We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”

Original Thai Cuisine
Ranked #58 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place has excellent food and fast service. The food was authentic and they have daily specials. Some of them looked real pricey. If you are in a wheelchair and travelling alone, you cannot use the rest room here since there are two small steps on the way to the unisex restroom.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MillionBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    48
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food for sure, others touches need work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Food was good. Restaurant could use more space and faster service. No kid friendly choices. Would be great for leisurely date night. Flavors were on time, other touches really could use update and work. Would visit again if kidless and in the mood for good Thai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Govflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We found this place by accident, while looking for another business in Kailua Kona. Since it was lunch time, we decided to give it a try. What a great find! Our waitress was kind and helpful as we made our selections. We both ordered lunch specials, which were well prepared, with sizable portions. The restaurant appeared to be a bit understaffed for the number of customers in the dining area, but no one seemed to mind, including us. We were not in a rush, and our meals were well worth the wait. This was a great dining experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVtravelbug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food, Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Panang our favorite is awsome, all curries awsome, salad is great and the coconut milk soup is addicting. We have been enjoying the food and friendly service for 3 years. Family owned and operated, it's our favorite place to eat on the big island. It's very basic as far as atmoshpere but the flavors you will experience are amazing. They don't serve alcohol but you can bring your own.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJM1964Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
262 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“really a true Thai restaurant food does not get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Sent there by a local Thai couple. it is back in a small shopping center near the center of Kona. ate the STUFFED yes STUFFED chicken wings fabulous and the duck spicy duck was 5 star soup excellent with a very complex list of ingredients.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Original Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing