We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort for a relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Coral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Coral
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice resort for a relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights. It is a nice hotel, but not really 5 stars. We had a room with a balcony and a view to the Mediterranean. The concept of Adults only is great, the hotel pool area was quiet and the beach ok: you have to walk through a public park to the beach so there will be faimilies with children there though. The facilities of the hotel were ok, but I would have expected more from 5 stars.
The breakfast buffet was great with on demand omelettes and all! The evening buffet was ok, but you have to pay the drinks separately and some of the food just ran out and was not replaced by anything new.
During our stay there was a really loud music festival at the beach nearby: the music and the beat could be heard and felt in our room even when the balcony door was closed!!! So check for events before booking!!!
The area around the hotel is ok, there is one street with some restaurants and ice cafes.
Overall a nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Elisa H,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your Experience about your recent stay at the Meliá Coral. We always appreciate our guests’ feedback. Our clients’ satisfaction is extremely important for the entire team that’s why we take good note of all of your comments in order to improve our services. We are happy that you liked our concept «Adults Only» which is very well accepted among all of our guests. We are also glad that you you have enjoyed in our buffet offer as well for breakfast and for dinner. I’m sorry that the loud music from the event that took place in the Resort nearby affected the tranquility of your holiday. We have forwarded your comments to the responsible persons from the organization.
We very much hope to see you back at Meliá Coral.

Best regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    224
    114
    29
    14
See reviews for
50
390
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and we're very disappointed. The hotel is very tired and decor is incredibly dated. It is definitely not 5-star: no tea/coffee facilities in room, weak old hair dryers in bathroom, antique phone system to connect to hotel, no map or introduction to facilities, no luggage racks in room. The bedrooms are small compared to wide corridors.
Food in buffet restaurant is below average and incredibly poor quality even for a 4-star. You can tell cheap ingredients are used. There are plenty of wonderful local konoba restaurants nearby offering great food at lower prices.
Check the rooms as some are dark and gloomy, we asked to be moved from our first room.
Unfortunately we are staying during spring break so there is constant loud music from a stage 300m away. We can hear everything even though the door is closed. The hotel's answer? To give us ear plugs! The hotel should advise guests of this event or not allocate rooms facing the noise. They would've had notice of this as the event is arranged by their sister property.

Room Tip: There is noise from the bar and buffet nearby as well as the tennis school opposite where rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Wards_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear The_Wards_Oxford,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor following you recent stay at the Meliá Coral. I'm very sorry to read your feedback about the room facilities but on the other side we genuinely appreciate all your comments as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is highly maintained. Regarding your comment about the music festival, it's was an event called "Spring Break" and it took place in the Resort next to our hotel and we are very sorry that it effected your holidays. All of your comments have been taken into consideration and forwarded to our Management. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience, so thank you for this feedback. We truly hope that we will have another change to greet you again at the Meliá Coral for a new and enjoyable experience!

Best regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had eight nights here recently and found the Hotel to be great value.
The area is a sports paradise with all types of activities. We hired bikes and cycled around regularly, they are available as a 'London Boris Bike' (pick up and drop off points along the coast) or you can get mountain bikes locally.
It was the start of the season there and the rates were very reasonable.
The Foyer is very impressive and the reception staff are very helpful. Rooms are pleasant with free wifi although I agree with other reviews the bathrooms are on the small side for a 5 Star hotel. House keeping was on the whole very good but on several occasions they failed to wash the glasses in our room. The Buffet meals have pretty much every taste catered for and we found the food of a good standard. There is a rather strange in house Casino which consists of fruit machines and electronic roulette. Nightly entertainment was reasonably professional although not really to my
taste.
No kids, which is a definite bonus as far as we were concerned.
Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced compared with the UK but still double the price of the local bars. There is a Spa which we didn't try. All things considered well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get a Balcony Room looking out to the coast, ours was 268 at the end of a corridor nice quiet with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear JOHN T,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review! We always appreciate feedback and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience. We are happy that you like our concept «Adults Only» . I apologize that you had some inconvenience with the cleaning of your room. I have personally spoken with the Housekeeping Manager so that we can avoid this kind of situations in the future. We are waiting you soon in Meliá Coral.

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed 2 nights and we had have a half board and a classic room without balcony. A breakfast was very good, a lot of food, ... Very frendly staff. We used a indor pool and it was great time for 2 hours. Only very good for free time is a casino in hotel. You can use a free parking just 30 meters from the hotel. The room is nice, but like in a new 4 stars hotel. Reception is very very nice and it is for 5 stars. O.k., the dinner was great... music on Piano, fresh food and a lot of dessert. Also food dishes, "open fire" with steaks, ... so enough that you Will be very full. We love this hotel, has a great staff, food, location and price (in our time).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Luks123,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all TripAdvisor users! It is great for us to read that your stay in Meliá Coral was a pleasant one and that the breakfast, room and the staff services exceeded your expectations. We are always happy to hear that our guest take home such great memories. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend. Hotel have a luxury hall and reception, and hotels terace are nicely too. Friendly personal and stuff. Breakfest is very miscellaneous, but dinner could be better for the hotel who has 5 stars. The room was beautiful with a huge beautiful bed but the bathroom is very small and unattended. Massages and treatments are too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Tomonani,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are happy to read that you were pleased with our staff as we consider them our main strengths and we are trying constantly to provide the highest level of service to our guests. It is great to see also that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. We hope to welcome you again back to Meliã Coral.

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 3 days.
It is one of resorts hotels whit 5 stars.
Hotel have a nice and modern reception,hall,lobby and hotels terace which are nicely decorated.Surrounding the hotel is beautifully decorated too.Next to the hotel is a big parking.There is a casino, which I did not use because I do not prefer this type of "entertainment".
There is free wifi with good coverage throughout the hotel.
Breakfsat is ok,whit average food selections but I must admit nothing better than some hotels with 3 stars which I have visited.
The rooms are quite small but neat and quite nicely furnished with necessary furniture that fits nicely on the overall impression.The balcony is small and narrow with two chairs and a table. Decently.
The bathroom is neat and clean but small, just average.
Costs that are doing at hotel can not be placed on the account of room until you leave your credit card information.If you want to use the wellness and spa, located in the hotel you have to pay extra,is not included in the price, which is a 5 star hotel impermissibly.
At the end,the hotel is nice and comfortable but far from 5 stars except for the staff and service that is definitely a welcome step.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank alenmalagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear alenmalagic,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. As we constantly strive to provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your Meliã experience. We appreciate your comments about our rooms and food, they will certainly help us in our future modifications. I am glad that the availability of our employees and their service was a “welcome step”. Our Passion for service is the detail that distinguishes us from others. We hope to see you back and our hotel team will be pleased to ensure that your next stay with us becomes be a memorable one!

With regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very nice Hotel very friendly personal and staff. Very clean, also the food was very good and rooms were nice and comfortable hardly no closet space we lived out of our suit casses because it was not enough closet space f.or two guest

Things we found not so good was the out door pool was not heated,
Hardly no Croatian meals , I dont know anyone that eat french fries for breakfast.
Never fries for dinner.Also we were told the bowling alley was broken. They should take it out of the prospect, and not offer something that is not true.
Spa was nice also indoor pool, but masages were a little exspensive.

Room Tip: If possible room with a Balcony.Bring beach shoes for beach because or sharp rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Hubert S,

Thank you for posting this kind review about your stay at Meliá Coral. We are delighted that you had such a good experience of the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced our services. Regarding your comments about the food, I have passed them to our Chefs and they are always happy to follow guest's feedback and introduce some changes and innovations in our offer. Regarding the external pool, as you mentioned it's not heated and its temperature depends on the temperature of the sea since it is a pool with salt water. Our Team will be delighted to know that you appreciate our high standard of service. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Regards from Umag,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
1.1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
0.7 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.2 mi away
Sol Garden Istra
Sol Garden Istra
#2 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coral

Property: Melia Coral
Address: Katoro 20, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Family Hotel in Umag
#3 Spa Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Coral 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Coral is a five-star hotel located in Istria, just steps from the Adriatic Sea. With innovative services and facilities aimed adult only guests, as well as personalized attention that will satisfy the most demanding of guests, Meliá Coral is an ideal destination for a relaxing holiday. The hotel offers numerous leisure interests, including both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and an Asian-themed wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Coral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Coral Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing