We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and an exciting trip”
Review of Molokai Mule Ride

Molokai Mule Ride
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Kalaupapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two hour mule ride down an 1800 foot cliff to Kalaupapa Peninsula.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Very interesting and an exciting trip”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to take the mules for this excursion down to Kalaupapa leper colony but on the day of our trip there was very heavy rain (and it had been raining for the past few days). At the office we decided to take a small plane down to the colony as they were still waiting to find out if the mules would be able to go down the trail.
When we arrived at the colony the other travellers had just arrived (a bit wet and muddy!) as they were allowed down on mules and hiking. We were met by our local tour guide with an old school bus that took us around the various sites. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about explaining the history and stories of the colony.
Packed lunches were included.
When the tour was finished we waited at the small airport for our plane to take us back. We would have liked to take the mules but due to the bad weather we went by plane in order to ensure we could visit the colony as we didn't have many days on Molokai. A very interesting place to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    29
    6
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the best reason to come to Molokai. The mule ride down was amazing. The scenery is great, the mules are easy to ride and the experience of descending the sea cliffs is breathtaking. The tour of the towns at the bottom was good, but we would have preferred a chronological presentation of the information. As presented, we started in the present and sort of worked backwards. The ride back up was fun too since the mules know that they're going home and they move a little quicker.
If you come to Molokai, you must do this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2KauaiGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Molokai Attraction”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is hard to imagine making your way to Molokai then not participating in this signature event. Reading up on the history and perhaps watching the Molokai movie about Father Damien prior to embarking will add substance to the experience. The 1 1/2 hour ride down passed swiftly enough with the trail being more psychologically taxing (for some) rather than physically challenging. Trust the mules is the common refrain. Buzzy guiding your tour is a huge bonus. The sack lunch is the weakest part of the excursion but you can bring your own food or buy surprisingly inexpensive snacks at the bottom of the trail. Two ice cream cups and a candy bar came to just a buck fifty. A great locale for photo buffs but appropriately no photos of residents are permitted. At the bottom of the trail the group boards a rickety school bus for the colony portion of the tour. The ride back up the trail was a tad shorter than the ride down and the mules require minimal input from the rider. At the conclusion you have an opportunity to buy a ten dollar photo of yourself that was snapped at the start of the ride. We tipped though it wasn't heavily promoted to do so. Consider taking Motrin or an equivalent if you are stressing muscles that don't normally get a workout.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I hiked and it was awesome”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was definitely a top 10 in my lifetime. I did the the hike down and up. Down was way harder than up as the path was steep and rocky and a bit jarring on the knees. It took me an hour 20 down and an hour 40 back up. It's not a super easy hike but if you take your time it's ok. The views were spectacular. A little old man met us at the bottom for the "tour" which was so laid back it was insane. Well worth it. Those who went on the mule enjoyed it too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best way to get to Kalaupapa”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have read several books about Kalaupapa, Father Damion, and the leper colony over the years so it was a must-see on our trip to Hawaii. The island of Molokai was worth the stop even without the mule ride and Kalaupapa because of the great contrast to the other more tourist oriented islands.

Taking the mules down to Kalaupapa adds to the experience significantly. There is an option to fly in but approaching the colony down the cliff side puts you in the right frame of mind and gives you many fantastic views. The mules are well trained and know their job. We also rode the mules to Phantom Ranch in the Grand Canyon and the mules here are equivelent. No problem for the novice rider.

The tour of kalaupapa was excellent. We covered the high points and had a good lunch. The guide obviously knew what he was talking about and was able to answer all our questions.

This is a unique experience and shouldn't be missed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokai Mule Ride also viewed

 

Been to Molokai Mule Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing