We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We left the Grand Wailea after 5 days to spend 5 days at this great resort. This was our third visit, and first in 6 years. Our sons 12& 9 loved their time here. They wish they had spent the entire spring break at this resort. Maybe the could mow a few hundred lawns to help with the bill next time.
A few cleanliness items were reminders of the former occupants of the room. The fridge was very noisey and required a service call.
The kings pond, tennis, golf programs were all well designed for children of all ages. We loved the walk to the beach tree for breakfast every morning

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been guests at this property for years & it is one of our favorites. It is quiet, secluded and lush. The beach is adequate, and sometimes we will drive to nearby Hapuna beach for boggie boarding. We love the on site complimentary snorkeling at Kings Pond & the plethora of cabanas.
The food here has declined over the past 5 years, but it is still good. Our favorite place to eat lunch & dinner would be the Residents Club at past the 2 adult pool. It is gorgeous, the food is far superior and the location is spectacular.
The staff at most Four Season resorts are above par & the staff here anticipate your needs & often, exceed expectations.
The rooms are nice & some offer spectacular views- the 2nd floor rooms near kings pond offer great views & tranquility & even whale watching during the season. The first floor rooms are pretty & come with an additional private outdoor shower... The upper rooms are just sunnier to me.
There is a reason stars love this resort- privacy, solitude and service.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltounravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is my third stay at a Four Seasons Resort since February. I now know why we always choose this hotel brand first. We were there during the very busy spring break period and after remarking to the hotel management that we were disappointed with our ability to get reservations for restaurants etc. they could not have been more apologetic and willing to make amends. Everyone from Florian Riedel, the Resort Manager to Casey one of the evening managers made us feel very special and offered us a credit toward our meals as well as other amenities. Our golf package worked out great and we met one of the nicest and most accomodating people we have ever met on a vacation, Brown Bear. This was our third time back to this resort and we will surely return. We have also stayed at the Fairmont Orchid several times but the Four Seasons is just a whole other level of service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a fantastic property. We have stayed at numerous Four Season Hotel properties around the world, both resort and city centre locations, and this is among our favourites (along with Costa Rica, Florence and HK). Be forewarned, this is a very expensive resort but worth every penny!

Let's start with the property: it is large, varied and an extremely beautiful. The beach is gorgeous, with lots of sand and lava formations and plenty of loungers in a variety of spots along the beach. Unfortunately, you can't swim immediately in front of the hotel (except for a decent sized swimming area carved out of the lava) but there is a nice place to swim about 300 meters north of the hotel along the beach. You will also find good snorkelling there: with decent coral starting about 200 meters off shore and extending about another 300 meters or so. The water is turquoise and clear, and we saw turtles, an octopus and lots of different fish.

There is are six pools (4 regular pools, plus a swimming pond and a protected ocean swimming area). The Beach Tree pool is large and has lots of loungers and shaded cabanas. The food here was not very good. The Palm Grove Pool is small and is reserved for adults only. There aren't a lot of loungers here so you need to be there quite early to get one. The Kings Pond is stocked with 4,000 fish, including a eagle wray, and is a fantastic place to get young children their first start at snorkelling. We found the food here fairly good.

Our room (Golf-view Suite) was large and very comfortable. Having two bathrooms meant that our 12-year old daughter could have her own space. An excellent fruit plate was there when we arrived and was restocked daily. This was a nice touch. Water bottles were resupplied daily as well. The fridge is un-stocked so there is room to store your own beer, soft drinks, milk, etc. We were staying at the resort for 10 days and it was nice to have an informal breakfast in the room rather than having to have the full buffet breakfast. Two complaints though: The bed provided for my daughter was a poorly design futon (with an uncomfortable fold in the middle). If they put this in your room, demand something better. The second complaint was the air conditioning. It worked well and was quiet but it was hard to keep the room at a constant temperature through the night.

The restaurants are good but not great. Sadly, this is typical of most FS resort properties. The high-end restaurant is Pahula, which also serves the breakfast buffet each day. We had dinner there twice. It was ok but not outstanding. Both Beach Tree and the Hualalai Grill serve more moderately price fare and we had good meals there. In our view, the best quality/value combination is the Resident's Beach House, which is available on a first-come, first-serve basis for lunch and reservations for dinner can only be made after 3:00 pm.

During much of our stay a "pop-up" restaurant took over the Hualalai Grill. It was called Ludo Bites, run by Chef Lefebvre. It was fantastic and we feel lucky that we were able to go there two nights. Hopefully this (and other) Four Season Hotels (especially the resort properties will try this more often as it was definitely a highlight of our stay.

We stayed at the hotel during Spring Break and, as a result, it was quite busy, although not oppressively so (unlike the Maui FS, which is horrible during busy periods, unless you have your nanny in tow and don't mind sending her down to the pool at 4:00 am to reserve a spot.) Advanced restaurant reservations during busy periods are a must. As long as we were to the pool before 10:00 am, we were able to get a lounger.

Other comments:

1. The hotel is quite isolated. If you are staying more than a few days, you will definitely want to rent a car, especially if you are wanting to see some of the attractions around the island. Parking is free unless you choose to have it valet parked. The parking lot is very close by. If you are staying in one of the golf view suites (looking onto the 18th hole) there is parking right outside your door. We found this very convenient.

2. There are no off-site restaurants close to the hotel. To eat away from the property, you will need to drive about 30 minutes.

3. Laundry facilities are available throughout the property. They offer high quality washing machines and dryers, and detergent and fabric softeners are provided. This is a nice touch.

4. Basic internet is free. This is for one device per room and offers decent speed for e-mail and the web. Connectivity was good. A premium internet package is available (higher speeds and three devices) for about $20 per day.

5. If you are wanting to do something different, look into the Wild Hawaii Ocean Adventure (WHOA). This is a high-speed, former Navy Seal Boat, that cruises about 40 mph and will take you snorkelling to areas other boats cannot reach. The owners (Brett and Deron) are great guys (former professional free divers) and their knowledge of the area is fantastic. While not cheap, this is one of the most unique and entertaining activities that we have done.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BASLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ever gone six years without taking a vacation alone with your wife? We did thanks to the arrival of three kiddos over a period of 5 years. Our first experience back in the world of vacations was at The Four Seasons Hualalai and I think the four days we spent there made up for everything. Not sure we'll ever be able to vacation anywhere else after the pampering in paradise.

Room Tip: Know that there are multiple areas - some focused on families, others on couples - make sure they kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in the condos on property but booked an overlapping night at the Four Seasons so that we could use the resort for two days. Expensive food and beverages but well worth the experience. My daughter said the poolside burger was the best she had ever had. We tried all the restaraunts, they were all excellent. Staff bends over backwards to help. Anyone that has a bad experience at this property must be from a different planet. Next time in Hawaii we will definately return. Have stayed at many Ritz but first time at a Four Seasons, and there was a difference.

Room Tip: ask for a room by the pool if you are using the pools, they are the lowest cost and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris96740, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Aloha,

Mahalo, for taking the time to post a review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai and for staying with us - for one night - during your recent Hawaiian vacation.

We appreciate your feedback and your daughters praise of our poolside burger means a lot.

Hopefully next time we can convince you to stay with us a little longer.

With Aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed with our family in two rooms during the first week of April. Our rooms were absolutely perfect- first floor on the kids pool crescent. They were set back in the far north corner with a view over the shark pond and to the ocean- beautiful and quiet! Everything in the room was perfect and the housekeeping was impeccable.
The resort staff are simply the best you will find anywhere. We have stayed in many 5 star resorts- but have never experienced such gracious, sincere and knowledgeable service. From the breakfast staff, to the pool staff and especially the incredible concierge staff-all went above and beyond.
The resort itself was very busy as it was spring break- but it wasn't oppressively so. We had just come from a week at the Grand Wailea in Maui where the crowds were horrible.(If you didn't wake up by 6:00 am, you didn't sit by the pool and you were lucky to get a chair in the back row of the beach- never again!)
We especially enjoyed the natural landscape and rustic coastline. The walk along the "lava path" at sunset was magical. The Four Seasons developed this area without taking away the natural beauty- in fact, they enhanced it!
Thank you to all the gracious people at The Four Seasons for making our trip to the Big Island so memorable.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms on this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $931 - $2,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing