We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Noisy to sleep”
Review of Sol Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Aurora
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too Noisy to sleep”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel early August, with our 2 teenage sons..The food was ok but not much variety.. We had understood that there were sports in the hotel complex, such as Bowling, mini golf, etc. The Bowling and tennis courts were about a mile away. The Bowling alley was shut and derelict. The mini golf was non-existent.
We could not get a sunbed, as people were reserving them for most of the day, this was not being monitored..
The worst thing was the blaring music from the night club on the other side of the wood. It started at 1am and didn't end until about 5am. We had no sleep during the whole week.
There was nothing much to do for us or our sons, although we did get to play Boules a few times.
The staff we found to be welcoming and pleasant., especially the girl who ran the kids club, and most of the waitresses.

Room Tip: Getb a room that is not facing the woods as it is impossible to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneX8388RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear JaneX8388RB,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your impressions on TripAdvisor, because like this we can always learn from our guest's valuable comments.

I am really sorry to read that you and your family did not find something interesting to do in our Hotel. I have to say that during the whole summer season our entertainment team offers a really wide range of activities, for kids but also for teenagers and adults. Our guests can join us and enjoy in various shootings, archery, waterpolo, acquaerobic, pilates, zumba etc. This year we have also introduced special activities like ˝Cocktails˝ and Tasting of good Istrian schnapps. In the evening we have a really rich entertainment program that offers something for everyone.

The bowling which you have mentioned is situated near the Hotel Melia Coral, only 5 minutes walking from our Sol Aurora. There is also a new tennis academy with 26 tennis courts and different programs, for kids and adults. The nice Mini Golf is also situated nearby, in the Stella Maris Resort, 10 minutes walking from our Hotel. If you prefer, you can always rent for free our mountain bike bicycles and use them to explore the beauties of our city, like for example the old museum of Umag situated in the downtown or various exhibitious in Umag's galleries. Umag is also a prime location for hiking and water sport.

I wish you had contacted me during your stay because I believe we could have easily solved the situations regarding the sun beds. Regarding the music, it can happen that sometimes the volume from local Night Clubs is too high. Of course, I would like to assure you that we are doing our best to prevent such situations in the future, in order to provide our guests with a relaxing vacation!

We hope we will have the chance to have you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    142
    68
    22
    20
See reviews for
162
137
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family (2 small kids and man handicaped on a wheelchair) visited Sol Aurora hotel for 5th time already. Acutally we came twice this summer, because we really love this hotel and every stay is unforgettable, all the working stuff including all the managers is really very kind and always helpfull with smile on the face and the surrounding is amazing. We really do appreciate the great location on the beach with no barriers, two swimming pools and all inclusive service. Except swimming you can decide to ride a bicycle or go on roller skates or on train (the hotel is right on the cycling road) or just enjoy the trips to Umag. At last but not least I must mention that the Hotel is heaven for kids - the always smilling animation team is ready to fascinate your kids with any crazy thing which comes up on your mind. I also very liked and appreciated the activites for adults especially the exercises lessons like stretching and yoga. I really do recommend Sol Aurora Hotel as number 1 in Istra and we are already now looking forward to our holiday next year. Best reagards and thanks to all the hotel stuff and management. Zuzana Strakova

Room Tip: Premium room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Zuzana S,

First of all I would like to thank you for being our guests for the 5th time! It is makes us happy to read your amazing comment because we really love what we do and we are satisfied when we meet all our guests expectations. I am glad that you have spent a nice time here, together with your fantastic family!
Thank you for posting this recommendation on Tripadvisor and sharing your comments with others.
We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Umag!

Best regards from Sol Aurora,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolenjske Toplice, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is very well organized, with kind and helpful staff. The food was very good with lots of varieties, especialy breakfast.The room was very clean with a great balcony and a seaside view. The vacation was great!

Room Tip: The rooms above the swimming pool can be a little bit noisy during the day.. But you get a nice seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mojca S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing this beautiful review with us!

It is really nice that you have recognized all our efforts to make guests feel comfortable. The guest’s satisfaction is the biggest motivation for all our staff and we will keep doing better!

In hope you will visit us again,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family visited Sol Aurora for the second time this year and we will come again. I would like to emphasize the children liking orientation of the staff especially the whole animation team who even offered a swimming lessons to the youngest. Very pleasent food, children liked pizzas in the evening and parents liked grill evening once during our stay. Best beach in Umag considering the nature of the coast. Very spacious new (free) parking facilities, inclusive rent a bike, very carefully maintained park in front of hotel, save for the kids, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gregor_20132013,

Thank you for your great comment and the confidence you gave us by coming the second time in our Sol Aurora. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great to read your positive impressions.

We are looking forward to having an opportunity of greeting you again on your next visit to Umag!

Best regards to you and your family!

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesenice, Bohinj, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and my family spent a vacation in hotel Aurora in Croatia for the fourth times. Like former years, we spent excellent and unforgettable seven days. Hotel have a great location, right on the beach, two swimming pools and all inclusive service. All the staff are very kind, rooms are clean, they have great animation programs, especially for the kids, surroundings are very beautiful, ... You can rent a bicycles or discover the surroundings by train and on foot. Also the director and all managers are very kindness and affable.
So, do not hesitate, the Hotel Aurora is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: superior room on park side premium room on the see side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Druzina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Druzina D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Sol Aurora and that you were very satisfied. Thank you for your compliments! I have shared all your positive comments with our staff, as they are definitely the best possible motivation to keep up with good work and spirit.

Best regards to the whole family,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

For the first time, we spent a family vacation in Croatia and we had the best time! the hotel Sol Aurora was a perfect choice! The hotel is right on the beach, has a wonderfull swimming pool, all inclusive service which is very good because you do not have to buy water, snacks... for the kids, but the whole day your children can have a fresh food like fish, fruit,meat ... Very kind and polite people who work at bars and kitchen, cleanliness of rooms are at a high level. But our favorite service in this hotel is animation! One of the our main reason to come again next year are animators from the Mini Club: Nebojsa, Nikola, Dinka, Peter, Mexican boy ... sorry if I forgot someone! Older child we only see in short breaks to the next animation, even our young child ( 2 years) wanted to participate in the games, as they were very entertaining, innovative, creative! Best regards to all of them from Milos and Bubi from N.Sada. If you ever come in Novi Sad,please call us, and be our guest! Our phones are at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina15091978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mina15091978,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your great impressions with us! I am glad that you have spent a nice vacation in our hotel and that you entirely enjoyed during your stay in Umag. Also, thank you for your praises to our Guest Experience Department. Their focus is to make our guests holidays memorable, especially for the little ones. I have already shared your words with them!
Thank you for inviting us to be your guests, it would be a pleasure to see you and your family again, no matter where!

Greetings from Sol Aurora!

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vukovar, Vukovarsko-Srijemska, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Modern hotel, very friendly staff, excellent restaurant with very good food for all gourmets and gourmands. Rooms very neat with a perfectly clean bathrooms and terraces. Very beautiful surroundings, the area around the pool and the pool itself is very neat. Great versatility to spend the day, from soccer fields to rent bicycles. Beach with a nice hotel, a mix of stone and gravels. The city is not very far away, can be reached by train, bicycle and on foot. It's perfect for a holiday with family, friends or business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loki737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear rm,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel and that you are satisfied with the offer and the quality of the service. It means a lot to all of us!

It will be our pleasure to host you again!

Best regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#7 of 14 in Umag
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
0.3 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.3 mi away
Sol Garden Istra
Sol Garden Istra
#3 of 14 in Umag
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aurora

Property: Sol Aurora
Address: Katoro 18, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#5 Family Hotel in Umag
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Aurora is one of Croatia's first environmentally-friendly hotels. And because it is the only all-inclusive resort in Umag, Sol Aurora is a perfect destination for the traveler who wants to enjoy every aspect the hotel has to offer. Located directly on the beach, the outdoor swimming pool, which is shaded by an olive tree, a symbol of Istrian lifestyle, presents spectacular views of the Adriatic Sea. This Umag accommodation is the ideal spot for romantic getaways and fun-filled family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sol Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aurora Umag
Sol Aurora Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing