We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had amazing time in this hotel! Hotel is very clean and the Stuff is profesional and very kind... We were especially very satisfied with restaurant and Stuff there, as same as with a food... Wellness is very nice and they are doing greatmassages! The hotel is for ali kind of people; business, couples and especially for familiy! Durig a summer they have excellente facilities for kids!! We would definitely come back

Room Tip: Presidental suite od amazing!:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaZg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AlanaZg,

I would like to thank you for writing your comments.
We are glad you were satisfied on so many levels and that's the biggest compliment for the whole hotel team.
Since we have a lot of guests who are visiting us for different reasons, we are giving our best to offer them something new every year.
I will certanly pass your compliments to the kitchen, restaurant and wellness staff.

Untill your next visit,

Greetings from the whole team of Sol Garden Istra!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    249
    108
    30
    30
See reviews for
393
145
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was in hotel Istra in Sol Garden Village last time some 15 years ago and now I was realy impressed how the hotel was renovated. Rooms are simply great and hotel food is very good, lot of fish and seafood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drazen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Drazen_13,

It is always a pleasure for us to read review like yours. Thank you for sharing your opinion with others!
We are proud that we have fullfilled your expectations and that you are satisfied with the hotel's renovation. We always have new projects and that's why you should give us another visit.
We believe we will make your stay comfortable again!

Regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I can describe this hotel in only three words
- great for vacation
- kindly staff
- clean and quiet
Just three words , in this words is everything about Village Sol Garden , great place Katoro and great hotel istraturist.I was been in CROATIA many times but never in Katoro , everything is great big regards for personal in hotel.

Room Tip: rooms west from main entrance in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talic b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear talic b,

I am glad you enjoyed your vacation in Umag, especially in Sol Garden Istra. Thank you for taking time to write this review and sharing your experience with others. Our hotel complex is quite big and we are trying to improve and maintain our service at high level and to satisfy our guests desires.

We hope we will have the chance to have you again as our guest!

Best regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

All rooms have a balcony and nice view. Rooms are clean and bathroom is spacious and clean, too. In my room furniture was new and there was a new Philips 32" LCD TV.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, with no exception. Only the dining room may be beter. It's a little aged.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Neven N,

Thank you for writing this nice review. It is always a pleasure for us to read comments like yours. We are very satisfied that we fullfiled your expectations and made your stay in our hotel pleasant. As you could see, there are investments in progress that are being made every year, in order to upgrade our service.
I will forward your comments to my colleagues.
We hope you will visit us again and we will do our best to make your stay even better!

Best regards from sunny Umag!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sol Garden Istra for two nights. Rooms are spacious, clean, they have a balcony. We had a nice view to the garden and partially the sea. Some of the furniture is a little 'tired' and there are some stains, but overall the rooms are good. The bathroom is also big enough and clean.

There is an indoor pool, which is great in this time of year, but the pool area wasn't clean, and we were there about half an hour after opening in the morning.

The food was good, at least ten main courses for dinner, and also plenty of choice for breakfast.

There is no free wifi, you have to pay to use it (24 hrs wifi access costs almost 20 euro, which is ridiculous). Our room was at the ground floor and there was some noise from the evening entertainment. Also the pillows were (at least for my taste) terrible.

All in all it's a good hotel, maybe not entirely 4 stars, but still ok.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid loud music from the lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nara77,

We are glad that you were satisfied with your staying in our hotel, especially with the room and the food.
Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the pool area, I have already forwarded them to the housekeeping department.
Regarding your comment about the internet, we are modifying the prices for this season so I hope you will be satisfied next time you visit us.

Best regards from Sol Garden Istra,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself, I would not give the hotel 4 stars, but rather only three. The room we had was spacious, clean, but a bit aged. The staff, especially at the reception was very friendly, nothing to criticize. Also the waiters have been friendly and helpful. However the dining room reminded me on a factory canteen, extremely big and yet still too many people, so that we had to queue in the evenings (and that out of season!). Not to mention that the dining room hall was very noisy with so many people. The food was presented in a good and widerrange variety ....that was perfect, although the quality was sometimes not 4-star-like. The bar in the reception hall was very much short staffed, so that you had to wait a long time to get your drinks .... and I mean almost half an hour!
The hotel was occupied mostly by young athletes, as was the case most of the time we learnt, regardless if in or out of season. We were unlucky, that a gang of those youngsters made it a sport to run after each other in the corridors of the hotel next to our and other guests' rooms and this happened not during the day, but late in the evenings, near to midnight. We told them to stop, but this did not help much. From the reception, nobody was following up our complaint.
All in all, the hotel was definitely, as mentioned before, not of 4-star-quality, but for families with small children, who like to run around in and outside the Hotel Sol Garden Istra, this hotel would certainly be pleasant. Less so, however, for couples who look for a quiet stay or in general elderly people. Would we come again? May be with our grandchildren, but not on our own!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Christian S,

We appreciate the time you have spent in writting an impression about our hotel and we are pleased that we have been this year's destination for your vacation.
Sol Garden Istra is a large hotel so it is necessary that the size of the restaurant is also in accordance with it. Because of the big number of guests, our restaurant is divided into several halls; Mediterranean and Banquet hall that are bigger and Istrian tavern, which is slightly smaller and has a more intimate atmosphere for guests that want privacy.
You've stayed at the hotel during the period of sports preparation in progress and that is why we hosted several sports groups.
I wish you had contacted me during your stay because I believe we could have easily solved your problem in coordination with other departments.
I hope you will visit us again, at least with your grandchildren.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good hotel and very friendly staff. We have been several times and are always satisfied. Especially children uživaju swimming because the hotel has an indoor pool. Most prihajom for the winter holidays, and there is always something new. Even when the opportunity will come in the summer as they build slides. We were in March this year (2013) and were surprised because despite the winter vremnu built around the hotel. Food in the hotel is good and they also have a good lobby bar where you can at all times afford a drink and the dessert. They also have amusement machines on which the children enjoy. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: To inform or in pairs or family. They have several types of rooms all depends on the payment option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MNBS,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you are our regular guest and that you always leave Sol Garden Istra satisfied.
As you noticed, we strive to give you a new experience every year. Last year it was a big aquapark area with kids and sport clubs and this year we are building a large sundeck for guests who prefer to enjoy the pool sunbathing.
Thank you for your compliments about the food, I will pass them to our Chef.

We hope to see you this year during the summer period.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#9 of 14 in Umag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Property: Sol Garden Istra
Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#2 Spa Hotel in Umag
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#4 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing