We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great restaurant”

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Ranked #8 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill is a casual local's joint featuring fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and a variety of salads at affordable prices. The restaurant (named after our daughter) is the culmination of much hard work and the dedication of ourselves and our crew. We invite you to be our guests and experience great food and old fashioned hospitality, island style. Angie and Paul—Proprietors of your Local Ohana Grill. Established 2004.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped in for a last meal before catching the plane to return home. Everyone in our group ordered a different entree and everything was great. Friendly staff, excellent service in an island atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gringobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    534
    172
    44
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews. It did not disappoint. Located just a few minutes from downtown Kona, it has a delightful open-air structure. We were greeted warmly by the hostess and server. The service was top notch. We had the Daily Special of Ono and Ahi on purple mashed potatoes.... our new favorite side. The meal was so delicious that we returned on the last day of our trip for a another tasty seafood meal. They didn't have the purple mashed potatoes on the menu but made a special effort to provide them for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Just happened by and stopped to try it out. Pleasantly surprised by all the friendly greeting as we entered. Happened to show up during Aloha Happy Hour and could not have timed it better. Food and drink specials that can't miss. Loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It may not be ocean front but Jackie Rey's is one of the best, if not "the best" restaurant in Kona. Must try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toes-n-tha-sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Casual and Fun, Decent Food.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very popular place with locals and be quite busy at the bar as well as in the restaurant after work hours. The staff is very friendly. The service is fast and the food is good. The seafood is very fresh- as it should be in Hawaii. The reason I ate it "average" instead of "very good" is that I don't consider this a gourmet experience. The seafood in a fancy looking restaurant right on the beach would cost a lot more, but some of the other items can be quite ordinary. Still, this restaurant does have return customers. The open air architecture makes it fun, although it's not really a "people watching" place since you're up on the hillside and off of the main tourist/coastline street (Ali'i Drive). I rate it very good on the atmosphere as it is casual and welcoming, but this does not mean quiet and romantic. In fact, it can be pretty noisy with a lot of regulars unwinding after a work day. A solo eater would be comfortable here as would a family. It might be too noisy for business in the evening hours. There's a pharmacy and a fantastic hair salon (Terrace Hair) in this same little hillside plaza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing