We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all what it looks like”
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Oedelem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not all what it looks like”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

They are trying to be a high star hotel, but they are hardly there yet.
The staff never heard of smiling and seemed unfriendly (except the cleaning crew, they were great), the rooms (main building) were horribly soundproofed; you could hear people 2 rooms away and the food was bad and boring. It was only when dignitaries from the nearby tennis tournament came over for a party that the fresh en 'better' food was served, which is a shame.

Conclusion: If you want a pool and some sport infrastructure but don't value food or a personal touch, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    256
    114
    32
    35
See reviews for
409
147
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingelmunster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The swimmingpool, the entertainment, the clubs, the new waterslides were perfect!!!!( 4 starts!)
But our room was hardly worth 2 stars: the firtst day there was a bad smell in the room... lots of mold spots in the corners of the bathroom, water allover the place when we took a shower. (Although the cleaning lady dit her best!) We were in a room adapted for wheelchairs, probably because the other rooms were all occupied.( Our friends had a normal room and that looked better)
The restaurant feels like a schoolrefectory, noisy , big, crowded,...

Room Tip: i think the rooms in the mainbuilding are a much better choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent two nights in this Hotel and I think we got the worst room in the Hotel. It was in the basement, with a view on parking. If you go on the balcony, you are practically sitting on the parking.I forget to mention that our room was not in the main Hotel's buliding but in a one of others in the village.
When I went on the Hotel web page and saw photos of the rooms, I thought that it was some mistake, then I found photo of mine one -please see the photo of Family park side room.

All in all, it is not glamorous hotel as it looks on its web site. I would say that is rather old-fashioned but not in a cosy way but time-warn with some new equipment -that's my overall impression. I can't complain on the cleanness, it was quite clean but our room was smelling as if it wasn't open for some time. We had two air conditioners in our room (actually room was consisted of two spaces-sleeping one and another one connected, with a tv) which were pretty noisy when turned on (clap, clap, clap,... whole night but when you are dead tired it is ok:))

We were eating in Hotel's restaurant and food was ok. Since we came as a kind of VIP guests during Umag ATM tournament, I can't be objective if they are always serving such a food but it was a great choice of dishes for dinner and it was tasty. I can't complain neither be delighted with a Hotel's stuff. They were behaving correctly. All in all, I would never came again, at least in that type of room. Umag is not a place where I would like to spend my summer vacation but it is worth coming during ATP because there is a lot of fun in the city ( 20min by walk from Hotel-please don't try it in heels). We didn't have a time to go on beach so can't comment.

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest Family room, park side in basement-that is terrible. Regarding other rooms, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZezaZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello ZezaZagreb,
My name is Sabina B., I am Quality Manager at Hotel Sol Garden Istra. I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for holidays. I'm sorry that your room is not what you expected, but at the same time we are pleased that you were satisfied with the cleanness of the room and with the food. As you mentioned ATP tournament is one of the biggest events in Umag, but there are plenty of other events and activities during the summer period in Umag. Thank you for your comments that help us improve our services. We hope that you will be once more our guest and please be free to contact me for any information that you may need. Best regards,
Sabina B. – Quality Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is of newer ones in Sol Croatia group. Rooms are good, although I don't get laminate floor. No seaview, as hotel is about 300 m from the sea. Wellness is operated by subcontractor, and am not impressed neither by service nor price. You can get 1 hour massage in Zagreb for 150 kn, while in Sol Istria is 330 kn and is not really a massage. Although I have pointed out I wanted stronger pressure, all I got was petting on my back. Staff in dining room is excellent, although I have noted that one child threw up on the floor one day and it took them about 15 min to clean, although people were trying to eat around there. And the food, really really bed. Pools very nice but also not cleaned very well (brownish line on the waterline - can be scratched with fingernail).
But I have to say, taking into account average service in Croatian hotels, this is a pretty good one.

What I have to say, it is definitely outstanding hotel in terms of taking care ofchildren. I have a three year old and they took care of him, he loved it.

Gameroom outrageously expensive and therefor empty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igazic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First time in Sol Garden Istra but for sure not our last time. Lots of activities for little ones and if you want to drink a coffee in peace you can leave them to play with girls that are going to take care of them. The only thing I didnt like is hotel beach. It is awful but pools are perfect and 5 minutes by car in Savudrija you can find nice sandy beach for kids. If you are without kids I would not recommend this hotel. Especially in dining area where it is crazy. I noticed that they have not enough baby chairs and they don´t allow pushchairs inside dining area. That was a problem with smaller kids. They can´t sit on normal chairs and eat. Breakfast and dinner were perfect. Rooms big and spacious. Very friendly stuff. Prices of drinks are low for 4* hotel. For example - coffee 1 Euro, cocktails - 4-5 Euros. We will be back soon. Warm recommendations for this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello Bubolina,
My name is Sabina B., I am Quality Manager at Hotel Sol Garden Istra. Thank you so much for your recommendations and for all your comments. We are glad that you spend a nice vacation in our hotel. Regarding the children’s chair we will make sure that we increase the number for the next time you come to visit us. We thank you again for your comments that help us improve our services. Kind regards to you and to your family.
Sabina B. – Quality manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sveti Ivan Zelina, Zagrebacka, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

me and my friends were in sol garden istra for the first time,and we were trheeleeed with clean and comfortable rooms,clean pool and perfect food, staff are organisedl and there for you what ever you need. clean beach, healthy sea ..... perfect to come and relax :)

Room Tip: all rooms are quite,clean and comfortable but the best view are from the rooms 138, 139, 140
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We were there last year. Everything was ok, nothing to complain about. They have nice fitness, inside & outside swimming pools, great massages...it was a nice weekend and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viddezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#10 of 14 in Umag
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#1 of 14 in Umag
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#8 of 14 in Umag
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Property: Sol Garden Istra
Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#3 Spa Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#4 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing