We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food with great service”

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Ranked #6 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill is a casual local's joint featuring fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and a variety of salads at affordable prices. The restaurant (named after our daughter) is the culmination of much hard work and the dedication of ourselves and our crew. We invite you to be our guests and experience great food and old fashioned hospitality, island style. Angie and Paul—Proprietors of your Local Ohana Grill. Established 2004.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
644 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 854 helpful votes
“Excellent local food with great service”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We came here because of many good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were pleased that we came. It is in a remote location and away from resorts and hotels.
First impression was a nice reception and prompt seating without a reservation. The place has a cozy ambiance. Next we were greeted by a really good server, Melissa. She catered to our every need and request efficiently and cordially.
Drinks were good and reasonably priced 20% less than same drinks in our hotel.
We had an outstanding sashimi appetizer followed by two main courses. A Mediterranean Salad with shrimp was excellent as was my scallop dinner.
Again our dinner was around 20% less than a similar dinner at our hotel.
We will come here again for lunch or dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,576
    522
    165
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ahi Tartare - best ever”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I love the entire menu at Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill, but the Ahi Tartare is the best ever. Friendly service and consistently good food make this one of, if not the best restaurant in Kailua-Kona.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best Place We Ate In Kona”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to Jackie Rey's two days before we departed Kona. It was the best food and even better service we had than any other place we dined at on the Big Island. The food quality and service compares to, "Mom's Fish House" on Maui. And that is saying something. It was also reasonably priced. The best pork chops I have ever eaten! We have decided that on future trips to Kona we will dine out at Jackie Rey's at least once during our stay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My Gyro!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I always like to try a new dish on the menu. It usually exceeds all expectations. This variation on the gyro was no exception. High quality New York steak, tomatoes, lettuce and great feta cheese on a pita made me very happy to be having lunch at Jackie Reyes.The service was attentive without hovering. The Ono fish and chips my companion had were also crispy and flavorful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food - wish there was more selection.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had the pork chops and scallops for dinner and they were great. Just wish there was a little bigger selection for dinner. Vegetables were very crunchy - we prefer them cooked a bit more than 'garden fresh'. Mashed sweet potatoes with coconut were FANTASTIC! And I usually don't eat anything with coconut - there was just enough to add 'something' to the purple Hawaiian sweet potatoes! Pork chops were juicy and tender, even for being quite thin - usually chops that thin are like shoe leather. Ice teas were a bit pricey at $3.25 a piece. But the $10 off coupon we got at our resort helped offset some of the cost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing