We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Sol Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Aurora
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This hotel is in a beautiful location. The sea view rooms and the pool area look out through some trees out onto the sea, and it really is idyllic.
We were half board and the restaurant and food were fine both for breakfast and dinner. It was plentiful and they had a themed evening one or two nights. There is a poolside bar which sells sandwiches etc for lunch.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
There is a very cheap tourist train that takes you into Umag which is nice to look round, but very quiet and there isn't that much to see. There are some very nice restaurants overlooking the sea, the opposite side of the town to where the train drops you off.
There are lots of activities, both put on by the entertainments team, and for you to do on your own - giant chess, ping pong etc.
The pool was kept very clean but was often very busy. There was usually a problem with there not being enough sunbeds around the pool. This wasn't a major issue for us though, as the hotel is adjacent to the sea where there is a long concrete sunbathing areas with sunbeds for use. The sea is fine to swim in.

The only real negative about the hotel - I thought the hotel entertainment was terrible, Mr&Mrs competitions and similar all week. The worst part was that it was held outside and this meant that if you were in a room overlooking the pool you had no choice but to listen to it (as it could be clearly heard in your room) until it finished at around midnight.

We went to the hotel during the Croatia Tennis Open week in July. There are lots of outdoor discos and entertainment during this time, which are very loud and go on all night, and the noise really carries. This kept us awake every night that we were there during the tennis tournament. I assume this wouldn't be a problem except during that specific time period though!

Overall, the hotel was lovely, very clean, positioned beautifully, a brilliant location for exploring Istria. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccy12001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
First of all, we would like to thank you for your review of your stay in our hotel. We are glad you liked it and hope that you will come back again in order to make it even better for you next time. We are sorry for the inconveniences you have had with the agency and hope that this will not stop you to be our guest again. Best regards.
Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    145
    69
    25
    22
See reviews for
168
140
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

My partner and I have just returned from holiday in Croatia so I thought a quick review might be in order. We booked through Thomsons on-line and very efficient they were apart from the tickets not arriving (no fault of their's, apparently), we picked them up at the airport. The Sol Auroura itself was quite a good hotel perhaps marred by the amount of cigarette smoke in the reception/lounge bar area. As it was the end of the season most of the attractions were closing down which didn't trouble us a lot but most of the excusions were still available which we took advantage of. At one time we had no hot water, but this was resolved when the hotel had a gas delivery! I think that the only grumble that we had was the food, which was invarably on the chilly side and realy not enough variation. Mostly leftovers from dinner found their way onto the breakfast servery,brussel sprouts and cold peas would you believe! and chips. All in all not a bad stay by any means but I think improvements can be made. I think our judgement was perhaps marred by an excellent stay at the Istra Laguna at Porec two years ago, and we were expecting the same.

  • Liked — Reasonably quiet and relaxing atmsphere
  • Disliked — Very smoky reception/lounge bar area.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rightprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday at The Sol Aurora, Umag. Here is our experience of the hotel.

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly reception staff who supplied us with all the information we required. The hotel was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room, likewise, with an efficient maid service being provided daily.

The location of the hotel is in peaceful surroundings with plenty of sunbeds to choose from (around the pool or immediately infront of the hotel on the bathing areas). We loved feeding the squirrels every day in the trees closeby and the 'noddy train' to the town of Umag ran from the hotel on a regular basis. Buses to Porec could also be caught from the town of Umag.

Buffet style food was plentiful and if one didn't try to eat everything on view each night, it would be difficult to get bored with the variety of food on offer (as mentioned by a previous reviewer).

Most of the entertainment in the hotel was quite 'amateurish' but there was much enthusiasm put into it by the entertainment staff so it's hard to be unkind. A 2piece band were, however, very good.

We found most of the staff very friendly and helpful (particularly Roberto, one of the bar staff). We will admit, a couple of bar staff didn't smile often but our attempts to say good morning (dobro jutro), please (molim) and thankyou (hvala) did eventually raise smiles from them. As few staff spoke fluent english, they clearly appreciated our efforts, no matter how small, and this encouraged more communication and fun between us.

For anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings, this hotel is ideal. Our only suggestion to the hotel would be to provide a courtesy room for guests to freshen up in before their flight home. Paying a fee to extend the hire of your room is an option although we chose to freshen up in the toilets. Check out is 10am.

  • Liked — It's peaceful location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not having a courtesy room for guests on their last day of holiday
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLovers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I agree with the previous review dont believe all you read. all you need on holiday is a clean room and friendly staff, this place has it! yes the food is repetitive but if you dont stuff your face every night with everything that is out you will be able to have something different!

There were no large groups here in fact we commented how extremely quiet the hotel was after 11pm. there are not many english that is why there english is basic but surely this is a good thing, and maybe those of you moaning they couldnt speak it should try learning their language!!

It is worth mentioning that a room with a pool/sea view is certainly worth paying for. we upgraded on arrival and this way it cost more.

There is a guy who walks around the pool selling an excursion (Kristina Excursions) to rovinji - NOW THIS IS A MUST SEE PLACE. we are currently looking to holiday there next year. Again you are likely to be the only english on board but they tell you everything in your language and you get to see the beautiful coastline of croatia.

You do need to get the train as it is a walk into Umag after 1hr 20 min we had still not arrived but the train is only £1.25 but just be careful as it does get busy coming back and you are best to try and get on at the last stop.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable holiday, but maybe not the best of rooms but like the other review says - Why are you in them???

Relax, be happy and just enjoy!! A holiday is what you make it!!!

  • Liked — cleaniness and friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melchod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My girlfriend and I booked this stay over 5 months ago, and as our visit got closer we became concerned at the negative reviews, however dont believe a word of them. My girlfriend and I have high standards and this hotel is on the ' we are going back list'
Like any stay you will have your niggles, and some of the staff do struggle to be pleasant, but if your having a problem discuss it with them, talk to them and it will be resolved.
Remember this country has had a difficult time over the last few years and it affects the people that live there, so try and be warm towards them and you will find amazingly that you get a pay back, its called communication.
So here goes when we arrived we thought typical 70's style hotel from the outside(YES....the majority of the hotels here do look like that), so WHAT...?
Go Inside and the reception area is smart, spacious and the pictures dont do it justice....the outside areas are stylish and typical of four star in the UK and even five star.
The bar is smart, the barman is friendly and fun, if you talk to him and smile..TRY IT, it works....Jasmin who works mainly in the Outside Lunch area is great as is Grace, and the younger girl with the fantastic english...and she has never been to the UK, she is studying marketing if the manager checks this out..
The cleaning ladys are lovely, the rooms are immaculate....BUT..they are not five star, however they remind me of the Hilton Hotel in Swindon so as thats four star then you get the drift..they are not huge, but have a balcony...what are you doing in your rooms in this heat anyway?
The pool is fab.....all nationalities are there and accept them for what they are....we made some great friends and you know who you are and we will hopefully be hearing from you....GREAT TIMES.....we missed Judith and Bob as we left so would be good to here from you....
The entertainment is Excellent...my girlfriend has travelled throughout the world and rated it highly.....well done Marijana..
These earlier reports are unfair and not representative of the hotel....Umag is fine...there is an element of tacky shops..dont we have them here as well though? and this country is learning what we want..I am sure in years to come these will change..Visit Groznan, and do the taste of istria tour if your with Thomson...FANTASTIC PLACE....if your sad, dont enjoy life, dont speak to people, and dont like the sun...go to Blackpool and leave the real people to enjoy life at Sol Aurora..

  • Liked — In the end the food
  • Disliked — The ironing Bill
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPe0ple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Want a bargain over some of the other European beach places and not have to fly there -- that is if you live in Europe or are already otherwise traveling there? Then go to Croatia and if you don't want to drive too far -- with the intent of staying on the beach? Sol Aurora in Umag is the place then. The hotel is by far located on the best water and in the least crowded location in UMAG area. Yes, the hotel will not drown you with normal Euro 4 or 5 star treatment ... but on the bright side, it is very clean and very secure. There is no 'beach' per se, but rather a lake-like pavilion, about 200 meters long, built into the water -- which incidently is caribbean/greece clear ... only more salty. I guess the salinity is in an Adriatic thing. My family and I had fun just hanging out on the pavilion and swimming in the clear blue water. The food was CROATIAN! They did not cater to the visitors -- which, according to the license plates in the parking lot were 1 part English, 4 parts Slovenian, 4 parts Italian and 1 part everything else. All the tenants were well behaved and apart from some band music till about midnight, there was no problems with revelry. It is a very simple place and not spoiled. Visit the pool bar and meet some very nice people who work there and are proud of their countries heritage and speak highly of the area churches and archeological sites. Give Croatia a chance -- and if you are driving in Europe -- UMAG and Sol Aurora is the place. I'm happy I went there and after living in Spain, Germany and now moving to Austria -- I will go back.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

If you enjoy large unfriendly hotels then this is the place for you!

The hotel staff were unhelpful to the point of rudeness, with the exception of one bar man, I can honestly say I didn't get a smile, please or thank you out of anyone all week. The hotel reception was probably the most offensive. When we checked out, the guy who dealt with us was unbelievably unpleasant and couldn't even bring himself to smile when we said goodbye. Most hotels I have stayed in wish you a safe trip home or at least say they hope to see you again but this guy was just plain rude! The restaurant staff were no better with the exception of one chap who ,although not overly friendly, at least managed a thank you when you handed over cash.

The food was repetitive and poor quality. Frozen chips, and vegetables (crinkle cut carrots - seriously why would you do that to a vegetable?), and powdered mash potato. The breakfast was ok but dinner was pretty poor.

I have stayed in literally 100's of hotels and I would love to know how this hotel got a 4* status - in my opinion it is an average 3* at best.

The one positive thing about the hotel was comfortable beds and nice pillows.

The entertainment was not our cup of tea, in fact the hotel was nicknamed 'Butlins' by the other English people we met there.

We travelled with Thompson's and I have to say the description of Umag in the brochure bears absolutely no resemblence to the actual place. It is the dullest town I have ever been to with cheap tacky tourist shops and restaurants which display photos of their food outside......there is no atmosphere and no life at all. Half an hour spent there was 10 minutes to long to see everything.

Would I stay there again - not on your life !

  • Liked — Comfy beds, nice pillows.
  • Disliked — Miserable staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Creature99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#9 of 14 in Umag
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.3 mi away
Sol Garden Istra
Sol Garden Istra
#3 of 14 in Umag
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aurora

Property: Sol Aurora
Address: Katoro 18, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#5 Family Hotel in Umag
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Aurora is one of Croatia's first environmentally-friendly hotels. And because it is the only all-inclusive resort in Umag, Sol Aurora is a perfect destination for the traveler who wants to enjoy every aspect the hotel has to offer. Located directly on the beach, the outdoor swimming pool, which is shaded by an olive tree, a symbol of Istrian lifestyle, presents spectacular views of the Adriatic Sea. This Umag accommodation is the ideal spot for romantic getaways and fun-filled family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aurora Umag
Sol Aurora Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing