We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found - Look No Further”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raymond, NH
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Paradise Found - Look No Further”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

All I can say that this is THE best resort I have ever stayed in! This was our second time back and it truly did not disappoint. Didn't think it could have been any better than our last stay five years ago, but it was. A must at least once in a lifetime experience. We stayed in room #903 only steps from the ocean. We went to bed and woke up to listening to the waves and the ocean just outside our patio. Definitely get the lava rock out door shower! For such a luxurious resort, there is not pretense or stuffiness. (Read my review of the St. Regis Princeville to know what I mean.) A special shout out to Jacquie and our travel agent, Nancy Herron, of Journey's to Hawaii, for making this all possible! Mahalo!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,365
    232
    89
    48
    22
See reviews for
779
1,327
40
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great views. Wonderful room and view. Loved the romantic sunset dinners near the beach. The pools were great to swim in and the hot tubs a great way to end the day. Food was amazing. The only draw back was the $16.00 cocktails. Great quick restaurant for morinings and I loved the snow cones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were there in Nov/Dec 2012 as a couple (without the kids) and it was the best experience we have had in a resort ever! Impressive service, in front of the beach (not a 5-star one but quite decent for some time on the sand), great SPA with nice options/packages, best sunset view ever, super relaxing environment. Everything was 100%, room service, restaurants, cleanliness, pools... Ahh, the pools... Gourgeous, not mentioning King's Pond, an "aquarium" with several fish species. Finally, it is close to Kona Airport and the concierge is very very helpful and pacient if you need help to get activities out of the resort, such as helicopter tours, hiking, diving etc. WOW!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkazuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fabulous hotel and gorgeous property. great service as expected from this 5 star resort. Love to drop in for the week or weekend, always a delight, privacy and relaxation are all part of the investment. Highly recommend this hotel. See you next month...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went here on our honeymoon and could not have imagined a better experience. The staff went out of their way to congratulate us and sent us champagne and chocolate. The hotel is gorgeous and super relaxing. It was 100% full but does not feel like you are on top of people at the beach or pool. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding annniversary at this resort. We were a little concerned as there was a PGA tournament at the resort while we were there. Nothing to fear. The resort was quiet and peaceful. We didn't even know it was going on other than the fact that one of the restaurants was closed/reserved for our stay. The service was great. I am gluten intolerant. The menu had many gluten free options and they would modify the dish to accomodate me. They had gluten free bread, scones, buns etc. They even made me a special gluten free happy anniversary dessert. Spa was excellent.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view near the Kings Pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, gorgeous property and individual casitas (hawaiian name for them is...) and picture perfect pools with FS service though cabanas face the pool I prefer they face the ocean like FS Wailea. But there is literally no beach, and the Big Island has amazing beaches like at the Mauna Kea. OK that aside, the restaurant, I have my issues. The waiter graciously pushed a fish special. He kind of over pushed it. Two of us got it and then we understood why. The fish was probably not fresh, not rotten but certainly not fresh, rubbery and overly salted. They were clearly trying to get rid of inventory in my opinion, (I worked in restaurants in college and this was common). There is no lobby so forget about getting on your couture and showing off, not like FS Wailea which is a bit of a fashion show with movie stars sprinkled about its glorious lobby. This location is for people whom like golf, and want to hide away in their rooms, and have a more primative experience, ( I know that doesn't jive with a FS) as Kona is definately less commercial than Wailea. But for others it'll be too quiet. I think the best thing is a 2-3-4 approach. Two nights in Waikiki to pick up some energy and they have Allan Wong's restaurant the best in the state, three nights at Kona FS to neutralize Waikiki, then finish with four nights at FS Wailea to get the best of both and park yourself in an ocean view cabana and send gloating pics to your buds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomk626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing