We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“None better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Malibu
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“None better”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our 10th visit showed why this is our favorite resort destination in the world.
The personal service level, the quality of the food, rooms and amenities along with the wonderful golf course and staff there combine to make this an exemplary vacation destination.
We have tried virtually every high end resort in the islands and Hualalai really, really does it right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    228
    89
    48
    20
See reviews for
757
1,314
40
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Four Seasons does it again. The property, the people, the amenities, the service, etc. are 1st class all the way. The golf course was stunningly beautiful and in impeccable condition. My wife had a wonderful spa experience. Location is somewhat isolated from local options, but very convenient to the airport. Definitely worth the stay if you have the opportunity!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckSausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm not sure that I can adequately expand upon the previously posted comments !!! This is a magical resort! From the moment that you arrive at this beautiful property you are in an altered universe!!! The initial contact is beyond great!!! The attentiveness of every staff member is really incredible~they anticipate your every need and never make you feel that they are waiting for a tip! I could barely offer a tip to the young man that drove the cart & us to our room. He immediately reassured me that they all shared tip and that ALL would be taken care of! The service is perfection ~ all your needs are met quickly and efficiently The room views are beautiful ~ I really do not think that there could be a bad room in the resort.. Almost every room has the potential for some terrific view ~ there really does not seem to be any obstruction from the balconies~ all of the rooms that I observed faced the ocean ~ just the difference of a tree or a bush between the view!

We were so very happy with every aspect of our trip ! OUR trip was the first time that we have ever traveled together without any children/grandchildren We really missed them all and we had great memories in our hearts of our previous trips.

The food in the resort was wonderful ~ fresh ~ innovative ~ very appreciative of their willingness to go above and beyond to accommodate my husbands's gluten allergy. The bread was unique and fresh each meal! My husband usually had the bread and honey for dessert!! Room service was very very nice ! Plus, the food was hot and appealing ~ there was a toaster in the room and the server toasted the bread to your request. I can vouch for the fact that the food is definitely gluten free ~ my husband did not have any issues after our 12 day trip to Hawaii. That tells me that they take the allergy very seriously and that you can trust what they say is SAFE! The breakfast buffet is wonderful ~ love the food choice and SO SO wish that I had gotten the names of the staff ~ particularly of the Chef at the omelet station ~ he was phenomenal ... such an asset to the resort. You can tell that he loves his job and the interaction with the hotel guests! The service at the buffet was perfection ~ at times like these I wish that I could recall name of each person ~~~ From the hostess desk forward all was very very well done. The fruit bar was so fresh and I loved the croissants! The quality of the food at every meal was fantastic!

The spa was so very nice....the amenities were all available (lotion/shampoo/conditioner/shaving cream & razors/mouthwash/hairspray/deodorant and very nice quality!) Loved the outdoor whirlpool and cold plunge#~~~I hate to do the cold plunge, but always DO IT in honor of my mother!!!! Loved the outside lounging area ~ great service and lovely ambience!! Loungers and waterfalls ... nice service of snacks while you relax

The pool service is impeccable! Water .... snacks ... drinks... glasses cleaning ... sun screen ... towels ...drinks, light meals .... We really enjoyed the last day of our trip in the cabana ~ so much nicer there than killing time in Kona! After checkout, our folio was left open and available for all charges! We could change and shower in the spa after spending the day at the pool and dining at the resort before going to the airport. Very nice advantage and a great way to end the vacation!

Room Tip: Try for an outdoor shower ~ it was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurseparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This property is just amazing. From the beautiful floral arrangements in lobby, to the in-room garden with private shower, to the amazing beach and pool. Sea turtles actually swam up onto the beach while we soaked up the sun and cocktails. Whatever you have to do make it happen, stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DontPanic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our stays in the Four Seasons Hotels are aways the best experience, because not only are the facilities in excellent shape, but the wonderful staff is professional and always trying to make your experience an enjoyable stay and feeling safe. No hotel can beat the consistent service they provide. It's top notch!

The restaurants in Haulalai could use some improvements. The food wasn't as good as it used to be. They used to have the Seafood Buffet which we thought was excellent, but they no longer have it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I won't comment on the excellent service, friendly and professional staff and delicious food, because all that comes with a resort of this caliber. I will laud the natural surroundings that made every minute of our stay special. It was breeding season for whales but to see them from the beach day after day was breathtaking! One young whale flipped way up high out of the water and glistened in the sun as I walked the beach. And the turtles!!! Five of them sunning on the beach, two hugging each other on the lava, just took out breath away. And the pools with fish and birds around the property subtlely bring nature to your beck and call. It was a dream come true!!!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the Presidential Suite and off to one end of the property. It was next to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ildi469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

was a great time and enjoyed the food and atmosphere we enjoyed the sunset and the pools . the beaches was breath taken also . service was excellent and the staff also was very helpful, it is worth every peeny you spend . we went snorkling right off the beach . if you want to be pamper than this is the place to be .location is great

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank builditright1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing