We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montréal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

For anyone seeking the wow factor for a resort and most sublime experience in luxury, this is it! Four Seasons has again exceeded my expectation. Outstanding location, service and confort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    201
    76
    33
    16
See reviews for
640
1,105
34
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have stayed at some of the top resorts in the world including Post Ranch, San Ysidro, Plaza Athenee, Villa de Este etc. but have never stayed at a resort that was so perfect in every way. If you are in need of a elegant but understated place to land where you need to relax this is it. I have never experienced such personal service...the staff is there to make your stay perfect. The manager Robert Whitfield was amazing. Among other things he actually took the time to draw us a map and have it delivered to us for an excursion one day. We felt like we were his personal guest. I also want to mention William Panaretos the Asst. Director of food and Beverage that also did everything in his power to make our visit such a memorable one. The spa is amazing too!
The rooms are extremely comfortable and elegant ...the food excellent with many choices. The toughest decision we had every day was to if we wanted to lay by the pool or on the beach in their custom covered lounges for two.( There is a childs pool as well as an adult one which is a huge plus for us).
The Hualalai is pricey but well worth every penny. Robert Whitfield is a gemand has made this resort our absolute favorite and we cannot wait to go back!
Patrice Berlin

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriceberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Our stay was the greatest, this was the best Four Seasons Resort we have stayed at, Thank You for a vary enjoyable time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We just returned from our fabulous stay at the Four Seasons Hualalai and were truly touched by the lovely staff, beautiful grounds, and unforgettable experiences. We are both workaholics and decided to take time out to celebrate our 7-year anniversary.

Room Tip: We are both workaholics and decided to take time out to celebrate our 7-year anniversary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Let me start by saying that I won a trip to any four seasons for two nights. Of all of the places I could choose from in the USA we choose the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu. Just because we won the trip does not mean that we were treated any differently. I and my husband used this trip to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We were greeted by the head of the bellman by name and we were not allowed to even lift a bag. We then were treated to guava juice and pineapple along with leis for each of us. When we were settled we then took a tour of the place with a bellman and then were presented to our room. Within 15 minutes we were sent a bottle of champagne. After this we quickly unpacked and then put on our suits. We went straight for Kings Pond where we were greeted by an attendant who covered our chairs with soft towels and then provided us with swimming towels and ice cold lemon water. Later we had dinner at the islands best restaurant that is at the resort called Pahu i`a where all the staff welcomed us and commented on our anniversary. We went back to our rooms well fed and tired (jet lag). The next day we ate breakfast at Pahu i`a for the breakfast buffet and then checked out each pool. I fed the eagle ray at Kings Pond which was very cool, not just for the kids. Speaking of kids they have a great family pool with handmade sand castle turtles and shells. If we can afford to come back we will definitely bring the kids. If I had to pick a downside I would say that for what we are used to the cost of meals was a bit high however almost always worth it. I am sure that the cost is probably appropriate for Hawaii just not our budget. Thank you to the Staff of the Four Seasons for making this a vacation that will last us for a long while!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the lava rock outdoor shower for sure! then get a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We just returned from our fabulous stay at the Four Seasons Hualalai and were truly touched by the lovely staff, beautiful grounds, and unforgettable experiences. We are both workaholics and decided to take time out to celebrate our 7-year anniversary. Having taken very little vacation in over two years, our expectations were high, and every single one was met.

We were upgraded and whisked away to a beautiful suite with both privacy and good proximity to all pools, sports center, spa etc. Everyday was spent working out at gorgeous gym, lounging at the Beach Tree pool, sitting by the beautiful spa garden waterfall, and luxuriating in luscious spa treatments. Evenings were spent at the Beach Tree Bar watching the sunset, listening to beautiful Hawaiian music, and indulging in decadent oceanfront dinners.

Thank you thank you thank you to the Four Seasons Hualalai for making our much needed break so effortlessly relaxing and rejevenating. We will be back every year from now on...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelistaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

You know you'll have a wonderful stay at any Four Seasons resort, but this particular property stands out for special commendation for two reasons:

1. Convenience: Easy direct flights into the Kona Airport from most west coast cities, and then a quick 10 minute taxi ride to the resort. If for some reason you would want to leave the resort [my wife never did!], then the hotel's concierge serves as a Hertz rental car agent. My kids and I scuba dive, and the hotel is very near Kona's Honokohao Harbor, where all the best dive boats are berthed (the big ones, like Jack's and Kona Honu, plus my favorite: Underwater Adventures, a six-passenger private boat.)

2. Luxury: The beautiful property stretches along a very wide ocean front, has three pools, several resturants, a golf course, spacious rooms, and is maintained to the high standards you expect from a Four Seasons. The staff are of course wonderful. A special feature is a snorkel lagoon stocked with exotic fish and a spotted ray.

I have stayed at many other Four Seasons properties over the years. Indeed my fantasy is to visit ALL of them. So I don't plan repeat visits unless the experience is better than expected. I already have reservations at this resort for my next trip to Hawaii!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DadFromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing