We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it”
Review of Huggo's Restaurant

Huggo's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
california
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had dinner at Huggo' s our first night on the island. We just dropped in and were seated right away but it was fairly early so the big dinner push wasn't on yet. We weren't able to get a table on the outside but the view was nice anyway and we could see the sunset if we peeked around the corner. The staff was very friendly, the service was great. The food was very good but definitely at the higher end but not totally out of line for what you get. Nice atmosphere, good service, good food and a beautiful sunset.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stjohnlover44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    356
    141
    62
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Ambiance”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Friends had raved about this place, so I was really excited to go. I think the hype may have made the ultimate experience seem like a let-down. The food was all delicious, but nothing too tremendously special. The wine-by-the-glass list was a bit limited, though the bottle list seemed thorough. The view and ambiance were fantastic, and the service was top-notch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaVieEnCharmCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huggos”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Another one of my favorites! A very busy place, make sure to make reservations, and on the water so watching the sunset is great too. If its a quick bite, you can order at the bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Kona's best ambiance”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've eaten at Huggos at least once during our stay on the island (11 years), and have always been totally satisfied. It's probably the best place to eat not more than, perhaps, 10 feet above the waves pounding on the lava rock shore. The food is always excellent and priced reasonably. Our waiter, "Johnny island" , a Floridian transplant (39 years) to the island , couldn't have been replaced by anyone better. My wife and I love dropping by this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balboa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“50/50”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is at the "higher end" scale on the Alli strip according to all reviews and recommendations. We had high expectations of this place. Always packed to the brim and hard to get a bookin. We started off with a flat bread pizza and half a dozen oysters. The flat bread pizza hit the spot, however the "oysters" were pitiful! Imagine ordering half a dozen oysters in Hawaii for $18 and receiving 6 oysters that resembled the size of a dime. Could not taste or see for that matter any part of an oyster in the 2cm shell. This gave us a sour taste-more so when we were told by the waiter he would not of recommended the oysters to anyone for this fact-after he came to clear our plates.
The place redeemed itself with the amazing papaya glazed ribs. The best ribs I've ever had, and I've had a few.
So would I recommend this place? Yes! But definitely don't get the oysters unless you are happy to pay $18 for empty shells.

Helpful?
1 Thank JaseandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huggo's Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
 

Been to Huggo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing