We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Belated Birthday Worth Waiting For!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mililani
2 reviews
“A Belated Birthday Worth Waiting For!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Would save my Vegas money and spend it at your beautiful property! I normally wouldn't stay at a Four Seasons Hotel cause I couldn't afford it. But after this visit, all the money saved for a Vegas trip is worth spending it here. I went home well rested and enjoyed the surroundings of the property and the ocean sound brought back many memories of going to the beach while growing up. I realized how much I missed it since we live so far from the nearest public beach. I also loved having a pedicure and my daughter enjoyed the spa and a pedicure. Most of all the service was so awesome and we were just overwhelmed! And the idea of going green......wow! My favorite was the outdoor shower. If I could have more than two showers a day.....I would do it. I would recommend this property to all my family and friends who visit the Big Island. Thank you for the piece of birthday cake.....I made sure I too a picture. Thank you again......me ke aloha pumehana!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms so you can hear the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,365
    232
    89
    48
    22
See reviews for
779
1,327
40
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

In late September we returned for our annual/anniversary trip to Hualalai and were not disappointed. This time we had two young kids with us, as well as guests/friends who met us for 5 of our 10 day trip. This is at least our 16th stay at the resort and it was 99% excellent.

The rooms are excellent, and we paid the "upgraded" fee for an ocean view suite and the view and extra space was worth it for our family. One of the restaurants was closed for renovation during our 10 day stay and the Beach Tree was more than accommodating for breakfast and other meals. The Hualalai Grille is now a steak house and worth a try (we ate there twice).

The resort manager was ever/appropriately present and gracious.

Yes, you will pay $$$$ for excellent service, location, and meals, but if you want a first-rate Four Seasons experience, Hualalai is the choice. We spend 4 to 5 weeks a year in Hawaii and while we like the remoteness of Lanai, and the beaches of Maui, Hualalai will always be our favorite spot.

If you golf, the resort course at Hualali is "ok", and Sid the "cart guy" is truly the reason to play a round there. But, if you want to golf Manua Kea, Kukio and Nanea are the best courses on island.

Aloha!

Room Tip: The Sea Shel Pool area is best for famalies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First time at a Four Seasons, hands-down the most amazing experience with a hotel EVER! We were greeted at the gate by name, car valet parked, luggage taken to the room as we were escorted to a sitting room for the paperwork bit of it all. But not before enjoying a cool towel, fresh pineapple, and a mai-tai (that was quite strong) served in a coconut. We immediately felt welcomed, relaxed, and taken care of.

We were offered a tour of the property in a golf cart before being dropped at our room. The grounds are very spread out so you never feel crowded. With 5 pools and a beach, we never felt too-close-for-comfort to other guests. The fitness area was huge! lap pool, yoga center, cardio theater, free weights. There is also a Salt-water snorkle tank with no waves and free equipment. Demonstrations with sea creatures for kids, but super interesting for adults too. 4 restaurants including a sushi bar open late and of course, room service 24/7. Even after seeing the entire resort, our room was still breathtaking! An ocean-front suite, worth the splurge. Outdoor lava rock shower, private lanai, and the sound of the ocean to put me to sleep :) on super comfortable king size beds. Free coffee, Tea and Banana bread in the rooms. yum!

Breakfast buffet, although expensive at $35, but amazing. Bloody Mary was the best I'd had. Every meal on the resort was delicious, though we couldn't afford to have every meal there. Fresh towels and ice water the minute you sit down by any pool or the beach. Concierge is very helpful with anything you need, off-resort dining recommendations, new robes/towels, privacy when we needed it, chocolate covered strawberries on the house for the honeymoon, you name it! They were extrememly accomodating every step of the way.

5/5 stars in every way possible. Yes, expensive, but because they are the best. Excellence all the way.

Room Tip: The adult-only infinite pool was always quiet, a good place to have a room next to. But honestly, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my favorite hotel. Period. I am sitting on my bed motivated to write this review because I am so impressed and happy. They recognized our anniversary with (we got a beautiful view ) and are helping to make it a exceptional trip. The management really makes you feel like a king

The front desk Team, and management, (all are good but I specifically wanted to thank Tony and Jason) are genuine, friendly, and rock solid professionals. The staff, at all levels, are on the ball and truly interested in making your stay the best it can be. The Staff has Class and the level of training is truly evident.

The rooms are perfect (the outdoor shower and nearby self service laundry rooms are great touches), the gym and spa are without equal, and the food is broke da mouth good.

The cocktails are outstanding as well. Fresh ingredients and creatively made. I had a Bloody Maria (tequila) at the swim up Pool Bar and it blew my mind.

I have stayed at most of the resorts up and down the Kohala Coast and some are good but the Haulalai is the Best. The best by far.

This is my third trip here and it gets better every time - I would not go elsewhere, ever.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oahu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Starting with leis and tropical fruit drinks in coconut shell cups at check in - its all Aloha! Our room overlooked the beach and snorkel pond. Waking up to the sound of the ocean waves was a real treat. All of the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Snorkeling in King's pond with its massive number and variety of tropical fish was an awesome experience. We stayed six days / five nights and were given extended checkout of 5 PM as our flight out was 8 PM. Aloha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What else can I say. This resort is absolutely the best. Our room, just steps from the ocean, was perfect. Love the newly updated patios and cabana bed. Staff is excellent and we cant wait to return some day.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the kings pond area, sleep with doors open listening to the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onemoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Probably the most amazing resort I have ever stayed at. You will never want to leave. Definitely splurge for a full ocean view room. The best pool is the main pool by the Beach Tree, which is also the best restaurant. Also, the walk south along the water in between the lava rock is spectacular. There are way too many terrific things to mention, so I will just say this: Hualalei will spoil you for any resort you ever stay at in the future. Simply fantastic!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kidaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing