We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Big Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Island Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is without a doubt the best holiday our family has had. Big island retreat has all the amenities of home including the warmth and caring of the staff. The rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. The property is centrally located on the Kona coast. It is close to town yet miles away from noise and stress. The beach is a short easy walk away with some of the best snorkelling and surfing available. We cancelled our scuba diving because we saw it all snorkelling! Turtles, angel fish, coral reefs to name a few. A must visit...we will definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
111
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I will definitely be coming back to the Big Island Retreat! The rooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped, including a fridge and toaster oven. The view from my room's private balcony was spectacular... some of the best sunsets I've seen in my life! The owners are very friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay very pleasant. I loved how close the property is to the beach... just a short walk down the driveway and you have a great place for swimming, snorkeling, surfing, and sun tanning. I can't wait to plan my return visit!

Room Tip: Judging from my room, I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful! If you can get an ocean-side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want a clean, well decorated, near the beach place to stay then this secret hideaway is for you. We were pleasantly surprised how well kept this multi-room home was. Conveniently located near beaches. Included in your stay, you can even use surfing and snorkeling equipment for free...now that's a great deal. Owners are super friendly and accommodating. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonySaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel met all of our expectation. It gave us everything we look for in a hotel, a nice comfortable clean room, clean bathroom, good location, and good service. We enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely come back.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank goonybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.7 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Island Retreat

Property: Big Island Retreat
Address: 78-226 Kahaluu Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Island Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully maintained and landscaped property with five bright, well-appointed, clean guestrooms. We are just steps from Kahaluu Bay, which offers excellent snorkeling and surfing, but tucked back off the main road so the atmosphere is tropical seclusion. Each guestroom has its own private lanai, bathroom with tub-shower combo, refrigerator, convection oven, electric hot water kettle and coffeemaker. Additionally, we provide the following complementary amenities: use of beach equipment, garden sitting room with library and games, and gazebo with gas BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Island Retreat Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing