We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily one of the best overall hotel experiences in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The combination of the obvious beauty and the friendly, terrific service make up for the fact that this is not a place for foodies. The food is fine, but if you're looking for Napa Valley quality food, then you know where to go. The beach bar - with all of their fun bartenders - is a blast! And the adult pool with swim-up bar has got a World Class mixologist named Cory. Easily one of the best overall hotel experiences in the world for fun, rest & relaxation!!!

Room Tip: If possible, opt for one of their oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJS1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,926 - 1,932 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is the finest vacation resort that we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. While we have now stayed at the resort on 4 different occasions, this one was particularly special given it was our 25th anniversary. As anticipated, the hotel is an expensive proposition - especially when you have decided to treat yourself to oceanfront rooms - but if you can afford it, it is worth every penny. The rooms are fantastic and the beds extraordinarily comfortable - but if you want a real experience, get a room with an outdoor (but private) lava rock shower - WOW.

If you are doing an anniversary - ask about a private beach dinner - one of the most romantic nights my wife and I have every had - class act from service through to exceptional food. The Beachtree for lunch or dinner will not disappoint.

All of the pools are spectacularly maintained - we particularly like the adult pool by the Beachtree restaurant, but you must also try the Kings Pond - snorkelling or just hanging out it that area is fantastic.

Fantastic property, service, food - in a league of its own.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the initial check in to the awesome views, the personal attention with every staff member knowing and recognizing you by name, to the pampering at the many pools, it is amazing. We want to move there and live there. The in room dining 24 hours is equivilent to a five star restraunt. This was our second time we have been there with our family and mother and we cannot wait to return, They just make you feel like home. We kept saying, if this is so perfect, just imagine what Heaven is like"! Cold towels on the pool deck and beach, sun glasses cleaned poolside daily, ice cream at your pool side personal chair and many other free extras are simply wonderful! You must see and experience to believe, and then you will return to see the sunsets and experience Aloha!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful with Ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zdealerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

On October 21, 2012 my wife and I got married at the Four Season Resort and it was everything we could have asked for.

First of all, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We retain the service of our wedding planner (Jennifer Gillis) and she went out of her way to make our stay/wedding the most memorable experience ever. We were carefree as Jenna took care of everything for us. Our wedding guests were very impress with the resort, and gave many complements.

Secondly, the resort itself is amazing. They have the nicest beachfront in Kona. The food was excellent (fresh guava juice!!), and I enjoyed the pool very much as well.

It was such a great experience that my whole family still raves on about how nice everything were. Choosing to host our wedding at the Four Season Resort was one of the best decision we made, and if you fear the frantic pace of a local wedding trying to do a million things a once - Jenna and her team can definitely take all that hassle away so you can focus on the one thing that matter the most: enjoying your most special day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at many Four Seasons Resorts and this is the most beautiful and best resort. From the service to the grounds, you cannot beat it! SO SO SO SO beautiful! We were evacuated on our last night for a tsunami warning. We were so impressed with the order and system they had in place. We were ushered to the residential clubhouse, slept under the stars with blankets, food, and warm choc chip cookies. Definitely camping Four Seasons style! Thank you Four Seasons for the vacation of a lifetime!!!

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful! All rooms are a generous size! Ask for a room near the pool, not the King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a fantastic resort!
After being slightly disappointed by the Four Season on Maui, we weren't sure how we would like FS Hualalai but we loved it.
It didn't get off to a good start - when we arrived the receptionist who greeted us couldn't find our reservation and we waited ten minutes, without being offered a drink, until she retrieved our reservation. The welcome Mai Tai's were, however, very good. We were taken to our room by golf cart by a bellman named Ian who gave us a very good overview of the hotel.
At the King's Pond end of the resort we were in an upstairs room ( resort rooms are either on the ground floor or one floor up) which was about ten steps away from the ocean. Spacious and welcoming, the room's decor was definitely laid- back Hawaiian. Bathroom was a good size and the walk-in robe an extra treat. Our lanai was perfectly placed to watch the beautiful sunsets and a turtle resting place. We were not impressed that guests stood right beside turtles to have photos taken, despite the warning notices that people should keep at least twenty feet away.
September is apparently not a busy month so there was no problem getting loungers at the Beach Tree pool. We did not try the serenity pool or the small area which allowed ocean swimming. Although the majority of the ocean front is not available for swimming ( strong currents, rocks etc), guests can walk along the sand and enjoy the sound of the waves.
We spent a couple of days relaxing in King's Pond which is stocked with lots of fish and even a friendly eagle ray. Snorkelling is good!
The main fine dining restaurant, Pahui'a was closed for 'enhancements'. We ate at the Beach Tree restaurant and the Hualalai Grille ( see separate reviews) and they were both okay but nothing outstanding. On our last evening we watched the sunset from the beach next to the Surf Shack, then ordered sushi - excellent. Definitely the best food on the resort and the servers were very friendly as well as efficient.
This is a wonderful resort, beautiful ocean setting, lovely garden areas, exceptional service - great for relaxing but with the opportunity to do lots of activities if you wish but how does a resort like the Four Seasons run out of English Breakfast Tea??

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I spent our 20th wedding anniversary here, and it was worth every penny. The property is spectacular and the service exceeded our expectations. I like that property is arranged in coves, with the two-story buildings arranged in a semi-circle that face the pool and ocean. My husband and I asked for an adult-only area, and we were given a room in the Palms cove. (On the other hand, the Seashell cove caters more to families, with its kid friendly beach and pool). Of course an adult guest can use any of the pools and other beach amenities. We reserved a second floor prime ocean view room, and we were not disappointed. Our room (2810) had a direct view of the pool and ocean, absolutely perfect!

The restaurants were excellent. Loved the breakfast buffet at the Beachtree, casual place for all three meals. For lunch, we loved the crispy chicken tacos, and loved the braised beef short rib for dinner. The restaurant above the club house served great steak and seafood.

Service was perfect. They provided a complementary bottle of excellent quality champagne on the evening of our anniversary. Everyone - without exception - was warm, friendly, and helpful, and willing to our of their way to make us happy.

My husband played a round a golf, and loved the views.

We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Palm cove area is adult only. Room 2810 had a perfect head-on view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camera-n-passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
15.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $877 - $1,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Prestigia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing