We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Manta Adventures
from $120.00
More Info
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
530
26
11
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
530
26
11
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain dan half day fishing trip hot shower whale watching tour mantas swimming gentle giants barrel rolls amazing trip the big island took great care night snorkeling wet suits great snorkeling boat ride small group crew boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 582 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2018

This is a must-do activity while in Maui, Kona, especially with the team from Manta Adventures (captain, Shauna and Peyton). There were 13 people on our boat, 10 of which were our group of friends.

They were incredibly clear in explaining how the evening will run and making notes of where to get water, restrooms and general safety procedures for the boat. I was a little anxious for the activity having had a bad case of seasickness last time, but everything went so smoothly and our crew thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

If you need more reasons to book these guys:
- Captain aimed to get to the area earlier due to expected competition of other boats -- also over 20 years of experience working at sea. We got there early and enjoyed the beautiful sunset.
- They use a magenta light (typically blue) to attract plankton and managed to see up to 4 manta rays at once
- Very capable crew who took time to get to know everyone and even provided snacks for us after our dive
- Informative stories about the Kona seas and Manta Rays
- Awesome hot shower after getting out of the water so you won't get sick
- Was lucky enough to see 2 manta rays flying from the ocean (this is very rare) - so just great timing

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank judyduong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 18, 2018

incredible! so excited to hear that you and your crew had such a good time. Its always awesome to hear that we were the highlight of a trip. Have an awesome rest of your summer, Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

I have nothing but good words for manta adventures! The captain, peyton and shauna were so accommodating to my friends and I (10 of us in total). Their point of difference is that they head out earlier than the other boats and shotgun 1 of 3 coveted prime spots for seeing the mantas! They have designed their boat and lighting for maximum manta sighting exposure and is fairly new. While we docked and watched the sunset, we were lucky to spot not one but two manta rays do a flip above water which is apparently quite rare. Once we weren’t in it was a non stop show and at once point we had 4 mantas simultaneously doing barrel rolls! For those hesitant or scared there is nothing to fear, you are suspending at the top of the water holding onto a light cage and you watch the mantas so there are no diving or accidental encounters. If you are sitting on the fence you should 100% do it, for sure was best thing we did in our two weeks in Hawaii.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jonahi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 18, 2018

Love to hear that! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

We really enjoyed the Manta Ray Night Snorkeling, they were beautiful and are much closer to you than you'd expect! I will say the water overall was very crowded with tour boats and so while in the water, you are part of a large group of people. Judging by the other boats near us, I felt like this tour was much better. I thought the boat was nicer, more comfortable, and the crew more professional. We arrived earlier and didn't get in the water as soon, so there was a lot of waiting, but I feel like that was time well spent just relaxing. It ensured we had the prime location but also weren't in the water too long. Highly recommend this company!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank staasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 1, 2018

thanks for coming along with us! we like to arrive early to get the best spots and ensure that our guests have the best experience possible. Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

My husband and I did this after traveling for over 30 hours. We were exhausted, tired, and not as excited as we should have been. All that changed the second we arrived. Shauna and Bill were friendly, informative, enthusiastic, and accommodating. The boat ride out was beautiful, we sat to watch the sunset and then the real fun began. Put this on your list as a must do.

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank genevab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 18, 2018

Happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed coming on board with us! We loved having you. Have a great rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

The captain and crew were amazing. They were fun to be around, accommodating, experts, and gave us a real adventure! We completely enjoyed our time. Worth it!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Liahona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 18, 2018

happy to hear that! We loved having you come along!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews