We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful harbor”
Review of Hotel Ostrea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ostrea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mali Ston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful harbor”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

booked for a independant room in a small house, the "seaview" is not amazing, and the service ... exept the young blond girl who was very pro and commercial, is not famous. Our A/C didn't work, it was a very long and exhausting night ... the only advantage of this room was the terrass very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Rom-fr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Booked one night in a superior room with a sea view. Our room was tiny and although neither of us is large - we could not pass each other at any point in the room! It was a case of" I will move and then you can stand in this spot"! The decor in the room was tired and there were damp patches on the walls and large holes in the bathroom door where the bath/shower had flooded. compared with other hotels that we stayed in whilst in Croatia this was decidedly average. However our dinner in the restaurant that the hotel owns was superb and made up for our disappointing room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvandek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There's not much in Mali Ston except 2 hotels, a few rental apartments, and 3 restaurants but a lot of tranquility and beautiful views of the small fishing harbor. There's also a pretty interesting 600 year old defensive wall with one end in Mali Ston and the other end a km away in Ston. (Note: Do not attempt to walk this wall if you aren' t in pretty good shape-no bad knees. And don't forget to pay the 30 kuna entrance fee on the Ston end, the money is used for continuing renovation.) The hotel has wi-fi which worked best in the lobby, A/C although ours wasn't working too well, and a very nice buffet breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

WOW what another great little find...we stopped just to have a look and found this fantastic little family run hotel and also has a restaurant opposite the hotel that is listed in the top 100 in Croatia...The rooms are well appointed (we stayed in Villa (house) across the way from the hotel, a 1 minute walk away...this is good value for money, rooms are well appointed albeit the shower was entertaining to operate but this didn't take anything away from our stay. As we rented a car we 'fell upon' Mali Ston, as its off the beaten track. The location is stepped in history and the view from the hotel is the old city walls or your onto the Adriatic Sea (appears as if you are on a lake) 5 mins drive down into town and there are lots of restaurants, bars, very small shopping area and this links into the all city walls of Ston which date back to the 14th Century!! A must stay is you are in this neck of the woods....Also have dinner in their restaurant...the Cuttle Fish Ink Risotto is FANTASTIC....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Wert, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A very nice small hotel in a beautiful and relaxing community. I'm not exactly sure why they're only rated at 3 stars by the government... we certainly had a 4 star room with 5 star service in my opinion. Clean and comfortable with a gracious staff. Quiet relaxed setting.

We spent a week on the southern Dalmation Coast and the 2 nights we spent in Mali Ston were, by far, the most enjoyable part of our visit to Croatia.

Room Tip: I'm not sure any of the rooms have a "bad" view out the windows. Remember, the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ostrea for Easter weekend and were very impressed with the quality of the rooms, the service and best of all, the location. We splurged for a superior room and it was a bit more expensive, but all three windows overlooked the water so it was well worth the extra cost. The room was still quite small (as expressed by another reviewer), but it was very adequate. Breakfast was included in the room rate - we enjoyed a very nice small buffet - cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, homemake baked goods and the usual cold cuts and cheese. There are several nearby restaurants with fresh seafood - some are more expensive than others, so check out the menus before you make a decision. We just HAD to walk the (recently renovated) ancient xiry walls which start very near the hotel in Mali Ston - we climbed up and over the hill to descend into "big" Ston village - it's an adrenaline rush adventure of a hike, but well worth it for the views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Hotel Ostrea, a small, elegant inn and its family-run restaurant, Konoba (Kapetanova Kuca) directly next door, is a rare find in a small, beautiful fishing village with its very own fortress walls. A beautiful place on the planet and well worth the stop-over. Try the Stonska Torta Ston Cake for dessert after a sumptious dinner at the restaurant. Breakfast at the Hotel Ostrea is strictly continental.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painter012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mali Ston
10.3 mi away
Admiral Grand Hotel
Admiral Grand Hotel
#1 of 3 in Slano
464 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Nova
Hotel Villa Nova
#2 of 7 in Neum
44 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Neum
Grand Hotel Neum
#1 of 7 in Neum
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sunce
Sunce
#4 of 7 in Neum
111 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Sipan
Hotel Sipan
#1 of 1 in Sipanska Luka
241 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ostrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ostrea

Property: Hotel Ostrea
Address: Obala A. Starcevica 9 | Mali Ston, 20230 Ston, Mali Ston 20230, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mali Ston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mali Ston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ostrea 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostrea Hotel was built by re-constructing of the old house of the Kralj family, who manages and runs it continuously. It opened its doors to guests in 1998. The hotel is a part of a facility with an exquisite construction style and surroundings. It is located nearby the “Kapetanova Kuca”, is owned by the same owners and provides a marvellous natural atmosphere.The name is acquired after a shell – oyster, in Latin: OSTREA EDULIS.The “Ostrea” hotel makes an ideal place for business people, for guests craving rest in wonderful scenery, peace, quiet and murmur of the sea. The hotel provides 13 rooms and an apartment in two accommodation units. Each room is air conditioned, has a PC outlet, a direct phone line, satellite TV and a mini-bar. There is an aperitif bar, “Maslina” business salon, “Mlinica” restaurant, own parking and car park.Welcome to the “Ostrea” hotel, Mali Ston, owned by the Kralj family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ostrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostrea Hotel Mali Ston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing