We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dream Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Dream Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I won't comment on the excellent service, friendly and professional staff and delicious food, because all that comes with a resort of this caliber. I will laud the natural surroundings that made every minute of our stay special. It was breeding season for whales but to see them from the beach day after day was breathtaking! One young whale flipped way up high out of the water and glistened in the sun as I walked the beach. And the turtles!!! Five of them sunning on the beach, two hugging each other on the lava, just took out breath away. And the pools with fish and birds around the property subtlely bring nature to your beck and call. It was a dream come true!!!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the Presidential Suite and off to one end of the property. It was next to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ildi469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,219
    220
    83
    42
    20
See reviews for
730
1,247
39
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

was a great time and enjoyed the food and atmosphere we enjoyed the sunset and the pools . the beaches was breath taken also . service was excellent and the staff also was very helpful, it is worth every peeny you spend . we went snorkling right off the beach . if you want to be pamper than this is the place to be .location is great

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank builditright1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are considering the Hualalai you probably already know that it is VERY expensive. We have stayed here as well as many other very fine properties in Hawaii and around the world. For our money, we don't think the Hualalai is worth it. Yes the property is beautiful, the restaurants are great and the Four Season's style service is impeccable. The thing is, there are a lot of beautiful resorts with beautiful beaches and great restaurants in Hawaii. Maybe not quite as spectacular as the Hualalai but close and a lot less expensive. The Orchid on the Big Island is very upscale, has some great restaraunts, a nice beach and pool area, etc. for a lot less money. The main thing I didn't love about the Hualalai was the room. We had a lower category room and it was far to the back of the property, barely ocean view, long walk down to the rest of the resort and really just not that beautiful. For $700.00 or more per night I am hoping for better than that (on Expedia right now this hotel was $1045 a night, almost three times the price of other options in the area). Maybe if you have a room in a better location it's a better experience but you will pay for it! The restaurants too are all very expensive and the vibe at the hotel is a little more formal than I like while on a beach vacation. The pools are very lovely and the beach is nice but rocky and we didn't really hang out there. We did enjoy the bar down by the beach and we loved the casual beach restaurant that you can't go to if you're not a guest or a member of their beach club. The bottom line for me is if we found a deal and really wanted to treat ourselves we would go to one of the other hotels on the island for a few days then finish off with a few days here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igetaroundconb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's the best resort hotel in the world....We were there years ago when it first opened. We went back there in January. Everything was better than before.
The food is fabulous. The location is incredible. We walked in the morning walking alongside beachfront, watching turtles sunbathing just few feet away.
The hotel may be big, but we don't feel crowded at all(may be a little bit during breakfast at the restaurants). The people are super friendly. We love the sun beds, lots of privacy and very comfortable. It's worth paying the extra $150.
But be careful. We found out they google our names after we made the reservations..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank downjaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 wonderful nights at this fabulous resort with our 2 teenage boys with a company group trip. From the start the service was impeccable, the surroundings are stunningly beautiful, the choice of pools beachside for every age group excellent & poolside pampering abound. The functions, buffets and casual dining was also very good given a large group. The rooms are very stylish not huge but very nicely appointed. The gym/sports facilities there are the best weve seen at any resort and the walks and sights are just spectacular... Highly recommend the Blue Hawaiin Helicopter charters as a must... (Scott was a brilliant pilot!) overall this is worth spending the extra for a taste of paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTrishWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

They welcome you at the door, rather then checking you in. Every employee is glad to be there, they come by with cold towels and to clean your sunglasses. The resort is beautiful, done in a Bali like style that is so lush and floral. The three fun pools, not including the natural "ocean pool" where you can snorkle right off the beach or the deep natural sea pool with tons of fish, we all great. A dear friend had arranged a dinner on the beach with a guitar player and dancer that was magical for our anniversary. For a special occasion, it will never be forgotten.
The resort is a "bucket list" hotel stay, we loved the main level rooms with the outside shower (we never used the indoor one :) I didn't see one "view" that wasn't fantastic. We loved the gorgeous, gorgeous, soft sand beaches with the black lava rock scattered here and there. And everyone's favorite, the turtles all over the beaches ( I wonder if everyone goes home with as many turtle pictures as we have?) We had plans to visit the Volcano National Park....never left the resort. We will just have to save up, go back, I can not wait.

Room Tip: Main lever rooms have the outside showers which are so unique and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pegsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

They knew our names as they opened our car door at the front of the hotel!! Top notch service from every single person at the resort. Didn't stay long enough to enjoy the entire facility. Amazing spa - indulged in the body scrub - softest skin i've ever had in my life! We were upgraded to the ocean front room. Rooms were beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naush76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing