We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The resort is big, but still very friendly, quiet and just the right place for intensive relax. Nothing is missing and it is hard to imagine what to add. Service and maintainance are just simply great and discrete. Pools, bars, restaurants, coastline, spa, shops,...its difficult to discribe how good everything is. Everybody should try it. We have been in some of the best of the best hotels and resorts but this one is just above all of them. The only remak I can remember is the golf place in the resort. It is just wonderfull and maintained like the best championship places in the world but just too expensive. For golfing in the resort the price should be reasonable, therefore there are not a lot of players what is a piti.

Room Tip: With a view on the 18th hole and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matjaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha!

Two phrases jump out at me from the glowing report of your recent vacation with us here at Hualalai. The first is "Nothing is missing," and the second is "Everybody should try it." What lovely compliments! We will do everything possible to live up to your expectations on future visits. Please come see us again here at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai soon!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 2,927 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Could not fault this establishment-magnificent setting, fabulous facilities-esp. the gym and pools and excellent service(when I commented that the bed was too soft-no problem,mattress changed that day) Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful grounds, amazing spa. Spectacular restaurant Ulu, facing the ocean. Nice pool by ocean with attentive service. We were in an ocean view room on 2nd floor for $1,100 per night. Room was basic (Four Seasons in Maui is lovelier for room half that price). Cleaning service below par in terms of promptness. Three days in a row, we had to call around 3 pm to have room made up.

Small annoyances not found at other swanky hotels: fitness classes are extra. Just include in price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie_Garrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wai'olu Suite, six nights.
After our concierge asked if we wanted to pre-book any activities, I responded that we were going to play it by ear and our main goal was to relax and have no commitments. We were pretty much left alone after that, which made me feel a bit abandoned. You could fill your days with plenty of things to do and feel like you have conquered the island or, feel like the Swiss Family Robinson, secluded and isolated but with a side of Ice-cream cookies after a Mahi-Mahi Ceviche. We chose the latter. And then realized we couldn't do it. We wanted it all.
The Suite was pretty spectacular, directly across the ocean and the quiet adult pool and gardens, it boasts a very large ground floor Lanai with sun beds and outdoor dining furniture and a lounging couch (perfect for an afternoon nap). A tremendous living room with a full dining room and living room with full bath, steam room included. Beautifully appointed bedroom with Lanai and bath with three showers, one is a lava rock exterior orchid garden, a separate interior shower and a large bath tub with shower. that brings the count to four showers.
The breakfast Big Island buffet at the 'Ulu Ocean Grill is very good, not perfect but very good. The Smoked salmon did not seem fresh, dry corners. The fruit Juices settled and separated and were not cold, while it is a buffet it should still have attendants on hand to keep it up to par other than the omelette cook and refills. But it was very good, choose a beach side table and feel heavenly.
The Beach is sandy and long, plenty of sun beds available, unless you want the secluded areas, there is no need to reserve. Don't miss the treats every hour. If you are too far they wont reach you. You might see whales, dolphins, turtles. Not ideal for swimming but you can.
The pools are very different from each other, we loved the black stone adult pool with bar.
The Spa is excellent, the fitness facility is spectacular, it has its own big lap pool and great retreat feel.
Dinner under the stars is unforgettable.
The service is outstanding yet at the same time feels that you sometimes have to ask to get it, can't they read my mind?Just kidding.
No really, I might not agree it is the #1 Resort in the world just yet but it is an extraordinary place. I don't think that the asian luxury service level can be achieved in our beautiful USA without it costing unrealistic prices. This is a well balanced mix of seclusion and " there if you need us" type service, I am someone that hates to ask but expects to be looked after and at the Four Seasons Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu we enjoyed the property immensely, as if we were at our own beach home. I am sure that it gets better with future visits as they get to know you and your needs.
Bottom line tell your concierge your expectations and let the magic take over.
Another thing not to miss is the Volcanoes National Park. Get an SUV delivered to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floors have Lanai with garden access, Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Aloha!

We are truly grateful that you spent the time describing your recent visit with us here at Hualalai. We particularly enjoyed reading the description of your suite and some of the activities you enjoyed here on property.

We hope you will return many times in the years to come to give us more opportunities to pamper you, beginning with a pre-arrival phone call from our concierge team offering to make reservations to ensure a stress-free vacation.

The whales, dolpins and turtles join me in looking forward to your return.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From our arrival to departure we were treated to the utmost in sincere quality service and attention to detail. The staff went beyond all expectations to greet us by name and offer congratulations on our marriage. From maid to waiters to the Executive Chef.. they all greeted us warmly and with great joy and genuine concern for our comfort and pleasure

Room Tip: our 2nd floor balcony over looking the lagoon was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digitrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Aloha from Hualala!

We are delighted you chose our resort for your honeymoon destination and once again, congratulations on your marriage. I am happy to hear that we provided extraordinary service with joy and concern for your comfort and pleasure. We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come, perhaps for every wedding anniversary.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is absolutely amazing with all the pools, beach, restaurants, close proximity to airport, etc. We never felt like it was over crowded since its so spread out and we did not have trouble finding a chair on the beach. People were super friendly and service was impeccable. The concierge was also extremely helpful before we arrived recommending activities and making restaurant reservations. My only major complaint was our room. It was an ocean front (800 wing) with a beautiful ocean view overlooking kings pond . When I first saw room though, I was a little bit concerned that it was close to a maintenance area (laundry, ice maker, etc). But it was the back of the room that was close to this area so I let it go. My first instinct was correct though since we woke up every night (1 am, 3 am, etc) to the sounds of the hotel staff working in this area. This night shift was a constant source of noise- carts being pushed, doors slammed, etc (also its the back of the ULU restaurant) which was unfortunate especially since this is one of the more expensive rooms. We finally complained after a few nights and the manager was extremely apologetic and offered to comp us should we ever come back to the resort. We appreciated this, however its hard to believe that no one else has complained about this and they allow this type of disturbance to happen in the middle of the night at an otherwise impeccable resort.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms backing up to hotel "maintenance" area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleliteinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Greetings from Hualalai!

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent writing to describe your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that you found our resort to be "absolutely amazing," and our staff to be friendly and helpful. I truly regret that you were awakened by employees moving equipment around, and hope that you will return soon to give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves! Following your comments, we asked the staff to minimize noise to enable our guests to get a great night's sleep. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A friend planned this trip for our 50th birthdays (Hawaii Five-Ohhhh). 6 of our group of 8 all turning 50 this year. If you are looking for a great, healthy, unbelievable trip to take with a group of friends, truly I can't imagine anything better. Our days were filled with fitness, fun, food, fun, sun, fun and did I mention it was so fun! From paddle boarding with the dolphins in the morning to watching the sunset on the beach, it is just amazing. Now, this certainly is not for the weak of heart or wallet but if you are looking to celebrate something special, save up those dollars and head to this resort.

Room Tip: Any room any where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allboys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Aloha,

What a terrific title for your post. We could not agree more.

Thanks to you and your friends for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for the "Greatest Girls Trip Ever".

Here's hoping this becomes an annual event. We would love to see you all back in Hualalai.

With warmest Aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $917 - $2,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Otel, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing