We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just enjoyed a family holiday in the sun at this hotel. The facilities and the food were excellent. Very clean, modern no negatives............
Staff are helpful and efficient. The swimming pools are delightful. outdoor particularly but indoor one for the only day we had rain. There is something for everyone. childrens clubs and entertainment if you want it

Room Tip: we had a family room with 2 adjoining bedrooms and a sea view. both rooms had a balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Gail R,

We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had fun. I am glad that you recognized our facilities as well as the service. Thank you so much for your comments. Hope to welcome you again!

Regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    249
    108
    30
    30
See reviews for
393
145
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is perfect for families with children. The pools are great, evening animation is on a very high level of quality (especially The lion king) and all members of animation team seem to be very enthusiastic. We spent with our child some time in the mini club 4, where Erika and Nataša were doing great job (greetings from Leon). Well done! The club 4 is very well equipped and kids just love it.
The hotel is very well maintained, rooms are clean, service in the restaurant is good, the quality of food is also great.
The only negative thing we experienced was huge crowd at check with cca 80 people waiting in the line because the check in started at 14 pm sharply. I strongly believe that the management will find a more efficient way to resolve such situations in the future. At least, a complimentary drink to exhausted travellers would be a nice gesture.
All in all, we loved this hotel and plan to be back soon...

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello Issa1,

Thank you for spending your time to share your experince with others. It is always a pleasure to read comments such as yours. In order to keep our guests satisfaction we are striving to improve our service from day to day. In order to maintain our service on high level we are already taking needed measures to reduce the time for check-in as short as possible.
Nataša and Erika are proud of these commendations, they are sending their regards, especially to Leon.
Can't wait to have you again in our hotel as our guests!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

just spent one week here with family. Really nice place - quiet location with few cars passing by to other locations (seaside), excellent staff (it is something to say as this is not always standard in Croatia), pools nice - especially indoor for swimmers. High quality of food (amazing they could keep it despite so many people in the restaurant. And special highlight was Activity team: fantastic pilates with Maja, children clubs, and the cream was Lion king show including hotel guests starring. Would recomend to any family with children, especially those oriented to mix active holidays with poolside/beach laziness (runners, inline skaters, bikers). And of course tennis - Umag tennis academy 3 minutes walk is EXCELLENT (thank you Bruno, Ozzy and Josip for help with my hopeless strokes). Cons? More olives in breakfest buffet next year please! C´mon, we are in Istria!

Room Tip: seaside has nice view and is shadowy until afternoon. Quiet as well as there is no much traffic on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7zeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear 7zeroo,

thank you for your nice comments. I am happy you have enyojed your stay in our hotel and all the additional services. I am glad you participated in our sosport activities, I will pass your regards to Maja and I am sure she is going to love it!
Hope you will have a nice time with us next year too!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Brilliant service at hotel Sol Garden Istra on Friday 19th April - half an hour before check out time I found a cleaning lady in my hotel room toilet doing the toilet business.... THEN washing her hands and wiping them off MY towel. Seriously?!.... 4 stars? Any stars?
Of course the hotel manager offered me a discount(!?) verbally WHEN I come back... I don't see that happening, it's not a good thing to let the guest leave the hotel angry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marijana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. MorskoPrase,

Thank you very much for choosing Sol Garden Istra for your stay and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

As we have already done in person, we would like to use this opportunity and give you our sincere apologies for the situation you experienced, when returning to the room, after having taken out your luggage and checked out at the reception.
Like we confirmed to you, we have spoken with the person in question and taken all the necessary measures to ensure that these or similar situations do not happen again.
Each of our guest’s comment serves as a motivation in the improvement of our services, as we are constantly trying to surpass the expectations of our guests. Therefore, we are trying to devote to each and every of our guest’s situations, especially during their stay.
I believe you have experienced this when the Hotel Manager approached to you with a solution for the situation in question and offered her full disposal during your next stay in our facility.
We would also like to use this opportunity to remind you that you are free to contact us by phone/e-mail of the hotel or the Manager's phone number/e-mail that she personally handed to you.
We do hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and to rebuild your confidence in our service.

Kindest regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great family hotel that has thought of everything for a relaxing or fun time. There is entertainment for most of the day for children of all ages and includes snacks etc. For the adults there are activities during the day: Maja the fitness instructor was fantastic for yoga and pilates - great fun and patient with the beginners! We were a family group of 14 in total that ranged from grandparents to toddlers - all of us a had a fun time. I would recommend a trip to the pretty village of Grosnijan which is only 20km away. All the staff were lovely and entertaining.

Room Tip: Their are 3 'village' blocks which are nice but separate from the main hotel building. The h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Katy C,

Thank you for your time spent on writing this nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with hotel services and local area. Thank for pointing out Maja, I will forward your comments to her as well to all our employees. We strive to provide comfortable stay to our guests so they can leave with best memories and to come back again as, hopefully, you will too.

Best regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Though just 4 stars, its a best price performance stay in Umag. Nice and clean hotel, perfect staff, perfect breakfasts. It's perfect for a family, we visited as a couple. Rooms are nice, solid beds :) , beach is nearby, seaview is nice. Here you can have enjoy a relaxed atmosphere everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor-ELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Gregor-ELO,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your visit and the time taken for writing this review. Our main goal is to provide nice memories to our guests and we hope we will have pleasure to welcome again!

Best regards from sunny Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A nice choice for families, great for children. We really enjoyed the swimming pool, playgrounds and shows. We loved the great service of all the animation staff, specially Natasha from Club 4. She was great with our two year old daughter who only speaks spanish. They couldn´t understand each other but she was so sweet and had such a great attitude that our daughter loved playing with her. We really appreciatte Natasha´s extra effort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Vdf,

My name is Franka and I work as the Guest Experience Manager in Sol Garden Istra. I would like to thank you for the kind comments about our services. Nataša is really glad you have recognized her effort and especially the love that she is showing doing her job and playing with our little guests.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards from Umag!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#7 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#9 of 14 in Umag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Property: Sol Garden Istra
Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#2 Spa Hotel in Umag
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#4 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing