We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Four Seasons was a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Four Seasons was a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding annniversary at this resort. We were a little concerned as there was a PGA tournament at the resort while we were there. Nothing to fear. The resort was quiet and peaceful. We didn't even know it was going on other than the fact that one of the restaurants was closed/reserved for our stay. The service was great. I am gluten intolerant. The menu had many gluten free options and they would modify the dish to accomodate me. They had gluten free bread, scones, buns etc. They even made me a special gluten free happy anniversary dessert. Spa was excellent.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view near the Kings Pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    201
    76
    33
    16
See reviews for
640
1,106
34
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, gorgeous property and individual casitas (hawaiian name for them is...) and picture perfect pools with FS service though cabanas face the pool I prefer they face the ocean like FS Wailea. But there is literally no beach, and the Big Island has amazing beaches like at the Mauna Kea. OK that aside, the restaurant, I have my issues. The waiter graciously pushed a fish special. He kind of over pushed it. Two of us got it and then we understood why. The fish was probably not fresh, not rotten but certainly not fresh, rubbery and overly salted. They were clearly trying to get rid of inventory in my opinion, (I worked in restaurants in college and this was common). There is no lobby so forget about getting on your couture and showing off, not like FS Wailea which is a bit of a fashion show with movie stars sprinkled about its glorious lobby. This location is for people whom like golf, and want to hide away in their rooms, and have a more primative experience, ( I know that doesn't jive with a FS) as Kona is definately less commercial than Wailea. But for others it'll be too quiet. I think the best thing is a 2-3-4 approach. Two nights in Waikiki to pick up some energy and they have Allan Wong's restaurant the best in the state, three nights at Kona FS to neutralize Waikiki, then finish with four nights at FS Wailea to get the best of both and park yourself in an ocean view cabana and send gloating pics to your buds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomk626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don't know if I can stay at a "normal" hotel again after experiencing the Four Seasons. Service and quality were truly exceptional. We stayed here two nights for our honeymoon, and it was such a perfect way to spend it. If you book through a preferred travel agent (you can find them via travel blogs of sorts), you can get additional perks like free brunch (REALLY GOOD) and meal credit at their fancy restaurant. Although their brunch is almost the same as that of the Mauna Kea Lodge Hotel a bit further up the coast, though Mauna Kea is overall "more affordable". I'm not normally one to want to stay on the resort grounds during a vacation, but that's all I wanted to do while at the Four Seasons. I was also surprised at how kid-friendly the hotel was, but they also have adult-only areas. Not that it was a problem to have kids around, since you rarely ever feel like the resort or its grounds are crowded. We also got a Lava Flow drink in the adult-only pool, which cost something like $16, but it was so worth it. So delicious. The waves were too strong for us to snorkel away from the shore (January), but they have the "King's Pond" which is an enclosed pool that has 4,000 fish apparently. They also offer various activities throughout the day, so sign up for those. There's staff manning every section of the resort, so you always have someone who offers you water or service -- very well-organized and a tightly run business. I would stay at another Four Seasons on my next vacation.... if we can afford it!

Room Tip: Again, if you book through a preferred travel agent, you might get lucky and get upgraded to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wellesley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family and I have visited this resort many times before and we just love it. It's a beautiful,outstandingly laid out hotel with so much to do! We booked the villa and it was magnificent. It was huge and had its own pool! We try to save up so we can come back here every other year. It's expensive, but most definitely worth it. Watch out for celebrities too! We once saw Hilary Swank here back in 2010!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hope9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've traveled widely for over 40 years. The service and attention to detail here combined with the setting make one great resort. The dinner menu needs minor help.
Go off ground to Volcano national park, populu valley or scuba with Big Island Divers for more beautiful things to see

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sngdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, fantastic staff, great service. Lots to do. All extras cost lots. I guess this is what you'd expect. The restaurant menus tend to get boring after a week. Not enough daily specials. However with four swimming pools and the beach, plus 18 hole golf course I'm not complaining.
Fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had hesitated to come here from New York as we had heard that the beach was not very appealing (which is true). Guess what? It did not matter one bit. This property is amazing in every way and we certainly hope to return. We had a great room overlooking the ocean and the King Pond. Sleeping to the sound of crashing waves was hypnotic. The pools are all incredible. The spa and sports center were fantastic. Take classes with Beth...she makes them fun and effective at the same time. Loved the 7 am fitness walks each morning. The resort is first rate in every way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for your recent vacation to Hawaii.

We will be sure to let Beth know that you enjoyed her classes.

I am happy to hear that you experienced the Kings Pond, with 3,000 fish and the resorts Ocean Pool - a large protected beach and ocean area that allows our guests to safely experience the beach and ocean.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Hualalai.

With warmest aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing