We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok.....I don't get all the hype.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Life

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Life
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rogoznica
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It was ok.....I don't get all the hype.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights and although it was ok, it was NOT a spa hotel, which is what we expected. This is a nice 3 star hotel though. You will be disappointed if you expect more.
Pros
The hotels and rooms are modern and beautiful.
The food was very good, albeit a bit overpriced

Cons
Most staff speak little English which made it hard to communicate.
The drink menu: Alcoholic drink was 8 euro....they did not list any drinks, we eventually figured out that their one alcoholic drink (cocktail) was a tequila sunrise??? Odd.
Check in time is only between 1400 and 2000. No late check ins offered.
Their check out time is 10:00 am. No sleeping in!
No outside food or drinks allowed. Not even in your room. Really???
Their spa is not really a spa but rather a room in the basement that will bring in an outside person for massages only. No nails, facials, etc.
Air conditioning barely works. It cools to about 25C only. They switched us rooms claiming they had no idea why it wasn't working (after first insisting it is working) but the next room was not better which leads us to believe they have it set to go no cooler.
No check outs before 7:30 am. We had to leave earlier to catch a flight so had to pay the night before.
Parking lot is very small. One day a car double parked in front of us and hotel did not seem concerned and left it that way all morning despite is being visible from the front desk.
Pool is VERY small...about 12 feet in length and 5 feet wide, smaller than your average back yard pool.
You can walk about 150 metres to the ocean but it is very rocky and shoes are required to go in the water. No dock or sandy entry into the ocean.
The hotel is located in a residential area with interesting nearby. You must drive to the nearest marina which has a limited selection of restaurants. The hotel is surrounded by apartments so you feel cramped in with nearby balconies full of laundry.
Wi-if was hit and miss.

I would not recommend this area unless you wanted a budget vacation. I would not stay here again as we have higher expectations for luxury and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taryn-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mr Taryn Rick,

thank you for choosing hotel Life for your short vacation.
Hereby we would also like to thank you for sharing your experince in out hotel with TripAdvisor comunity.
We appritiate your possitive comments on food and hotel in general but we also cannot notice your other thoughts.
Our hotel is definitely a small boutique hotel with 18 desinged rooms and spa area addopted to the hotel's size itself. Although we have indoor and outdoor rather small pools there is a beach 30-ish meteres from the hotel with a beautiful transparent warm sea.
Every hotel has its house rules so has ours and we never stoped our guests of doing things in a hotel beside the house rules.

After your complaines about the bad air-conditioning we up-graded you to the better room with a direct sea view on the same price. If you see other comments on our rooms and air-conditioning you may notice there were no complains regarding it.

Regarding the parking area, our parking is free of charge for all guests and although it is small we always provide enough parking spaces for every car.

We are very sorry that you felt this way as you wrote and we will do our best to improve the quslity of every next guest staying in the hotel. Hopefully, when you come next time all the mentioned things will be improved and better.

Best regards from hotel Life and sunny Rogoznica

Mario Erceg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    29
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
93
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed four nights at Hotel Life and loved every minute of being there. The location far from the crowds was great for us. The rooms and common areas are tastefully decorated and furnished, with quality materials and fixtures. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Very good breakfasts. Some people below complained about "watery coffee from the self-serve machine" - we never used the machine but always asked the waiter to make cappuccino for us and it was perfect. The chef at the restaurant is trying to be inventive and mostly succeeds at that.
The access road seems to have been freshly paved all the way to the hotel. It's still narrow and winding but very picturesque, loved driving on it.
I'm afraid the hotel should find a way to extend the guest parking even more: on a busy night it might be hard to find a spot even on the two unpaved "overflow" parkings. But I must say that eventually we always managed to find a place to park.

Room Tip: By all means take a room with a sea view. We were not sure it was that important when we booked one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mr Marassa,

we would like to thank you for your good words regarding your vacation at Hotel Life!

We are more then happy to read you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, and that you complemented our design, our staff and hotel services.
We are trying to make every guest feel like home but again to have their privacy and enjoy every facility the hotel offers, like the restaurant, spa area and beach area.

Our location is in a quiet area and is a perfect place to be away from the crowd. We really appritiate that you have recognized it.

Acknowledgements such as yours are of great motivation to us and it would be great if we can host you in our hotel again.

Best regards to you and your lovely wife from the owner and the entire staff.

Mario Erceg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

A terrific family-owned 4 star hotel. Excellent cuisine prepared by a young and ambitious chef. Quiet, natural beach, with clear water, not far from Rogoznica. Rooms with a stylish design, clean, good free WIFI connectivity, excellent air conditioning, and amazing beds. Very friendly and dedicated owner family and very motivated staff. They speak several languages and were always very helpful with every request made. We felt like staying at a friend's place and had a wonderful and relaxing week. This is a great place to recharge your batteries. We are planning to come back!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavienna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Slavienna,

thank you for this constructive review, in just a few words you said so much. Just as you said, here at the hotel everyone feels like staying at friends place. In your case, you can say that you are staying at family! All your compliments, those relating to the beach and the design of the hotel, are providing us a working enthusiasm! Special thanks to the compliments that you handed me and my family, and of course, those relating to our friendly staff! I was extremely pleasure to host you and I sincerely hope that I will have this opportunity again! Seeing you and your housband enjoying every evening in hotel restaurant, would make my day!

Greetings till the next year,
Mario Erceg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Boutique Hotel Life is in a quiet location overlooking the sea, but is well signposted from the main coast road so is easy to find. Everything is immaculately kept and in pristine condition and our spacious room was a pleasure to stay in. A comfy bed, good shower and with everything spotlessly clean this hotel ticks all the right boxes.

Perhaps the only slight downside was a rule that you are not allowed to have food or drink in your room - I don't see a problem with enjoying a glass of wine on your private balcony in the evening so it does seem a bit unnecessary.

Wifi was a bit and 'hit and miss' which I guess is down to the hotel's quiet location but it worked long enough for us to send a few e-mails.

Breakfast was taken on the terrace in front of the hotel and was more than adequate and it was most pleasant just to sit there and enjoy it at leisure. We also had an evening meal at the hotel which was, quite simply, superb - in fact it was the best meal we experienced whilst touring Croatia.

Overall, this is a lovely place to stay and we would have been happy to spend longer there if time had allowed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Tillard,

I appreciate your positive comments and I would like to thank you you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay at Life. Sometimes customers complain about our quiet location, but they are mostly satisfied by the fact that the hotel is an excellent starting point for all excursions in the area starting from the national parks Krka and Kornati to cities like Sibenik, Split and Trgir ... We are glad that you have recognized that virtue!

Also, thank you for the positive words that you sent us regarding the food, restaurant and maintenance of rooms, be assured that I will forward the compliments to our staff!

Also, I have to look at your comment that applies to carrying food and drinks in the room .. It is true, that it is stated in our house rules that it is forbidden to bring food and drinks in the room but it was only formally. If you were told the opposite, we believe that there has been a misunderstanding, and hereby I apologize ..

Warm greetings,
Mario Erceg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent just one night at the Hotel Life, breaking up a drive from Dubrovnik to Zagreb. We'd booked a suite for a family of four and were upgraded to the top floor Presidential Suite, which had only recently been finished. Stunning apartment with two bedrooms, a large bathroom and a huge sitting room, all with fabulous views of the sea. The beds were very comfortable, plenty of towels, good AC. The hotel is modern with spacious common areas. Our teenagers loved it, after a week of more traditional decor in other places. The pool deck was a little too crowded for us, but the beach was just a few yards away, so we went there instead. We ate dinner in the restaurant as the hotel is fairly isolated. The food was very good, and the service was outstanding, as was the service at reception. Breakfast was also excellent, with lots of choices of cheese, bread, fresh fruit (including figs, my favorite), juice, pastries. (The self-serve machine coffee wasn't the best though). The checkout time of 10am seemed a little early - everywhere else we stayed was 11am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Italaphile,

as I have already pointed out to numerous times, to me, and so to my staff, the most important is that the customer feels good when he gets to the hotel. If we have the opportunity, we will always give better room to guest. For us that is not a problem, but for you as a customer it makes tremendous pleasure, especially if you get an upgrade to the newly built presidential suite.
I'm just sorry that you had such a short stay in the hotel and you have not had the opportunity to enjoy all the benefits. Thank you for your compliments for the food and the staff, I will convey your thoughts to all employees of the hotel, I'm sure they will be happy! If I had the opportunity to once again welcome you, I'll make sure to give you basket of local fig trees that grow in front of the hotel as a gift!

As for the coffee from the machine, we have introduced some changes. All guests who do not like that coffee, can order a standard coffee, macchiato or capuccinno, of course, free of charge ..

Also, I would like to look back at the check out at 10:00 am; we are classified as a 4 star hotel, so we have an obligation to establish a formal time for check out. Considering we are a small family hotel, we always do nice things to guests, and we let them stay as long as they want in room0, of course, only if it does not endanger the guests who are coming after them. It would not be any problem if you had stay longer, and you certainly would not be charged for it ..

Many greetings to you and your family,
Mario Erceg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

just back from a long weekend in the area. hotel is a treasure in an area of croatia where often not a lot of attention is spend on details...
travelling with three we arrived and were nicely welcomed by a very friendly at least tri-lingual receptionist. our 2 rooms were very nice, modernly furnished, big city standard in a village.
pool is a bit tightly bedded, however beach is only 100m away. i failed to programm the safe, but instead of explaining the reception came up in under one minute (same experience our friend made) . bathroom with thick 5* towels and ameneties from rituals... another pleasant surprise.
we had some sundowners before leaving to meet up friends, so happy to have a 24h reception.
roomsize big, seaview (as booked). the standard room of our friend had the same size though. but all good.
breakfast high standard, fresh cut fruit, good choice and balance between local and international taste. only downside was the "real coffee" from the machine had an extra charge (at 9 Kn +- 1,30€ mild yet not fitting the overall image.
we had a rented car. hotelparking in high season a bit tight, but no problem round the corner. we also used the hotel shuttle to a oarty out there, price seemed reasonalbe ( possibly a bit higher than a normal taxi, but id always pick the lancia van with single seats , airco on high standard and a fixed price over a croatian luxury.
10 minutes to primosten, but forget walking, you need a car to reach anything interesting.
bottomline - hope hotel picks up on details ( magnetic contact at balconydoor for airco kept falling off, soap holder fell off as well) unlike the country standards.
one point of critizism : noise level from the hallways, be it other guests or cleening staff is high, as from 830/9 ish, if you have a light sleep take plugs....
Despite that and comparably expensive, I would choose the life over all i heard from the other friend which spend some days there with us in other spaces for standard, friendlyness and helpfulness of staff (especially receptionist) , bedstandard (boxspring), and details.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
And what can I say after all these amazing comments? I can not do anything else except to tell you one big “Thank you”. These words are forcing us to become even stronger and better. As you may have noticed during your stay, a lot of attention is paid to details, starting from details about design, the vehicle for the transfer or the little things that our staff does to make your stay more enjoyable! I only regret that I have not had a chance to see you more in the hotel, and that you did not use all what we have to offer as well as a sauna and wellness area. Maybe next time, you will spend more time in the hotel and so taste all its charms .. It would be may pleasure to host you again! Once again thank you for such a great compliments, and also because you warned us about some of the details on which we also must take precautions, such as sensors for air conditioning and noise in the morning.

Best regards from entire staff and owner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Life is a new hotel, situated in between Sibenik and Trogir, along a small rocky beach. The comfortable rooms are very nice, large and clean with a well equipped bathroom. The food in the restaurant was very good. Friendly and helpfull staff and manager.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the hotel is built on a too small terrain what makes that the pool is far too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDRBeveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Erceg, Owner at Hotel Life, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear RDRBeveren,

first of all, thank you for taking time to share your impressions from hotel Life with other members of Tripadvisor community. It make us happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying in our Hotel and also that you have recognized our efforts to make all the guests to feel comfortable while they are staying with us.

We will always be happy to welcome you again!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rogoznica
3.3 mi away
Hotel Zora
Hotel Zora
#1 of 1 in Primosten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
13.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel Life Palace
10.7 mi away
Solaris Hotel Ivan
Solaris Hotel Ivan
#3 of 13 in Sibenik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Spongiola
Hotel Spongiola
#1 of 3 in Brodarica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Tisno
Hotel Tisno
#1 of 3 in Tisno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
16.7 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vodice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Life

Property: Hotel Life
Address: Rtic 12 E, Rogoznica 22202, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Rogoznica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rogoznica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Life 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Life offers luxury hotel accommodation with 18 guest rooms to be pampered in. It is located in Zecevo in Primosten area and as a unique hotel in the surrounding area, our goal is to ensure pleasant stay and relaxing environment to all of our guests. Modern design unique to "Life" ensures pleasure and relaxation in specially furnished rooms equipped with all the high tech essentials necessary for work and play during your family holiday or business stay. Other hotel facilities: indoor and outdoor pool, wellness, fitness room, restaurant, congress room and hotel shuttle as well as its own fast boat for daily charter or excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing