We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Your Own Food”
Review of Resort Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resort Belvedere
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vrsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We chose this hotel as our only holiday of the year. There was nothing really wrong with it but would only advise if you are looking for a hotel to accomodate children. Me and my boyfriend are in our mid 20s and can honestly say it was the most boring holiday I have ever been on. There is no night life, the 2 puubs in the village were only for the locals as there was no mixing whatsoever. There were also no other couples to speak to throughout our stay. The hotel is mainly a resort for Germans, Italians and Croatians. The breakfast was lovely but the dinner lacked any imagination whatsoever, overcooked vegetables, at a price way above any other restaurant in the area. I would not advise to eat in the hotel. The food in Vrsar is dodgy by any standards. Our first night we both got food poisoning from the one of the local restaurants and ate out at a different place every night as the food was just basic. However you can get 2 dinners and coffee for 20euros, taking into account that we ended up sick 3times between us during the 1 week.
The description of the hotel said that there were elevators to the beach, please note that if you are visiting this area, they are not sandy beaches and you will need to bring a spare pair of shoes to wear into the water.
The hotel advertised that they did hotel tranfers, THEY DONT. IT COSTS 50 EUROS EACH WAY TO THE AIRPORT IN PULA. PLEASE ADD THIS COST INTO YOUR CONSIDERATION.
Other than the above, the hotel is perfect for families with a kids club and plenty of children around. There are lovely ice cream bars (which you will end up living off of considering the quality of food) The pool is also lovely. However the town is just plain boring with nothing to do unless you have a car to get out of there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank missmoon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

We had an apartment for 6 with two bedrooms and a pretty large living room. The air-condition worked fine and the view was terrific. The town (Vrsar) was really nice and it had a lot of restaurants with good food to a low price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Waldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Belvedere is beautiful as a resort, but we were so let down by the problems we ran into during our much needed and awaited holiday.
Problem 1: At first the escalator to our building did not work and was not fixed during our weeklong stay. With a 2 year old and a stroller it was hard to manage the steep hill leading to our building and then all the stairs up 3 floors. But OK, we didn't complain about that.
Problem 2 was when water started pouring from the ceiling in the kids' bedroom. The maintenance guy said something about "toilet water" so we decided to ask to move to another apartement.
Problem 3: After 2 days in the new apartement, we had a major flood of more toilet water in the bathroom. Water and brown stuff filled the entire room and did not smell very nice. The maintenance guy was called again, but we decided that was enough for us, and headed for the reception.
We were met by the manager on duty who did not speek English very well and only responded that they had no vacant apartements. We told him we wanted to leave and cancel our three remaining days, and demanded a deduction of the price as a compensation. He did not want to give us this, only smiled sarcasticly at us and said we could talk to the boss the morning after. The next day was my birthday and we did not want any more problems or surprises, and after a long discussion we were given 10 percent off. At that time we gave up arguing and accepted - and left.

The Belvedere is a quite new resort, nice and a good pool area. We had some problems with the AC which never went below 24 degrees, but other than that (and everything else...) it was ok. Our guess is that the plumbing system is not built to accommodate the number of people when the resort is full. Our building concisted only of large apartements and the toll on the plumbing (showers, dishwashing, toilet etc) was quite heavy. It is also a downside that there were no elevators for strollers and wheelchairs - and that the escalators worked on and off.

The biggest downside was however the treatment we were given from the staff. I can not seriously believe that their policy is to make the guests feel unwelcome and that they did nothing to make up for the difficulties we ran into. After all it is quite expensive and we should have been given a better service, not having to argue like we did.
We moved on to Hotel Diamant in Porec (4 star) and was given so much better service for less money. We will never return to Belvedere.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kiddo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed at the Belvedere in June 2007 and had a lovely time. Take care, you need to be fully mobile as there are plenty of steps (as well as escalators). Room was first class, very comfortable and very clean. Beautiful resort (lovely pool) and Vrsar again lovely and clean. A Fish Festival was held while we were there and we were dancing in the streets. Would recommend a hire car (arranged by reception) as buses not recommended and taxis can prove expensive. Visited Rovinj and Novigrad and Umag and took a boat trip to Lim Fjord.
Food at dinner was a little limited but we did not go hungry. Walking in an evening consisted mainly of climbing to the top of the town, well worth it as you will enjoy some amazing views and plenty of little bars to stop for a drink
Staff were very friendly but have limited english and do not visit if you do not like mixing with foreigners. We only heard two other english voices in our first week. Would recommend this as well worth a visit but with hindsight probably more for a week than a fortnight

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudgeLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Don't be put off by the unusual name - it is a very nice, very clean, modern resort-style facility with a little rock beach, kiddies pool, nice sunbathing area and modern touches such as bi-directional escalator and flat-screen tvs. Our double room had a nice balcony with a view of the adriatic. The tasty breakfast is buffet style with plenty to choose from, served in a pleasant dining room or an outdoor seating area and we enjoyed it. The facility is less than 10-minutes walk up a small hill from the bus station, and seems to have ample parking. Would have liked a bathtub, and got a little tired going up the stairs between our room and the rest of the faciliy, but other than that, really liked the Belvedere and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bettyrubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Resort Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank annikas436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Resort Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vrsar
1.7 mi away
All-inclusive Resort Funtana
24.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pineta
Hotel Pineta
#3 of 7 in Vrsar
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
299 reviews
6.1 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,038 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Belvedere

Address: Petalon 1, Vrsar 52450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Vrsar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vrsar
Price Range: $54 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hillside overlooking the Marina and 18 green islands in the background, Belvedere apartments are minutes away from Vrsar`s Old Town, with a natural beach right below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Belvedere Hotel Vrsar
Belvedere Hotel Vrsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing