We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sipar hotel umag”
Review of Sol Umag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Umag
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
zagreb
1 review
“sipar hotel umag”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I'd like to share my compliments to your staff especially the people who work at reception and restaurant. This is our third vacation at this hotel and we appreciate the program you have for the children (mini club), the food is o.k., but one or two things now are maybe just ready for change. Bathrooms are clean but old, and our impressions are similar like with other guests about this ( gests of the hotel that we exchange impressions with) . Another thing is considering lounge bar at the beach near the pool. It's great but it's not well organized. you need more tables there and my suggestion is that you might consider to add more tables there, and definitely more staff, one man cannot serve all the guests at the same time. airconditions in rooms need service also.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side are cooler at the afternoons and at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mersija p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear mersija,

thank you for your comments and suggestions.
As I can see, you have stayed in hotel Sipar and used the service of Mini Club in hotel Sol Umag.
I am glad that you liked our children activities.
Thank you for your comments about the room and beach bar, we will take them into consideration and they will surely help us in our further business.
We are looking forward to host you again.

Best wishes to you and your family,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    198
    88
    24
    13
See reviews for
162
238
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kozarisce, Bohinj, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very polite and nice stuff. Clean and nice rooms, but there is no free internet. On beach you should pay sun umbrella and deckchair. Its good care for childrens. They have workshops and other free activities. Beach is clean but access into water is it no so good specialy for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Dusan B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, I am glad you liked our children activities. Your comments about the Internet and beach access are very welcome and we will certainly take them in consideration.

Hope that you will be our guest again!
Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benesov, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

the hotel offers pleasant environment Both for business and for free time. After whole day in meeting rooms we can enjoy the evening program in the outside restaurant...each evening different musicians or entertainment..
The rooms were clean, air conditioned. The meal were really tasty.
The beach is formed by big stones and rocks as it is usual on the Istrian peninsula.
The internet is not for free, you have to pay it extra.


To summarize this.. the hotel is perfect for families, friends and for business as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Petra V2,

My name is Melina and I am the Guest Experience Manager in the hotel Sol Umag.
Thank you for writing this review, and for describing all the possibilities that our hotel offers.
It is nice to hear that, despite your visit was of business kind, you found some time to enjoy in different services that our hotel offers.
It would be a pleasure to host you again, in a business occasion, or maybe this just for a nice relaxing holiday!

Until the next time,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

a weekend of relax, sun bathing and good food ...nice hotel, very nice the evenings at the bar with live music. the employees were very helpful and always with a smile on their faces . great location. everything was just great .

Room Tip: the rooms with seaside and balcony are the best !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flestea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Flestea M,

Thank you for your positive review.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and I hope to see you in Sol Umag again!
As always, we will be waiting to greet you with a smile!

Regards from Umag,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are coming often to Umag because is grate small town for big relaxation :) We enjoyed our stay at hotel Sol! Rooms are grate, staff is very polite and helpful and wellness is awesome! :)
We are coming back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Bogdana T,

Thank you for your compliments and for sharing your comments with other travellers.
It is very nice to hear that you always like to come back to Umag.
We are looking forward to host you again!

With best wishes,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was staying in the property as a supervisor for a travel agency bringing about 1500 clients during 3 weeks period in April. I must say it was a very pleasant cooperation, as all the employees werer more than helpful, the food was great and the location is perfect for day trips across Istria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatejTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear MatejTheTraveler,

Thank you for your review!
It was a real pleasure to host you as our guest and I am glad that, although you were working during your stay, you found the time to enjoy in the beauties of Umag and Istria.

The whole staff of Sol Umag is looking forward to host you and your groups again.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Umag is probably the capital of tennis in this part of Europe, not only because of the ATP staduim, but even more importantly because of seemingly endless number of tennis courts.

Hotel Sol Umag is located just after the town of Umag in the direction of the other hotels, and is among two which are the closest to the center and marine, some 10 and 5 minutes’ walk, respectively. On the other side, you can walk up to Basanija and Savudrija, if you want to, and it's pretty cool.

The hotel is right on the seaside, nicely pulled away from any disturbing street or origin of noise. You will appreciate that, I am sure.

We took the suite facing the sea and the sight is worth the money. What we regretted, was - and I put it up to poor management judgment - construction works on a simple metal object on hotel beach. They were mercilessly starting with hammers and machinery at 6:00 A.M. even on Sunday morning. After a week, the work was almost finished (and we as well). Noise-wise, if you pick the seaside, you'll also pick the view of the garden bar. Always somebody loud there until 1 A.M.

To the hotel: it's a 4-star facility. Full stop. Yes, it could have been a bit refreshed. Yes, there are hotels that are more chic. But, everything is in place and working properly. Rooms are spacious, beds decent, pillows acceptable (some choice would be appreciated). The inside bar is ok, and the terrace is great. Good food there at reasonable prices.

Restaurant for breakfast and dinner is a bit of a hurdle: extremely packed, very noisy and improperly lit. Not exactly a place where you'd enjoy your food. And it's a pity, as the food is quite good, a bit monotonous, but still good.

When entering the hotel I got nervous about what to expect when I was greeted on the reception with: "ID." Call me old-fashioned, but the reception is the first encounter of your guest with the hotel. "Hello" is nice. "Welcome" is better. "I see it's your first time in our hotel" doesn't hurt as well. "ID"? I don't think this is a good start. However, in the coming days I realized that they have a good spirit, just a bit of polish is maybe missing.

On the other hand, the staff is really good here. Starting with the boy helping with luggage (helpful, smiling, always greeting), restaurant staff (Jelena and others), bar (have a look at Marinko and his wonderful attitude and spirit!) and housekeeping. Never a problem to help the guest with a wish. Wellness staff is also exceptional, not hesitating to spend some time after working hours and clearly stating that it would be personally rewarding for them if we'd chose them. Amazing.

Internet: not free, about 3 EUR for half an hour, if I understood correctly. This is not ok.

Coffee advice: espresso is horrible. Walk around the corner to Spritz Bar for Illy.

Runner's advice: plenty of opportunities, either towards town or up to Savudrija. Mostly you'll run on hard surfaces, so be prepared.

Under the line: a good hotel where we'll definitely return to.

Room Tip: Pick sea view, but be prepared for noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear fst01,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers.

As you nicely pointed out, Umag is not only the ''capital of tennis'' because of the ATP tournament but also because in Umag we have more than 60 tennis courts and every year we are improving our offer.

Regarding your comments about the infrastructure, I would like to inform you that this year we started with the investment in Sol Umag as a ''bike friendly'' hotel. We are building a new storage for bicycles together with the bike centre that will offer the possibility of renting bikes and maintaining them.

I appreciate your comments regarding our Reception department because we are always working on the improvement of our services and I am glad you recognised the kindliness and the effort of our staff. I also wanted to inform you that we changed the internet prices a few days ago in order to make them more suitable for our guests.

Best regards to you and your family,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#10 of 14 in Umag
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#1 of 14 in Umag
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#8 of 14 in Umag
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.7 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Umag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Umag

Property: Sol Umag
Address: Jadranska BB, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Umag
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#2 Spa Hotel in Umag
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#2 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Umag 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW in 2013! This year, Sol Umag will welcome its guests with a new appearance and a richer offer. During the refurbishment of the interior, we were led by the principles of functionality and quality. Modern design, comfortable hotel rooms, 86 rooms in a separate facility (Residence), reception hall and hotel lobby are the reason to choose precisely this hotel. Other than the new interior, the hotel also boasts a completely renovated and attractive beach with various relaxation zones with canopies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Umag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Umag Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag
Sol Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing