We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, poor service”

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Ranked #7 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill is a casual local's joint featuring fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and a variety of salads at affordable prices. The restaurant (named after our daughter) is the culmination of much hard work and the dedication of ourselves and our crew. We invite you to be our guests and experience great food and old fashioned hospitality, island style. Angie and Paul—Proprietors of your Local Ohana Grill. Established 2004.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very popular place. But it have some faults. We had made reservation at 7.30. Had to wait till close to eight before we got any table. As they close at nine we had to hurry through dinner.Seems they take to many resvervations and are not ableto handle them all.
Food was good. We had a couple of pupus and a dessert. that was all we had time for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PirmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,551
    511
    162
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
489 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great food, service lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stopped in for a late lunch (2:30 p.m.) and had one of the tastiest meals of our two week stay. The pork sandwiches are phenomenal as was the brownie roll for dessert. Unfortunately the service was the worst we had during our two weeks. Both the hostess and waitress were pleasant and friendly and we sat at a nice corner table by the open window. I am going to give them a 4 overall and assume part of the issue with the service was the odd hour we visited. When we arrived a table was closing out and another was ordering dessert (the only other patrons were sitting at the bar). Our waitress was quick on the drink order but she disappeared out of the main restaurant for long periods of time, failing to refill ice tea or take our order timely. When we did order we ordered an appetizer and the pork sandwiches and she asked if we wanted the appetizer first, which we did, so it was clearly understood. She disappeared again after our order was placed, probably 15 minutes passed and we knew she had either forgotten the appetizer or would bring it out with the lunch. Sure enough a few minutes later she arrived with the appetizer and told us the other sandwiches were done, did we want them too. Very annoying and rather than have our hot lunch sit while we ate the appetizer we sent it back. The sandwiches were delicious and I'm not sure what the complaint is by some reviewers regarding the price. I had forgotten the $9 coupon for tourists but our bill for 2 sandwiches, 2 drinks and dessert was $46, totally reasonable and inline with other places on the island for lunch. Considering a Denny's Grand Slam is over $9, $14 for a sandwich isn't out of the question. If I had remembered the coupon the bill would have been $37. Most of the time when you are one of the only tables you get better service but in this case perhaps she was preparing in back for dinner and maybe it was just a fluke. We'd still go back... that sandwich was good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOW value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great Food... Great service... Plate was hot, however food wasn't... View Okie.. great desert... To expensive for the restaurant setting.... Surely over-rated over trip advisor... but you have to remember you are at Kona and not Honolulu ;)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BOSHGOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Food was excellently prepared and delicious. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boltmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Have Won Ton of Enjoyment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Jackie Rey's is a modest establishment, an open-to-the-outside place where you can sit down for a casual meal and expect cuisine rather than grub. The menu is varied and interesting, and if the heat of the day forces you to succumb to the temptation of a cold beer, they have good choices. By all means, order a pork won ton for an appetizer. You'll wish you'd ordered two.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing