We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a find”

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Ranked #8 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill is a casual local's joint featuring fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and a variety of salads at affordable prices. The restaurant (named after our daughter) is the culmination of much hard work and the dedication of ourselves and our crew. We invite you to be our guests and experience great food and old fashioned hospitality, island style. Angie and Paul—Proprietors of your Local Ohana Grill. Established 2004.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Feels like a find”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our favorite meal we had during a recent stay on the Big Island. It's a little bit away from the main hustle and bustle of Kona, though you can still see the ocean in the distance. The restaurant is painted in bright colors, and the windows are open letting all the fresh air in. The feeling is relaxed and fun. The staff was some of the friendliest we had during our stay. We ordered an appetizer which we loved, and we both had fish entrees which were fresh and delicious. If you're looking for a good meal that feels a little less touristy, I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyLee1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    535
    172
    44
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Open Air Setting With Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Jackie Rey's is a a colorful, open air restaurant located some distance from the hustle and bustle of Alii Drive. The initial greeting was enthusiastic, with that same energy level and friendliness continuing throughout the meal........a very nice atmosphere. The menu was creative, and the food is tastefully presented. While I of course can't speak to all of the menu items, the things which our group had -- ribs, coconut shrimp, a burger, etc. -- were all very good. As an earlier Tripadvisor reviewer said, it feels funny to make special mention of the fries at a restaurant with this creative a menu, but (like the earlier reviewer) I'll say that the fries were ridiculously good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2NationalParksFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Kona...”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Just moved here from California and Washington DC and have been visiting for years our trip was always complete by going g to Jackie Rey's. ..Their food and atmosphere is always wonderful...

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secret Ingredient: SUGAR”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Fresh food, fish cooked perfectly, delish poke. Drinks are sugar bombs, salad dressing is sugar bomb, sauce on main entrees is sugar bomb. At least you won't need to pay more money for dessert. No air con and really muggy hot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Varrin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh and flavorful”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After discovering this restaurant online, my husband and I tried it for lunch yesterday. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food delicious. We both had fish, which was Ono--our favorite. The fish was obviously fresh and the flavors delightful. The only negative would be that the humidity is unusually high right now and the open windows and ceiling fans weren't quite enough to keep us desert rats comfortable, but the food made up for that. The owner walked us out the door and even commented on the high humidity that was obviously beyond his control. We will be back the next time we are in Kona.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing