The rooms are large, we opted for a downstairs room with lava rock shower. It was definitely worth requesting this room. Showering outside was relaxing and serene.

The only down sides to staying here was the price of drinks, almost 14 dollars a drink. The upside was that there was a fridge in the room so go get some beverages from the local supermakets. Otherwise, this is the number one place to stay probably in all the islands.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kreyes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,397
    237
    91
    48
    22
See reviews for
796
1,343
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Pros -
Great poolside service, nice large rooms, great location.

Cons -
Very expensive, only one good dinner restaurant (Hualalai Grill) others are mediocre at best.

Hot Tip - Lunch at the Resident's Beach House is excellent.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank JimCCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We have stayed at this property several times over the course of several years. We were there over spring break and it was very busy. The problem is that as the entire area keeps getting built up (more homes) there is more of a demand for the restaurants and the recreational facilities. My 11 year old got up early (6:30) every morning to claim our chairs by the pool and we made dinner reservations a couple of weeks in advance. We do enjoy the property very much. The service, the spa, was perfect or made to be perfect by the Four Seasons. I recommend making reservations ahead of your vacation and also going off of the property to Merriman's or Roy's for dinner (which will be less costly).

  • Liked — Four Seasons Service
  • Disliked — Teen Room needs to be brought up to Four Seasons level
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKarenOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My family of two teens , myself and my wife , stayed here for the first week of april. I felt the same as the last few reviewers did with the following issues. While the properity was well maintained it was not up to standards of several other four seasons we have stayed in the past. This resort is like all of the other Hawaiian four seasons resorts we have been at. There is just something missing. The food was overpriced and the beach resturant was simply bad. We ate off the properity several nights at Roys or the local Tommy Bahammas. We did the beach "stars night" held on sat. evening and for a family of 4 with 2 glasses of wine our bill was 460$ with tip. This was there version of a beach buffet/ cookout. Although the food was good, to me and likely most others this is excessive. Skip the managers cocktail party as it was dull and uninformative.The ATV tour was fun and had amazing views of the kona /kohala coast and farmland.
We have been to all of the FS properities in Hawaii. I will say that the golf courses are great at all the resorts ,as they should be for 250$ a round. But for a true taste of world class service at a beach resort try the FS Punta Mita , Ocean Club Bahamas or Esperanzia in mexico.

  • Liked — golf
  • Disliked — food cost/quality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JoyGress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed at the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai on Hawaii for a week starting Easter weekend. Unfortunately, this was also Spring Break week. The hotel staff was overwhelmed and simply not able to cope. The staff tried their best but service suffered. If you wanted a beach chair or a chair by the pool, you had to set up early in the morning, otherwise you were out of luck. For these prices, you expect a better level of service. The rooms were also very shabby looking. I do not think our room had been painted in over 3 years. We will not go back to this hotel!

  • Liked — Weather
  • Disliked — Overcrowded and shabby accomodations. Expensive food.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ChaseWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just got back from a week stay for Spring Break 3/21- 3/28. Let's see, where do I start? Well, although many people love it, we did not. Yes there are some things that were nice, but we have stayed at many five star resorts and this was a bit over rated. When I make reservations at a Four Seasons and pay $950 for a room, (we had 2 rooms) I expect excellent service. That is what I expect at Four Seasons resorts. That should be standard. It was not excellent, it was only OK. First, it was Spring Break and my biggest problem the whole week was that the hotel was not able to accommodate all the guests at the either the pool or the beach!? The first three days I went out to the pool/beach and asked for a chair. "Sorry, there aren't any, but we wold be happy to put you on our wait list". I am NOT JOKING! OK, I have a serious issue with this. In all my travels I have never been told that there was literally NO WHERE for us to sit in a chair. When we asked why they didn't get more chairs their response was, "We have 30 more than last year", well good for you, but I still want a chair this year. So we sat on the beach on a towel in between two rows of chairs in an area they couldn't put chairs because they said it , "would block the infinity pool view". Another family that was in the same situation was steamed and we all said that it was unacceptable. We wanted to complain to the manager, however he was in vacation on a ski trip.
Yes, the staff is attentive, yes the gym was nice (crowded) and the restaurants are good, but to me the basic premise of taking a trip to Hawaii and staying at a very nice (expensive) hotel is that you EXPECT to be accommodated at the beach. Don't most people who go to Hawaii want to sit out and read and do nothing but relax? So days 3-7 I got up at 6:30 am and went to the chairs. Then there I sat, most of the day, since if you get up for over a half an hour your seat will be given away!! (Sounds extremely relaxing eh? not at all, quite stressful really) The hotel does however give a courtesy "lunch hold" so you can go to one of their restaurants at lunch without the fear of losing your seat. I don't know, but it would seem that a simple solution would be to get more chairs and hire more staff for the three weeks in March/ April that constitute Spring Break? I also think that the beach there is not great. There is a small "swimming beach" with very rough sand. Mauna Kea beach is amazing compared to this one. We had other issues, but they were minor compared to this. (concierge mistakes, no times available to play tennis, slow service around pool and beach) I really believe that most of the problems had to do with the fact that they were not adequately staffed for the amount of people that were staying there. After all this complaining, I will say our kids had fun at the King's Pond and the Kids' Club. They also had a s'mores fire out at the beach that we discovered on the second to last day. So, kids liked it more than us, but they didn't have to pay the bill!!

  • Liked — the restaurants
  • Disliked — lack of chairs and bad beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank CATravelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We have just returned from four gloriuos days at the Four Seasons Hualalai Resort. The hotel and the property are both magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so beautiful that could not drag ourselves away from the hotel to go to the Big Island sights at all. In fact we didn't bother with the volcanoes, especially with the recent lava and ash explosions, or any of the other places friends recommended. We just enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the hotel.

We stayed in a ground level suite with its own outdoor shower and lanai. We found the breakfast buffet to be a little pricey, but a lovely spread with meats, fresh fish, waffles, cheeses, etc. During the afternoons we ate at the Residents' Beach House. The food there was great and reasonable.

The pool was lovely, with an infinity edge and luxurious appointments. We enjoyed it our second day. The pool attendants were wonderful, bringing out 2 towels per sun lounger, and a cover for use with pillow (of course, a Four Seasons touch). We enjoyed the beach more; same appointments as the pool, but more crowded.

The Spa and Sports Club at Hualalai Resort is phenomenal! Great treatments (I had the Green Tea Wrap; wife had the Coconut Wrap). Expensive but fabulous.

Two of the restaurants were good; Pahui'a was about the same as the Hualalai Grille. The Beach Tree was not as good. We enjoyed the Residents' Beach House the best.

We paid what we thought was an excellent value for our accommodations. I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday (my wife would agree; she is extremely picky about hotels). Perhaps not the most convenient if all you want to do is shop and sight-see, but if you want to have a little luxury with your rest and relaxation, then this is an absolute must.

  • Liked — Great beach
  • Disliked — Food value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marquism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing