We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cosey hotel and very friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Villa Vilina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Vilina
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lopud
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Really cosey hotel and very friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at Villa Vilina on Lopud island that lies 1 hr boatride outside Dubrovnik, unless you go by speedboat, then it`s more like 15 min`s. Comfortable room and very satisfying air conditioner, witch more than well made our good rested bodies wanting to get up and make the best of every day. We had forgotten our passports on going-home-day, and had to order a speedboat ofr them to catch our flight. The problem was solved in less than one hour, thanks to speedboat driver and hotel staff. Try the southern beach Sunji. It`s a lovely sandbeach with 2 restaurants that serve remarkably good food, and really cheap to us from Norway. It`s a 20 min walk from the mainharbour up and downhill over the island. There is possibilities for a ride with golfcar too for some kuna (Croatian currency). Ferry to Dubrovnik has several daily departures, but don`t miss the last one for the day, it could cost you plenty.

Room Tip: There is a junior sweet whit a balcony nad some extra space including sofa`s and coffeytable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Osijek, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Everything was fabolous, from the room, prices, beatiful food (never ate better), service (hello to Alex and Zeljko).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AcoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Located looking over the small fishing port of Lopud it is set up some steps. There are two parts to the hotel, the old building and an annexe of suites/apartments further up the hill overlooking the swimming pool and the port. The only bad thing about the location is the regular arrival of tourist boats and ferries on the nearby pier but this is less noticeable from the annexe rooms. This is a family run hotel with an excellent restaurant (a new young chef who produces amazing food, although the portions are small - no extra charge for perfect scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast!) and all the staff could not have been more helpful in every department. We started our 3 nights in the old house (shown to a small carpeted room) but transferred to a suite by the pool straight away without any problem at no extra charge which was really nice and spacious with wonderful views. It was fairly basic but functional with air conditioning. The fittings could have been more robust e.g plastic double glazing etc. I would higly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and troublefree stay. We left feeling that we had not been ripped off!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markberthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Ok one word of warning, if you are young and looking for a manic party holiday this is not the place for you. The Hotel only has a few rooms, but to be honest with you I really dont have a bad thing to say about the place.
We were looking for a luxurious quiet holiday and that is exactly what we got. This place is perfect for couples looking for 110% relaxation. The hotel has a hotel dog called Judge, who is equaly chilled, if you go there say hi to him from me ! Sea view room is a must !


I would say a week is long enough at Villa Villina as I probably would have got bored.

The hotel organised a Jet Ski for us to have for a day which was again perfect as we could explore the islands on our own, but be careful you dont run out of fuel and make sure you take a mobile (with the hotels phone number !), This was not cheap, but well worth it.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FriscoPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The rooms are small and poorly maintained. My shower was blocked all week and drained slowly. The room was uncomfortable and 'tight'. The electricity fused, tripping the system on three occasions and had to be reset. Every attempt was made to extract more money from me. The hotel tried to charge extra for expresso coffee in the mornings at breakfast and for an extra portion of food at dinner [I stayed half board]. Some dinner meals were clearly re designed breakfast meals although the food was generally good. The first meal at the Hotel was fabulous, but the standard was not the same all week. Defineately NOT 4 star, very disappointing and breaches descriptions of the rooms. The Island is beautiful and i found local residents charming.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Perfectly positioned just above the promenade of a stunning island, excellently designed with the right touches here and there (seashells in the bathroom or cool modern art features throughout that nicely blend into the overall homely, warm atmosphere), this place has all the right ingredients.
There are some small issues, though. Cleaning ladies chat loudly at 7 am. Unless you have your own laptop you can check your emails only on a cranky laptop with very dodgy connection. Reception staff answer your questions curtly and then immediately go back to chatting on the net or whatever they are doing instead of waiting a split of a second in case you might need something else. And when you ask about wine, waiters do not know anything beyond 'this one is red, this one white'.
Having said that, the overall impressions are still very good. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. The terrace where dinner is served is a marvel - lovely view, cool music playing in the background. Food is really quite good and (apart from that one thing about wine advice) very professionally served. The price is higher than what you pay in other accommodation on the island but I guess, at the end of the day, it's worth it.
Lopud is a lovely island with lots of features beside the two sandy beaches (the one by the port and Sunj, on the other side of the island). There is an interesting park. There are quite a few old mansions, churches and the fort. The island is criss-crossed by paths that provide ample opportunity for leisurely strolls in the verdant hillsides. The place does get overrun by daytrippers from the mainland (who do not overspill beyond the two beaches, really), but it is just about bearable, and when they leave, the atmosphere is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonadeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I had a great stay at Villa Vilina. The room was very large and offered a great view of the sea and town. We felt like we could really relax here.

The location is great. We took the ferry from Dubrovnik (40 minutes) and the hotel is right above the dock. The island is small and quiet- a nice getaway from the cruise ship crowds of Dubrovnik. It's not an inexpensive hotel, but we felt it was absolutely worth the price.

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner here as well. The restaurant is set on the patio in the front of the building overlooking the harbor. We ate during a beautiful sunset. The food was delicious. We had great seafood and pasta- one of our favorite meals during our two weeks in Croatia.

Tom and his staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged for a boatride to see the opening night fireworks for the summer festival in Dubrovnik- an unexpected and fun touch. Breakfast was great every morning, and we felt well taken care of.

We'd definetely reccomend a stay here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTRSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopud
0.5 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
403 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,784 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,974 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Sipan
Hotel Sipan
#1 of 1 in Sipanska Luka
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Vilina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Vilina

Property: Hotel Villa Vilina
Address: Obala I.Kuljevana 5, Lopud 20222, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Lopud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lopud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Vilina 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Vilina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilina Hotel Lopud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing