We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the coconut shrimp”

Bongo Ben's Island Cafe
Ranked #28 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walua Road
Transit: The Big Island, "Hele-On", public bus and Kona Trolley stop right in front of the restaurant.
Description: Bongo Ben's Island Cafe has quickly made a name for itself as the "Go-To" place for an extensive menu and delicious food, outside ocean front dining with great ocean and sunset views, upbeat local evening entertainment Wed-Fri., large portions and affordable prices, and an Aloha fun-friendly atmosphere! We are honored to be voted "Best Breakfast West Hawaii" from the voters at the West Hawaii Today the last three out of four years, but you'll love our lunch and dinners too!
Victoria BC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the coconut shrimp”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Came back for a second Christmas in Kona-Kailua.
The coconut shrimp for a late lunch was excellent. Good portions and fair price, service was quick and good. Saw several other dishs being served that we will definetly try. View is good but it sure was hazy today, hard to lodge a complaint agaist the volcano.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerraformTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    556
    189
    74
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Live music, great food and fabulous view”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here a few nights ago and loved it soo much we went back last night. Same great service (Thanks to Tammy last night) and wonderful food. The Seafood Linguine is home-made and what made us come back a second time in three days. Live music both nights and great seaside view. Our favourite so far.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Essence of Kona Dining”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Enjoy incredible sunsets and heady mai tais just across the road from the beautiful water colors of Kona's shores. You can sit right along Ali'i Drive, the Tourist Mecca, and enjoy the view.
The overall experience is so Kona, it caused me to pack my bags and move from San Francisco to Kona (yes, a bit exaggerated regarding my move here). Their Loyalty Card gives you a whopping 20% off and allows you to gain points toward additional cash discounts. And their service is gracious and outstanding

A breakfast must would be the eggs benedict and a mimosa. For lunch the tuna melt is a delicious treat while my dinner favorite is the breaded calamari steak: tasty and light (can't believe it's deep fried). Tasty sautéed vegetables and the delicious garlic mashed potatoes round out this favorite treat of mine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sohrab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, fun people watching”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We ate at Bongo Ben's several times and the food was always pretty good. The fajitas were huge servings and quite good. The breakfast omelet servings seemed especiall huge!

Bongo Ben's has nightly entertainment and their location on Ali'i drive makes it a perfect and humourous people watching spot.

Several times there were people handing out 10% off coupons so keep your eyes out for them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Jazz with Your Burgers”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dinner at this burger joint was accompanied by a very good jazz and golden oldies group that had several of the patrons dancing to the music. Sitting on the outdoor patio was very pleasant, even though you were feet from the main drag through the town. The food was good value for the money, and ranged anywhere from burgers to more fancy fish and steak entrees. The wait-staff was attentive and thorough, and did not try to hurry us through our meal. We enjoyed eating here, and would go back next time we are in Kona area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bookwoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongo Ben's Island Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bongo Ben's Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing