We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just stayed here for a short honeymoon. The place is awesome. Staff is very friendly, grounds are beautiful, rooms a really nice and the food was great. Its definitely worth the splurge. We are both experienced guests of high end resorts and our expectations were exceeded. The one tip I would suggest is try to avoid staying during a large convention. Big groups have a tendency to overtake the pools, the spa, and such. Trying not to sound like a snob, but because the conventioneers aren't really paying for their rooms, the caliber of the guests can be a bit "distracting".

Room Tip: If you are a couple suggest you ask for a room around the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    217
    79
    40
    19
See reviews for
716
1,228
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

"It was the best of times, it was the bestest of times."

This is a tale of two properties on two Hawaiian islands. Each tale is about The Four Seasons – the first being the Four Seasons in Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii and the other being The Four Seasons on Maui. They have to be told in tandem because you really can't appreciate one without the other.

Our story begins with our honeymoon beginning at the fantastic Four Seasons Hualailai on the Big Island of Hawaii. It was our first time to the Big Island and as a reward to ourselves for our Wedding we choose the Four Seasons because it's always listed as the premier resort on the Island (much less that part of the world).

To say that this place is ideal would be a gross and punishable understatement.

But I'm getting ahead of myself.

Driving unto the property you feel as though you have arrived at any number of countless golf course resorts found throughout Hawaii, California, and Arizona. It is only until you reach the front entrance that you start to realize that this isn't your typical resort. Nooooooo...

It's stunning! The entrance has a modern-yet-retro Polynesian vibe to it. The floor plan is wide open and from the very start you begin to actually smell how beautiful this place is (literally... the place smells sweet and fresh). You are greeted with cold drinks and even colder vanilla chilled hand towels. Shortly thereafter you are escorted to your bungalow (room, apartment, etc.) via golf cart with a short tour of the grounds. This is needed as the grounds are vast and spread out.

The room we had was in a quiet section and to the far left (as viewed from the water). This was perfect as Honeymooners we appreciated the privacy. The room was beautiful and seemed to be almost brand-spanking-new. The design was light and airy with a retro Hawaiian feel but with all the amenities that you expect from the Four Seasons -- big comfy bed, large dark marble bathroom, tub for two, AND a view overlooking the ocean that was truly spectacular. And because our room overlooked the ocean, we were fortunate to see the beach lit up at night thanks to one of the restaurants (out-of-sightline) that placed klieg lights on the breaking waves.
Room Review: 4.5/5

Okay, now for the resort itself...

Pools Pools Pools.
There are three pools that are spread from left to right: The Kiddie Pool, The Big Square Pool, and The Adult Pool. We visited all three pools during our week stay and can honestly say that all three are great. The Kiddie and Adult Pools are infinity pools while the Big Square Pool is exactly that. Each pool is very well designed. The Adult uses flat tiles that seem to soak up the sun and allows it to reflect a cool dark hue, where the Kiddie Pool has tile made out of small circular marbles. The Big center Pool has beautiful smaller dark tiles. Each pool has a hot tub, and the Adult Pool has a swim up bar (more on that later). Each pool overlooks the beach which is no more than 20 yards away (Adult) and less than 5 yards away (Kiddie). The pool was never packed or overcrowded while we were there. In fact, it was pretty much empty. We had our choice of where to sunbathe and the service at poolside was second-to-none.
Pool Review: 5/5

Time to Eat.
We ate breakfast each morning at the Beach Tree Restaurant which is to be seen to be believed. Located to the right of the Big Pool, it overlooks the stunning beach and it's namesake Banyon Tree. The breakfast buffet was excellent. No shortage of choice and everything is crazy fresh. We ate dinner here a few nights as the Chef's menu as good as anything in New York or Chicago (Tuna Carpaccio was F-ing fantastic!). There was also a Steak house on the grounds but we didn't eat there (It's Hawaii... we want seafood) and the third restaurant was under construction.
Food Review: 4.5/5

The Ambiance.
The place is laid out like a sort of Disneyland for rich people. I mean the place actually SMELLS incredible as you walk around the grounds. The landscaping is immaculate and there is never a time when you pass by a hotel employee that they don't say "Aloha" to you. Add the swaying palm trees, the colorful birds, the sounds and sights of waves crashing on the beach and you have an idyllic paradise.
Ambiance Review: 5/5

But what about the other property that makes this story you ask?

On the second leg of our honeymoon, we spent a week at the Four Seasons Maui at Wailea.

I'm gonna go on record and say that this is a very beautiful and upscale resort BUT coming right from the Four Seasons Hualalai, this is like driving a BMW sports car AFTER driving a Ferrari 550 Barchetta Pininfarina. They are both stunning in their own way (but you know which one costs more and why)

The Four Seasons Maui is a wonderful property. It seems elegantly dated. –– I mean this in a kind way but there are a few key areas they could update if they truly wanted –– i.e., no "real" infinity pools, etc.

The resort is totally Four Seasons which means the service and amenities are top notch. But it's like you are staying in Miami and not in Maui. What we experienced on the Big Island seems to be lost in Maui. The Hotel is not very architecturally significant to Hawaiian culture the way the Four Seasons resort is on the Big Island.
Ambiance Review: 3/5

Where we had our choice of poolside chairs on the Big Island, we had to get up early and actually HOLD a seat before they are taken. The Adult pool in Maui is very "Hollywood" (which by the way, is labeled "The Serenity Pool". This is there only infinity pool BUT it's on an upper level and looks over the beach which is about two stories below.) and the small amount of seating is gone by noon. The main pool was actually quieter than the adult pool with more seating options.
That being said, The Four Seasons Maui has a beach you can actually use. Snorkeling and Paddleboarding here are excellent.
Pool Review 3/5 (update the pools please)
Beach Review 5/5

Rooms are more standard here and much less "Hawaiian" but they feature bathrooms that are almost TOO BIG to be taken seriously with your choice of music to be played in them.
Room Review 2.5/5 (update the rooms and show a little "aloha" in them)

The staff here is just as nice and helpful as the other Four Seasons and the valet parking (mandatory) are always willing to grab you free cold water bottles and help with your bags.

Food Review: 4/5 (room service only which was actually very very good.)

The ONLY negative comment is this -- why in the world would you charge $18 for a drink? It's criminal and unjust because, honestly, there is NO drink worth $18. Each person we spoke with felt the same way. In fact most would drive off property to the the local store in town and buy beer and spirits to bring back to the resort.
It would make guests happier to stay and lounge in the pool longer if you didn't need to take out a second mortgage to buy drinks on a Tuesday afternoon.

There you have it... a short tale of two properties, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu and the Four Seasons Maui at Wailea. Overall, an excellent, relaxing, and wonderful Honeymoon –– just enjoyed in the wrong order. (but we'd do it again in a second)

Aloha and Mahalo.
The end.

Room Tip: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu: Ask for a room overlooking the pond. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank antnee1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Would save my Vegas money and spend it at your beautiful property! I normally wouldn't stay at a Four Seasons Hotel cause I couldn't afford it. But after this visit, all the money saved for a Vegas trip is worth spending it here. I went home well rested and enjoyed the surroundings of the property and the ocean sound brought back many memories of going to the beach while growing up. I realized how much I missed it since we live so far from the nearest public beach. I also loved having a pedicure and my daughter enjoyed the spa and a pedicure. Most of all the service was so awesome and we were just overwhelmed! And the idea of going green......wow! My favorite was the outdoor shower. If I could have more than two showers a day.....I would do it. I would recommend this property to all my family and friends who visit the Big Island. Thank you for the piece of birthday cake.....I made sure I too a picture. Thank you again......me ke aloha pumehana!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms so you can hear the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

In late September we returned for our annual/anniversary trip to Hualalai and were not disappointed. This time we had two young kids with us, as well as guests/friends who met us for 5 of our 10 day trip. This is at least our 16th stay at the resort and it was 99% excellent.

The rooms are excellent, and we paid the "upgraded" fee for an ocean view suite and the view and extra space was worth it for our family. One of the restaurants was closed for renovation during our 10 day stay and the Beach Tree was more than accommodating for breakfast and other meals. The Hualalai Grille is now a steak house and worth a try (we ate there twice).

The resort manager was ever/appropriately present and gracious.

Yes, you will pay $$$$ for excellent service, location, and meals, but if you want a first-rate Four Seasons experience, Hualalai is the choice. We spend 4 to 5 weeks a year in Hawaii and while we like the remoteness of Lanai, and the beaches of Maui, Hualalai will always be our favorite spot.

If you golf, the resort course at Hualali is "ok", and Sid the "cart guy" is truly the reason to play a round there. But, if you want to golf Manua Kea, Kukio and Nanea are the best courses on island.

Aloha!

Room Tip: The Sea Shel Pool area is best for famalies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

First time at a Four Seasons, hands-down the most amazing experience with a hotel EVER! We were greeted at the gate by name, car valet parked, luggage taken to the room as we were escorted to a sitting room for the paperwork bit of it all. But not before enjoying a cool towel, fresh pineapple, and a mai-tai (that was quite strong) served in a coconut. We immediately felt welcomed, relaxed, and taken care of.

We were offered a tour of the property in a golf cart before being dropped at our room. The grounds are very spread out so you never feel crowded. With 5 pools and a beach, we never felt too-close-for-comfort to other guests. The fitness area was huge! lap pool, yoga center, cardio theater, free weights. There is also a Salt-water snorkle tank with no waves and free equipment. Demonstrations with sea creatures for kids, but super interesting for adults too. 4 restaurants including a sushi bar open late and of course, room service 24/7. Even after seeing the entire resort, our room was still breathtaking! An ocean-front suite, worth the splurge. Outdoor lava rock shower, private lanai, and the sound of the ocean to put me to sleep :) on super comfortable king size beds. Free coffee, Tea and Banana bread in the rooms. yum!

Breakfast buffet, although expensive at $35, but amazing. Bloody Mary was the best I'd had. Every meal on the resort was delicious, though we couldn't afford to have every meal there. Fresh towels and ice water the minute you sit down by any pool or the beach. Concierge is very helpful with anything you need, off-resort dining recommendations, new robes/towels, privacy when we needed it, chocolate covered strawberries on the house for the honeymoon, you name it! They were extrememly accomodating every step of the way.

5/5 stars in every way possible. Yes, expensive, but because they are the best. Excellence all the way.

Room Tip: The adult-only infinite pool was always quiet, a good place to have a room next to. But honestly, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my favorite hotel. Period. I am sitting on my bed motivated to write this review because I am so impressed and happy. They recognized our anniversary with (we got a beautiful view ) and are helping to make it a exceptional trip. The management really makes you feel like a king

The front desk Team, and management, (all are good but I specifically wanted to thank Tony and Jason) are genuine, friendly, and rock solid professionals. The staff, at all levels, are on the ball and truly interested in making your stay the best it can be. The Staff has Class and the level of training is truly evident.

The rooms are perfect (the outdoor shower and nearby self service laundry rooms are great touches), the gym and spa are without equal, and the food is broke da mouth good.

The cocktails are outstanding as well. Fresh ingredients and creatively made. I had a Bloody Maria (tequila) at the swim up Pool Bar and it blew my mind.

I have stayed at most of the resorts up and down the Kohala Coast and some are good but the Haulalai is the Best. The best by far.

This is my third trip here and it gets better every time - I would not go elsewhere, ever.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oahu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Starting with leis and tropical fruit drinks in coconut shell cups at check in - its all Aloha! Our room overlooked the beach and snorkel pond. Waking up to the sound of the ocean waves was a real treat. All of the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Snorkeling in King's pond with its massive number and variety of tropical fish was an awesome experience. We stayed six days / five nights and were given extended checkout of 5 PM as our flight out was 8 PM. Aloha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing