We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hau`oli Makahiki Hou Four Seasons Hualalai * * * * *” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hau`oli Makahiki Hou Four Seasons Hualalai * * * * *”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our two week family vacation began with swimming in the "Kings Pond" & then snorkeling just outside our room with 5 turtles... We started each day with the wonderful buffet breakfast, we had the same beach cabana set up every day & we enjoyed our lunches beach side. With our niece & nephews we had fun feeding the sharks too! The kids liked the camp. We had a beautiful private dinner set up on the beach for all of us (7)... On 2 occasions the chef prepared our catch of the day from our fishing trips, it was a real treat! The Luau at the resort was also a great night out with entertainment. We all enjoyed massages that can be done by the cabana. The spa was very nice, we had several treatments & loved the outside massages. Shopping, the clothing store had great things that filled up my suitcase & my husband surprised me with a beautiful ring from the jewelry store... it's one of my favorite pieces. The little market was a great place to pick up a bottle of wine & some snacks for the room. We barely left the resort except to go fishing & swimming with the wild dolphins. We all had a fantastic time that we extended our trip a few days... The concierge took good care of us. No matter how great a place is there are always a few things that can happen. We were happy management took care of things. We look forward to coming back in December and getting the same room again!

Room Tip: We had the best corner room & we loved our outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    204
    76
    37
    16
See reviews for
658
1,124
35
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We recently spent a few days here. Because of our special occasion and availability, they accommodated us in a room category above what I had booked, but that was just the beginning of the outstanding service. Everyone at the Four Seasons Hualalei calls you by name, everyone is friendly, and just everything is perfect.

There are four different pools to choose from, with the adult pools being our clear favourites. It's great that they also offer a family pool and a "snorkel with the fish" pool, which helps to keep noisy children away from the other pools. Basically, there's something for everyone!

The equipment to work out offers a broad variety of machines and weights, and even classes. This was the only place during our vacation where we truly wanted to work out!

It's clearly not a cheap place, but you really get what you pay for here and I'd rather spend big money on two breathtaking nights here than 5 nights anywhere else! And if you want to save money...just don't get the $15 coffee and $10 extra bacon at breakfast, but book one of the packages that includes breakfast for two for only $50/day.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms may have a slightly better view, but the outdoors lava shower makes the downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHills2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This resort is meticulous, a true paradise and the staff is the best I have ever encountered.
The food was amazing, and there were a lot of options: fish, steaks, italian, kids, etc...By far cocktails at sunset at the Beach Tree were my favorite part ;) The spa is small but beautiful and the services were great.
Very Pricey, but worth every penny :)

Room Tip: Was there as a couple for my 10th wedding anniversary. We had a room above King's Pond, which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalipal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Four Seasons on the Big Island. The property is spectacular and the service sublime. A but pricey but unlike some others on the island, the service, food and amenities live up to the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCHBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My four year old daughter and I stayed at this resort for nearly a week. There are no words to describe how amazing the place is. Bliss! The property is immaculate and the staff always had a smile on their faces. Pools, beach and food were great as well. I highly recommend breakfast at Pahuia (sp) while drinking a passionfuit mimosa overlooking the beach. All of your troubles will simply melt away. I know mine did! I also recommend their "Surf, Sand and Stars" buffet on Saturday night. Pricey, but well worth it. I'll definitely return soon to the Four Seasons Hualalai. They treated my daughter and I with the utmost care and respect.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nrsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location-very worth the investment of a fantastic stay-cation in Hawaii. A little busy with kids, but adult only areas very nice touch...just wish some of the jacuzzies on the ocean front were open all night long...you know what I mean..the skies full of stars each night. Everyone so friendly and welcoming...it's what old Hawaii must have been back in the day! People really loved their jobs and let you know that living and working in paradise, is paradise!

Room Tip: Any room on property is great...who's in a room anyways...it's on the beach....and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestange1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spectacular. Just wonderful. My wife and I enjoyed everything that this hotel provided, and will absolutely return one day. The food was delicious, the room was breathtaking, the pool was magnificent. We were thrilled. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing