We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best of the best”
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Trust us, we've been around the world - stayed at all top hotels of the world... and this is it, the best! If we had to pick one place to visit the rest of our lives - again, this is it. Fabulous from start to finish, top to bottom. The rooms just beautiful and the decor perfect. All lower level rooms have the outdoor lava shower - do not miss this! The view of the sunsets just as beautiful at ground level - the lava shower - fabulous! The spa is so fabulous that each morning you will be dying to get out of bed to go workout. All machines in huts with all the windows retracted - simply wonderful. Massages are given in outdoor thatched huts - so great. The lomi-lomi is a neat massage and fitting to have one while staying in Hawaii. Walk right next door to the Hualalai Coffee Co and grab a special smoothie... so good. Pahuia's breakfast bufet fabulous as well - but the smoothie is just as good to start your day. Beachtree pool is lovely, what a view. Enjoy a drink in the afternoon at the pool too. Don't miss the sunsets before heading off to dinner. All resaurants are fabulous, The Grill, Pahuai, and don't miss getting sushi one night at Lava Lounge - it's super. You must do the Surf and Stars dinner on the beach on Wednesday or Saturday nights - just an incredible spread of food. Everywhere you look is beautiful, the staff just fabulous.
Trust us - this is it.

  • Liked — everything from check in to check out
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dmulls36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    226
    89
    48
    20
See reviews for
755
1,312
40
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I had an amazing time here with my girlfriend. We stayed 2 nights at another property on the Big Island first and the transition was perfect. At arrival we were greeted with guava juice and scented, chilled towels. The room was incredible, the spa was relaxing and the staff was the warmest and most educated we experienced on the island.

I especially enjoyed the King's Pond snorkel area. I love to skin and scuba dive but my girlfriend has had a bit of phobia about the open ocean. This was a great way to break her in to the concept. She loved it. I don't have kids yet but I imagine this would be a great way for them to learn about the ocean. They have the large pond stocked with 17 type of tropical fish and 5 Eagle Rays.

The Hualalai Grille is far and away the best restaurant on property. We ate their twice and loved it.

I also recommend the early power walk. It was very nice and got the blood moving to start the day.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lannyt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at the Four Seasons Hualalai and really wanted to do something special. From the time I began booking the trip it was a great experience. The reservations desk connected me with one of the concierges, Shandy. She was fantastic and helped me book some great surprises from my wife. She also took a personal interest and helped connect me with a local Ukulele maker who makes beautiful koa ukes.

Shandy passed me over to Kalai who does the dining reservations at the resort and she set up a couple fantastic dinners on the beach and some great in room dining that was simply perfect. The food was from Pahuia and was perfecly prepared and served by our private server, Leslie, who was really fun and made the dinners on the beach really special. When we got back to our room, Kalai had a photograph of us from our dinner on the beach waiting on our bed along with a Ukulele song book she had grown up with and recommended. She went way out of her way to make us feel very welcome and it worked.

The spa was also top notch. I had a couple of massages and my wife had a facial and a mani/pedi at the salon. Incredibly relaxing experience that makes you just want to spend a week in the spa alone!

The golf course was also fun to play with a beautiful layout that stretches through lava fields and bazillion dollar homes. It had generous fairways that feed the ball perfectly and contribute to the relaxed and welcoming pace of the entire resort. Not a terribly challening course, but then again, you are there to relax!

The pools were just what the doctor ordered. We spent our time at the Beach Tree pool which was very quiet and carried the same attention to detail and comfort the rest of the resort has. When we got to the pool the first day, they wished us a happy anniversary and brought us drinks as we sat down. That is service! What is really great is how low key the pool (and entire resort for that matter) really was. They pool staff is incredibly attentive. We had a few rain bursts and they would run over and help us move to a cabana to bring us drinks and then move us back to chairs when the sprinkle passed.

The room was like home. We booked a one bedroom executive suite and initially had one that overlooked the kings pond. When we arrived in the room, there was Champagne, fruit, candies, and snacks all laid out with a note wishing us a happy anniversary. Our room (711) faced west-northwest and really didn't have a sunset view. Since we really wanted to see the sunset from our room, I called the front desk the first night to see what they could arrange. The next day, they moved us to room 1911 which overlooks the Beach Tree pool. In typical Four Seasons fashion we did not have to lift a finger. They gathered our belongings and moved them to the new room while we were at the pool and then gave me a call on my mobile phone to let us know to stop by the front desk to pick up our new keys.

We spent 10 days at the resort and ventured off of the property for a couple dinners and lunches and each time couldn't wait to get back to the resort. The people, the pace, the beauty, the food, the spa, the pools, etc., etc., etc. Unsurpassed. It is no wonder this has been rated as the best resort in Hawaii. We will be back and reccomend it highly.

Thanks to Kalai, Shandy, Leslie, and Danette for making it perfect!

  • Liked — Amazing service and grounds
  • Disliked — Paying the HUGE bill!! Not a complaint. It is really quite worth the extra coin!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank FizzleNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Amazing hotel. Fantastic location. Friendly professional staff. incredible spa. Lovely food.

the pools were great - a kids pool and a quiet pool. Incredible service - we hope to be back.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank bermudatrinagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. The grounds were amazing. The service was outstanding. The rooms were great (make sure you get a room on the first floor to get the private outdoor shower). There are several pools and restaurants and plenty to do. If you rent a car you can go into town and walk around or eat dinner, but the food at the hotel couldn't be beat. If you like lobster, they do a buffet on the beach and they served grilled lobster tails. I must of had 6 of them (they were smaller).

We went back and forth deciding whether we would stay here or the Fairmont because the Four Seasons was much more expensive and I have say this hotel was worth every penny. We barely left the resort, which was rare for us, and had the best times of our lives.

  • Liked — Amazing resort, great rooms, great food, and lots to do!
  • Disliked — The rooms are expensive, but that wouldn't stop me from going back again.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoTravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I travelled from London to this property with my family with high expectations. The rooms are a huge let down, compared to other Four Seasons resorts we have stayed at. They are very average. The beach is not as fabulous as I thought it would be. However, the spa is amazing and the range of activities on offer for all age groups is outstanding! The pools are beautiful. Xmas time is crazy at this hotel--mostly regulars--very much a social scene.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank SARA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 19th anniversary at the FS Hualalai in October 2007. We have been there before, in 2004 and 2005, and each trip has a special place in my heart. This past trip, however, was extra special. It wasn't the room or the location, although both of those are beyond compare. This trip was special because of the staff.

I have an extreme food allergy to soy and peanuts, and even a miniscule amount has given me anaphylactic reactions. Reactions happen not just from the ingredient being in my food--I've had reactions traced to the utensils or pans being used for foods with the allergen, and then used to prepare mine. This makes it extremely difficult to eat out at home, let alone on vacation. Peanuts aren't too difficult to stay away from, as most people are aware of peanut allergies. But soy...that's a hard one. Take this challenge: go to your cupboard or your fridge and pull out anything, bread, crackers, cereal, cookies, junk food, salad dressing--anything--- and take a look at the ingredients. You probably will find soy listed.

I hate to bring up my allergy, especially to people I don't know. But sometimes, as in eating out, there is no choice. I can't eat something when I don't know the ingredients - so, I e-mailed the hotel in advance of my stay to let them know about my allergy. By the time we arrived at the Beach Tree restaurant for our first meal, the staff had already been informed. The restaurant manager and the chef came to our table and introduced themselves. The chef asked what we wanted, and then personally prepared it and brought it to our table, after making sure that all utensils and pans were washed before my food was made. And then that same thing happened at every meal thereafter. It's hard to explain how unusual that is. At most restaurants, after I give my "chef card" to the waiter (a printed card that explains my allergy), the waiter usually talks to the kitchen staff, and then comes back and tells me everything I can't have, which is usually almost everything on the menu. I have ended up with lettuce and salt & pepper more times that I care to remember. This is the first time EVER that a chef asked me what I was hungry for, then made suggestions for necessary changes, and then brought me an amazing meal.

That's service.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank jbillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing