We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartments Polynesia
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid it !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Beach is terrible, apartments are disaster, sea is full of sea gras, and it's very dirty! There are some activities for kids but when you compare with all negative all positive are not relevant. Access to the sea on the main beach is equal to the suicide. Person on the reception desk is not helpfull at all. And if you are lucky and you get app near the road you will have a feeling like you are on the highway. Choose not to choose this place for your holidays.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Daddy34, I am Tanja Štokovac, the Quality Manager of Polynesia.
I have analyzed your comments and discussed personally the exposed conditions with the responsible departments, housekeeping and maintenance. We are very sorry for the disagreeable conditions you have found in your apartment and at the beach, and we will do all that is in our ability to assure that such situations are not repeated in the future.
I'm also very sorry that the reception staff was not what you expected and I will personally make sure to improve it.
Our village is a bit older but all our staff gives the best of them to offer an excellent service. To every guest we try to give special attention.
One more time, thank you for your comments that help us to improve our service every day.
Best regards,
Tanja Štokovac
Quality Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    152
    142
    61
    91
See reviews for
334
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My three children had a really great entertainment in activities mini club in Polynesia. Ana Marija, Josipa, Tuna and Željko we would like to thank you for great and fantastic time in Polynesia children club. Unfortunately appartments are not so good (similar like Stefan comment), so rate is only excellent, not excellent + ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Matija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We liked the place wery much, the appartments are a little old, but the staff is very friendly and they dont mind helping out any way they can. we liked the food a lot, and our children (4 & 6 years old) had a great time in the Mini Club with the entertainer girls. We will visit Croatia agin for sure. And yes the prices in local supermarket are to high

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We didn't stay at this resort but we came here twice (to rent a boat and buy something in one of the shops). Both times we were very disappointed by the attitude of people working in this resort so I just have to react to that.
This resort is really huge and offers variety of sports (rental service). Together with my husband and 2,5 years old son we decided to rent a boat. Our son was looking forward to it very much but as it goes with children of his age at the moment he was supposed to get on the boat he panicked and by no means we could get him on the boat. The guy helping us with the boat said to go back to the desk to get our money back.
The guy working at the desk however decided to turn into the most arrogant person and said they only give money back if there is a problem on their side. We could choose some other rental instead (none of it really suitable for a child of our son's age). We tried to explain that, but this guy just wouldn't listen, happy to have earned his money.
Few days before that we had also a very negative experience at one of the shops at this resort.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-123-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Umag hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

- Hygiene: the apt was so dirty that we had to spend the first 2 hours of our stay cleaning it. The toilet seat carried remains of dried excrements. The shower basin has paint going off the cover. The paint sticks to your feet if you do not pay attention. The beds and sofas had dirt and a thick layer of dust under, around and mostly below them. The curtains have not been cleaned for ages.
- The TV set did not function properly and could not be used. The lamps have burned out or no bulbs at all.
Despite that we informed the reception about these shortcomings first day, till the end of our stay nothing has been done about it.
- In general: the coffee machine had a missing part, the knives did not cut and were useless. The water taps make such loud noise that you can hear them 4 apts away making them virtually unusable at night without waking up everyone around. When it was raining, we could not sleep properly because the water drainage pipes made such loud noise that you felt it is right next to your head. The beds are so used that after 3 days, our backs started to hurt.
We cancelled our breakfasts after we had the first one and cooked for ourselves. The food was tasteless and the coffee just brown water. However, there are plenty of restaurants nearby and a grocery store outside the resort, so it was not a a big problem.
Most of the apts are located in a pine wood between a the main road and the sea. The nearest apt to the sea is about 200 meters. I found strange the way the apts were architected. Most of them have a view at each other or the parking lots. Only few had the orientation to the sea although you could not see through the trees. The ones near the road are the less lucky ones.
The beach is not stunning but is fine for kids. You can walk 100 meters and the water would reach your waist. The entry to the sea is pebbles but further in only sand. Which was fine. There are several attractions for children.
Although we had the so-called "superior" type, the price does not match the 3 stars standards declared by far.
If the apts were priced at 50% of the requested amount, it would be adequate. For 135 EUR per night, we expected a totally different standard and level of service.
Although we raised an official complaint to the management, the only consolation we got was a symbolic 10% discount on the fees.
We are definitely not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Having booked this resort only 24 hours before getting there we were surprised at how big it was. It’s like a Croatian all inclusive kind of place. There’s everything from supermarkets, restaurants, a small “shopping street” to casino, children’s club and every possible kind of sports. I guess we ended up in one of the old apartments were the standard is not really that great. I found the staff very friendly all around the complex and I must say that I’ve stayed at much better hotels were I have had to wait much longer for somebody to come fix something in my room. We had a minor problem with our toilet, one call to the front desk and less than 5 min after there was a man in our apartment fixing it. The pool is good except from the hassle of people booking sunbeds. There is really no beach to talk about and the water was far from clear during our stay. We paid € 750 for a week and I feel that was a bit too much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel complex is great, very lively, a lot going on so it is great for active vacation. We were disappointed by the beaches. The water looked dirty, there is a lot of eelgrass on the surfice and sharp rocks on the bottom. You can not even see your feet while swimming. In south of croatia you can get the most perfect beaches and the prices are lover. Though we were very pleased by the service and the appartment we will probably go to Dalmatia on our next vacation.

BR, Eva

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eva_knez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
1.2 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.8 mi away
Sol Amfora Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Polynesia

Property: Apartments Polynesia
Address: Katoro - Catoro 31, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Polynesia 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polynesia is located in the Katoro tourist resort of Umag, just outside the city centre. Home to the largest swimming pool in Umag, the Polynesia property is the perfect destination for a sun-filled holiday. When finished with your swim in the pool, take in the scenic views of the Adriatic Sea or enjoy one of the countless other outdoor activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Polynesia Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag
Sol Polynesia Apartments Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing