We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and memorable stay. Our best family holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an excellent family foliday. Certainly our most exciting, memorable and favourite.

We would love to come back to stay at this resort. It is very expensive but for a top of the top resort this is expected. We definitely had an awesome time though.

Hopefully we can come to visit again in the future should we be fotunate enough. This is one place we would take our kids to again.

Thank you for our beautiful family holiday!!

Room Tip: Nearby to the family pool area if you have kids would suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lester a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

All I can say that this is THE best resort I have ever stayed in! This was our second time back and it truly did not disappoint. Didn't think it could have been any better than our last stay five years ago, but it was. A must at least once in a lifetime experience. We stayed in room #903 only steps from the ocean. We went to bed and woke up to listening to the waves and the ocean just outside our patio. Definitely get the lava rock out door shower! For such a luxurious resort, there is not pretense or stuffiness. (Read my review of the St. Regis Princeville to know what I mean.) A special shout out to Jacquie and our travel agent, Nancy Herron, of Journey's to Hawaii, for making this all possible! Mahalo!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great views. Wonderful room and view. Loved the romantic sunset dinners near the beach. The pools were great to swim in and the hot tubs a great way to end the day. Food was amazing. The only draw back was the $16.00 cocktails. Great quick restaurant for morinings and I loved the snow cones.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were there in Nov/Dec 2012 as a couple (without the kids) and it was the best experience we have had in a resort ever! Impressive service, in front of the beach (not a 5-star one but quite decent for some time on the sand), great SPA with nice options/packages, best sunset view ever, super relaxing environment. Everything was 100%, room service, restaurants, cleanliness, pools... Ahh, the pools... Gourgeous, not mentioning King's Pond, an "aquarium" with several fish species. Finally, it is close to Kona Airport and the concierge is very very helpful and pacient if you need help to get activities out of the resort, such as helicopter tours, hiking, diving etc. WOW!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rkazuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fabulous hotel and gorgeous property. great service as expected from this 5 star resort. Love to drop in for the week or weekend, always a delight, privacy and relaxation are all part of the investment. Highly recommend this hotel. See you next month...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went here on our honeymoon and could not have imagined a better experience. The staff went out of their way to congratulate us and sent us champagne and chocolate. The hotel is gorgeous and super relaxing. It was 100% full but does not feel like you are on top of people at the beach or pool. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libbie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding annniversary at this resort. We were a little concerned as there was a PGA tournament at the resort while we were there. Nothing to fear. The resort was quiet and peaceful. We didn't even know it was going on other than the fact that one of the restaurants was closed/reserved for our stay. The service was great. I am gluten intolerant. The menu had many gluten free options and they would modify the dish to accomodate me. They had gluten free bread, scones, buns etc. They even made me a special gluten free happy anniversary dessert. Spa was excellent.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view near the Kings Pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
15.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $899 - $1,990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing