We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Native Hawaiians friendly, rich home owners were not”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Miloli'i (Milolii)

Miloli'i (Milolii)
Ranked #66 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Attraction details
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Native Hawaiians friendly, rich home owners were not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were excited to get away from the main route and see this quaint fishing village. We were hoping to do some snorkeling. When we were driving in, we came across a few people who looked to be native Hawaiians and were very friendly. One girl spoke with us briefly, she had a basket of fresh caught fish, smiled and waved and directed us to the good snorkeling area. We were still a little lost with all the no trespassing signs so when we got to the parking lot, we spoke to 2 older gentlemen (who we learned were ex-military) and they also directed us to the same supposedly public snorkeling area. Confident that we knew where to go, we headed out to find said snorkeling area. As we were approaching what was described as the public beach, we had 2 vacation home owners from adjoining properties approach us and tell us we were trespassing and that they could pull out their guns and shoot if we didn't leave. We didn't want any trouble, and it wasn't worth any police involvement so we left, quickly. I am still puzzled as I did not think Hawaii allowed private beaches?!? When we got back into Kona I spoke with an officer and he said the people who threatened us were completely in the wrong and that he probably knows these folks, that it wasn't the first time there had been trouble. Let me say it again, the problem was not with the Native population, they seemed genuinely friendly and curious to know where we were from, they had ALOHA so to speak. YES there appears to be poverty there, but there are pockets of poverty all over Hawaii, poverty does not make people bad. If you are looking for a resort, this is certainly not the place. But for me, I want to experience the true culture of the places I visit so this seemed like a perfect sidetrip. Not a total loss, the terrain is very interesting and I photographed some stunningly coloured Madagasgar Geckos. Wish I had been brave enough to ask for a photo of the local girl with the fish and pack of friendly dogs following her.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank michellefrombc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of the way piece of old Hawaii.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent the day at Miloli'i in august 2012 and found it intimidating at first. As you drive down the winding road to the area, all you see are lava fields, endless little ocean coves and small houses built all along the area.. When you reach the end of the winding road (whew) and head left, you drive thru the area where the locals live and it's intimidating. When we reached the park, we found a small library which was operated by an incredible local lady who married a Hispanic while in Arizona. She was very hospitable and informative. There is a beautiful little church there. The park has a boat launch and there were quite a few locals sitting around and playing their drums after a days fishing. Others were playing volley ball. There is a trail to the left of the park that leads to a beautiful fish filled black sand cove. You need to respect the property and the sacredness of the area but the reward is at the end of the trail. Respect the property and the people and you will see real Hawaii.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deliverance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Not recommended for any one, I locked the doors. The neighborhood is very unkept, wrecked cars, Pitt bulls tied up to trees and starving dogs. Sad, very poor neighborhood.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Bobby1234529099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escondido
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay- quiet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are into fishing this is the place to go- there's lots of affordable great vacation rentals- on. Kayaking, hiking to a very private beach Honomolino, walking around the flats, snorkeling are many of the activities there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylavocado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Hawaiian vacation yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our family, all adults, rented a house on an ocean cliff in the Miloli'i Beach Community subdivision for ten days in August. It is a spectacular area about an hour's drive from Kona, situated well for day trips there or to Volcanoes National Park or Hilo. It is probably not ideal for a first trip to Hawaii but is perfect for return visitors who prefer someplace private, quiet and a little remote, away from the congestion of the resorts. The drive up and down the mountain (about 10- 15 minutes) can get tiring so you need to plan shopping and other excursions accordingly. Compared to a Hawaiian cruise and a stay at a resort in Maui, this was most enjoyable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miloli'i (Milolii) also viewed

Milolii, Island of Hawaii
Milolii, Island of Hawaii
 
Ocean View, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Miloli'i (Milolii)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing