We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice couple/family vacation in Hotel Pineta, Vrsar, Croatia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pineta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pineta
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vrsar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A nice couple/family vacation in Hotel Pineta, Vrsar, Croatia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My friend and I stayed in Hotel Pineta for one week on summer 2011. We had planned to come to Istria, Croatia, with my daugter's family (she, her hushband and their two kids, 4 and 5 yrs of age). The vacation and the town was decided after a good planning and studying the coast of Istria. Several friends had recommended Croatia to us as a place to spend vacation with kids travelling abroad for the first time ever.
For our convenience we decided to take a room from hotel nearby The Belvedere, where the family would stay(they stayed in an apartment). We would be close enough to meet the family every day and enjoy lunch, dinner, trips etc together, and still far enough to guarantee us some time together as a grown-up couple.
The Pineta and The Belvedere share great pool areas. We went to the pool every day, and the children, even the more suspicious big brother, got acquainted to swimming in the pools safe enough for children of their ages (naturally well guarded by grown-ups).
Pineta has great breakfast, and the weather was so fine, that we could enjoy it in the terrace with a great view to the marine. The only minus was thet there were no glutein-free bread available for me. But as I always travel with my own bread, so it was no big harm.
Pineta is situated near the harbour and the beach boulevards and about 1-2 km from a beautiful seaside beach, where even small childfren could swim in the sea.
One day we took a motor bike tour to Porec (just the two of us). Porec is bigger then Vrsar and there you can find more shops, art galleries and market places as well. From the harbour of Vrsar you can enjoy several ship tours f.ex.to a pirate cave and to Porec, too.

Pineta was kind of ordinary hotel. The staff was very friendly and I recommend it for everyone, who prefer simple and beautiful things for a very nice price. The air-conditioning was ok and the location of the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Room to the pools and marine direction was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiskoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
69
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Bermany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel Pineta is an old 3 star hotel that is part of the Maistra group.
For a 3 star in Croatia we found the Hotel to be in a good condition with friendly staff, a great buffet stye breakfast, good (shared) facilities (the pool was excellent!) and fantastic views over the Marina and harbour. There is an animation team for the kids, a couple of shows each week, and plenty of sports facilities for all. Dinner was taken in the Belvedere (next door) and was top quality!! Evenings were spent strolling along the promenade, in the market stalls, on the Go Kart track, or in the kids play area. I would go there again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I were visiting Venice and decided to rent a car and drive over to Croatia to see what it was like. We didn't reserve any accommodation there but figured we would stop when we found something nice. It worked out well. The almost four hour drive from Venice was quite pleasant and to my surprise, the roadways in Croatia were very good. We were also impressed by the cleanliness and beauty of the landscape. We stopped in Vrsar at the Hotel Pineta and asked if they had a room for three nights available. We were in luck. They had two rooms left. Vrsar is a beautiful little seaside village with a lovely marina surrounded by restaurants and touristy shops. The hotel was pretty basic but clean and bright. I would recommend this hotel if you want a clean convenient place to stay when in Vrsar. Coming from Canada we were taken by the number of German tourists there. I don't think we heard any English spoken, other than the staff, who were very helpful. We visited the nearby towns of Rovinj and Pula which are both close by by car. In summary we very much enjoyed our first trip to Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelsea_vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for a week in June 2010. Location is brilliant, right on the seafront and 5 minutes walk from the old town of Vrsar. Our room was spacious with a big bed and balcony and was kept very clean throughout our stay. One complaint however would be that the room was on the ground floor and there were lots of ants on the balcony (there were lots of ants over the whole hotel complex) which tried to get into the room at night!! Would probably ask for a room on the 1st floor next time to avoid this and would ask for a sea facing room as our balcony overlooked the entrance to the hotel.
We would also have prefered more english speaking channels on the tv as there were only a couple but there was (I think) about 8 or 9 German channels!! The resort was predominately filled with Germans and Austrians so we understood why the tv channels were like this but it left us with nothing to watch after a day or so!!
The location is very hilly with lots of steps down to the pool area which is lovely, wasn't overcrowded and pretty clean. There is also a public, pebbly beach 2 minutes away and an island to swim across to (you may find nudists on this island as there is a nudist resort around the corner and the people we saw on it were generally naked).
There are plenty of facilities such as bike hire, pedalos and organized entertainment and there is a good gym (which you have to pay extra for) and indoor swimming pool.
Vrsar is a pretty child friendly place and there were lots of families in the resort however ther was an erotism festival taking place in town whilst we stayed which we didn't attend but from reading the guide, we didn't think was too appropriate for a family orientated town.
Breakfast in the hotel was great, massive amounts of choice and well cooked. The coffee was lovely. If you eat outside on the terrace you may be visited by one or two scrat cats. They are very friendly and look healthy but they won't come up to you unless you ask them. I fell in love with one and wanted to bring him home!!
All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the young lady on reception with curly hair.
Do not miss a trip to Rovinj and the Limski Kanal whilst you are there. Both are lovely.
There is a very nice restaurant just back from the seafront that we went to on a couple of occasions. Just go pass the other, brash pizzeria's and its just up the street on the right hand side.
We will definately be returning next year as we had such a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_animals66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We strayed for three days here after driving into Rovinja and finding that the town is full of tourist buses and crowds, and parking was difficult. Hotel Pineta is well located with views over the sea and islands close to Vrsar. We had a room that faced the sea and we enjoyed evening drinks watching the sunset. Reception staff were quite helpful, even though they were busy with the numerous group bookings they had to deal with. We visited in early May and the hotel seemed largely full of elderly tourist groups. The room was reasonable for a three star hotel being clean and adequate size, the breakfast buffet had a reasonable range of food styles which cover most tastes. The location is very good, close to many restaurants on the water front, a short walk to the old town and plenty of parking for cars. It was also centrally located (mid west coast) for our drives around the Istrian peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vannofavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We've just come back from a great last minute holiday at Hotel Pineta in Vrsar. The accommodation and location were great and I loved the dinning and drinks terraces which overlooked the busy harbour.
The room was adequate with a comfy bed, mini fridge and aircon.
Bathroom was clean and maid service was good although I'd have liked to have had clean towels every day. The shower in our room (no 7) was a bit dodgy, power ok but temp could be erratic depending on time of day and other guests showering in the hotel. Ladies who like to do their hair properly should be advised to take their own hairdryers as the one provided was pretty useless and tended to take ages to do the job.
Breakfast was great and we often didn't bother with lunch as we were so stuffed from the buffet. Choices of bacon and eggs as well as pastries and cold cheeses and meats with toast, jam and fruit etc . . .
The hotel bar was a little pricey for some drinks but happy hour between 8 and 9 is worth a visit as the cocktails are half price then. The Belini was very nice. (champagne and archers).
Hotel staff spoke fair English and made an effort to make us feel welcome although I wouldn't say that smiling comes naturally to most Croatians!
Although the hotel didn't have it's own outdoor pool, the inside one was good and the other hotel with the outdoor pool that you have use of is very close and almost on the same site as the Hotel Pineta.
Transport was a bit of a let down in Croatia, no trains in that part of Istria and the buses aren't terribly frequent to the larger towns of Pula and Rovinj. I would suggest booking early to ensure you can get a hire car unlike us who were left a bit stranded. One excellent service I did discover was www.istriatours.com who are a very reliable and by far the cheapest airport transfer taxi service.
Definitely have a fish platter for two whilst on holiday but stay away from a restaurant with a large fishing net hung up on the balcony just back from the harbour area. Very pricey and bad food. Only restaurant we found this in all the rest served excellent food at reasonable prices. Pizza and ice cream to die for, definitely shows the Italian influence.

Do take a good pair of walking shoes due to the hilly location of Vrsar and also a pair of wet shoes and if you fancy it a snorkel for the beach. I'd suggest buying a cheap beach mat on the first day you arrive. Will probably cost about a fiver but is well worth it as the beaches/rocks can be a little uncomfortable without it.
Do go for a boat ride and have a trip on the little tourist train that takes you around Vrsar. Both are cheap and good fun. We also hired push bikes which meant we could cycle out to the Fjord along the eco bike path, nice country side and good for looking at the vineyards. You can also hire scooters for fairly cheap prices.

Overall a thoroughly good holiday with just enough for a week. Two weeks might have got a bit dull but I'd certainly recommend it as a holiday for couples and families.
Hope you enjoy it as much we did.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzbeeswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

hotel was very nice and friendly but somewhat dated. this didnt spoil the stay and on the whole the staff were helpful. ublyana on reception is excellent and nothing is too much trouble . if you need anything doing or any advice ask her. cleaner didnt clean the room on a couple of days and towels were not changed all week. the local bus was a complete mystery and extortionately expensive recommend get a cab £35.00 to go to rovinj the next town. on previous bus rides children were half price. then they were free then they were full price.not impressed.food in hotel is good.rooms large and spacious.but main activities are in the belvidere hotel including evening dinner.vrsar is quiet not a lot happens in the evening once you walk through market two evenings you have had enough.would go back but would stay in porec which is lovely

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vrsar
0.1 mi away
Resort Belvedere
Resort Belvedere
#1 of 7 in Vrsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.6 mi away
All-inclusive Resort Funtana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista
Hotel Vista
#3 of 7 in Vrsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
2.9 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pineta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pineta

Property: Hotel Pineta
Address: Pineta 1, Vrsar 52450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Vrsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vrsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pineta 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of a hill across from Vrsar`s Old Town, Hotel Pineta is the best hotel in Vrsar, blending a pleasant atmosphere and warm personal service with stunning vistas of the Old Town and the surrounding islets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pineta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineta Hotel Vrsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing