We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Stella Apartments
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and.......”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Sol Stella, Sol Amfora & Istrian Villas, are part of a large Stella Maris Resort. It's in a beautyfull location on the beach. We were in the brand new building at the end of the resort. Everything was great, spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, nice bathroom and comfy bedroom.
Air conditioning throughout. Flat screen TV with international channels.
From the balcony, a partial view of the bay obstructed by the trees, which
give us nice shade when needed. We had breakfast and dinner on the balcony every day. Ample parking in front of the building, a plus. The resort has six restaurants, grocery store, ATM even doctor's office. The ATP tennis center is often hosting international competitions on site.
You can drive to center of Umag or take a mini train from the resort for shopping and sightseeing. Overall, a great value and very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Choose, Sol Stella Bldg.VI the last one at the end of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    94
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
148
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The apartments are big and new, although the furniture may be damaged here and there and the water tap may not function properly. But everything basic you need you'll get inside - dishes, refrigerator, towels, TV. There is no internet, nor wi-fi. The whole area is quite far away from the city (more than 30 minutes of walking distance) and although you can come with a car because they have a huge parking lot, this can make some problems. The forest where the whole compound is in, is nice, but nothing overwhelming. And you can still get a lot of noise from the near by road. Or from your neighbors, as the walls are not efficiently sound isolated. The beaches are made of concrete and sharp send here and there. The cafes and restaurants within the compound are basic and probably you'll find much better in the city (30 minutes walk, remember). The staff is not pleasant nor helpful in many situations. But, you can always pay ridiculously more and get an apartment in the other parts of Stella Hotel Compound just next to Sol Stella. They look very fancy...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkoPopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Apartments are small but nice: new, clean, functional. Cleaning staff very efficient, make service every day. Village big, modern, generally well kept; toilets not cleaned enough. No Internet connection apart in reception, where it costs +3€/20' and very slow: unacceptable for the price that is paid for the stay; campings, hotels and even city Center have Internet for free in Croatia. A bit too expensive overall.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Stella Apartments, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Lukes70, first of all, thank you for your review. My name is Sandra Bernatović and I am the Quality manager at the Stella Maris Resorts. We are very glad that you liked our apartments, which have been renovated this year. Our goal is always to provide our guests with a better products and service, that is why we are going to do everything to raise the level of cleanliness of our outdoor facilities. We are trying to improve the speed of the internet and also we are going to do our best to make it available in other parts of the resort, too. All your comments have been taken into consideration and we are going to pass those information to the management of our company. Thank you for choosing our apartments, it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Best regards.
Sandra Bernatović
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redruth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Vety much as pictured in brochure. Ideal for families with small children as there is a staffed crech with its own building and pool within the grounds, Staff very helpful, bed made every day and swept occasionally. Not atall noisy at night only some musicians play or run karioki on the terrace but this always finishes 11.30 or just before. Took our 13 year old daughter but not many of her age to mix with. Quiet location with a few new build hotels going up so not sure what it will be like in a few years time. We hired a car but had to be bussed the the car hire depot along with everyone else. If we go again will probably do as others and just hire taki's to get around and just hre one from hotel for a few days. May well go back as even thaough a bit on the quiet side the alternatives in August are too overcrowded. Resteraunt good value though we ate in nearby village or cooked in, most nights. The busy potugese one nearst the road very good for fish and the pizza cafe also good. Disappointed with the Chinese recommended by the rep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in the Meliá Istrian Villas - nice, clean & great for croatia, in fact better than most. Rooms cleaned and serviced with everything needed for a family and good can do staff attitude. A rock beach100 metres away and some pebble beach and somthing like sand 300 metres away. But that is normal on the adriatic.

4 days and we had a great time but they must do somthing about the disco noise late into the night. We were luck as we had a central villa and most noise was blocked out by the other villas but if you go for the edge resort near the sea bring your ear plugs or join the disco - One on each side of the bays playing very loud long in to the small hours.

If you can cope with this then it is a fine resort and the central located villas are much quieter, we put the air con on, shut the windows and it was bearable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Hotel
I stayed at a bungalow and I was pleased with the conditions, very clean, the room is pretty large...overall it is ok.


Daylife and Nightlife
I had a great time at Sol Stella Maris and I would definetly recommend it for young people, teenagers who want to have fun. The best time to stay there is the last days of July and the beggining of August when the Croatian Open unfolds. People all around the world came and the atmosphere is great, especially the nightlife :concerts, discos, Djs. During the day there are a lot of things to do such as playing volleyball, paintball, tennis.
There are bars and restaurants, which offer good food. The staff is not always friendly, but I didn't mind them.

Beach
There are different kind of beaches: sandy, peabby and cemented. Water is great. There are some swimming pools near the bungalows with sea water, which I prefered..

There are bars and restaurants, which offer good food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziziiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We staid in appartment for 3 nights together with our 2 friends as a 2 couples. In the booking was said that's appartment for 2 couples with kitchen, balcony, grill, etc..... Well there were 5 beds in the appartment but only one regular bedroom and then the living rooom with a sofa for 2 persons. Thie living room is also partly a kitchen. Third room was also bedroom but only with one bed. When we complained on the reception they said that we must be happy that we got a better and bigger one. Normally for 4 persons is much smaller.
Kitchen and living room were OK and also the furniture and equipment. The one regular bedroom was very used with ugly pink furniture. Special chapter was a bathroom which stinks and water didn't come out from bath for a long time when you take a shower.
Seaside is divided in 2 parts. First is a small inlet with a small stones as a surface. Water quality was not really good. Second part is a regular see but you need a water shoes because of many stones. There the quality was better.
In the appartment complex were many restaurants, shops and bars but prices were also very high.
I'll not choose this appartment again for my vocations.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#10 of 14 in Umag
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.1 mi away
Sol Amfora Apartments
0.4 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Stella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Stella Apartments

Property: Sol Stella Apartments
Address: Stella Maris - Stella Maris 8A, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#6 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Stella Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Stella Umag is the ultimate destination for entertainment in Istria. The apartments are located in the Stella Maris resort, the home of the ATP Studena Croatia Open Umag, a men's professional tennis event held each summer. With numerous activities for both adults and children just steps away, the Sol Stella apartments are ideal for a family vacation. Sol Stella is surrounded by the green vegetation of the Mediterranean, just meters from the Adriatic Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Stella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Stella Apartments Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing