We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive on the big island”
Review of Kona Honu Divers

Kona Honu Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kona Honu Divers is locally owned and operated. From the moment you step into the shop or prepare to board our boat, you become part of our "ohana" or family. Our boat is safe and comfortable. Our dives are guided by knowledgeable instructors who brief you on what to expect to see before you enter the water. Encounters with dolphin, turtles, and manta rays are common in the placid Kona waters.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Portola Valley, California
1 review
“Great dive on the big island”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you want to meet a great crew and have a wonderful dive experience for all levels try these guys out. We loved it. Very organized- great boat and dive equipment

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sboyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    71
    16
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kona Honu Divers, I love you!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Frankie, John, J.C., Tom are the greatest guys! This is luxury diving at its best! They know the dive spots and they treat everyone like family. On our way out of the harbor, we stopped to watch two adults and one baby humpback play. Then between dives, a whale shark showed up, so everyone headed into the water to snorkel with the whale shark! So awesome! And this crew enjoyed the fun right along with us. Best day of diving ever!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Onhindsfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The positive - very nice boat that handled the water well. I also felt like their gear was well maintained.
The negative begins with them demanding you go to their small and hidden dive shop that is close to neither the boat nor any resorts. The purpose is purely to try to get you to spend even more with them on t-shirts. All you do at the shop is sign wavers, run your credit card and look at dive cards. All of which can be done at the boat which is another 10 mins away. The second big negative was the lack of friendliness of the staff. It started with the shop manager and then continued on the boat with their captain.
All in all, an extremely disappointing experience. My husband and I have done a lot of diving in world wide and this was the worst company we have experienced.
It fundamentally comes down to their lack of being customer service focused.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my first night dive and my first dive on a large boat. This was also Virginia's first night dive. My previous experiences have all been on six packs (which I prefer) or shore dives. But these folks were so well organized that everything seemed seamless. Virginia also commented that this was the best organized large boat she'd ever been on. There're we're twelve divers and another dozen or so snorkelers on-board. Our group of five divers had two newer divers including me. Our dive master Taiki knew where we were at all times, made sure we were safe and having a great experience. The night dive was even more amazing than I had anticipated. It wasn't just the mantas it was the entire experience, Taiki gave us a very useful briefing before going into the water, guided us to a very good viewing site and made sure we could see. He checked on those of us with less experience frequently and kindly suggested when we needed to go with plenty of time for a safety stop. I can't say enough about the water ballet we saw between the gliding and flying mantas and the swirling Hawaiian Flagtails the entire dive was magical. What made it even better was the fact that we had done our afternoon dive at the same site and saw a total transformation after dark.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Awesome Dives!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The dives were awesome and the crew was fantastic! I loved the night dive with the Mantas! We saw 38 of them! GREAT!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlies S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Honu Divers also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Honu Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing