We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place with a wonderful spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aminess Maestral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Novigrad
Certificate of Excellence
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice place with a wonderful spa”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed there 5 nights
breakfast is great, personal is also very nice and brings you an espresso :)
also the pool is great, beach is nice but stones as usual in croatia
best we found the spa and wellness
the spa is very new clean and so relaxing
personal for wellness is perfectly trained and nice
also eating in the evening with the huge buffett is great

Room Tip: we booked the one with balcon because we wanted the seaview and smoking outside which was great deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erleshofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.
We will be very glad to welcome you soon again for a relaxing stay in Novigrad.

Best regards
Hotel Maestral Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    149
    36
    21
    8
See reviews for
146
164
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The location is excellent- clean beach, something to do for people of all ages. The hotel itself was exceptionally clean. The breakfast buffet was quite tasty and the selection was large. The restaurant manager Tihomir did a good job making sure everything ran smoothly. The spa was wonderfully relaxing. There was plenty to do for kids. My daughter especially enjoyed water aerobics with Sandi. There was also live music every night. The only negative aspects were the bed was too soft for me and one particular male waiter by the pool was not very friendly; otherwise the stay was fantastic.

Room Tip: Seaside room with a balcony. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

For sure Istria is stunning, and Maestral just confirms it. Best value for your money in this area. Very polite workers, nice atmosfere, each year they improve. Lots of investments in beach, hotel itself and offer. For sure will be back again...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truestory11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilzen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 10 days with 3 young children in July.
The hotel is quite new and we booked a family room, which was new, clean and very spacious - seperate bedroom for the kids. WIFI and safe for free.

The hotel is located in a big resort with a lot of facitlities - 6 tennisfields, minigolf, beachvolley field, nice and clean swimmingpool, its own beach (to share with camping and other hotel next door) with rental of bycicles, boats, ... Lots of activities to do.

Not too much animation which we like so there is not too much noise - just aquagym and evening animation on different locations (beach/hotel bar/...) and a small miniclub for smaller kids, overall there was a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. Staff was not super friendly (like in other tourist resorts), but service was good.

Breakfast was very detailed and of excellent quality. The diner buffet was very detailed - several choices of pasta (very good), meat and fish. Great for kids, OK for adults, but don't expect fine cuisine style. There are also a la carte restaurants which we did not try.

The city is on walking distance (very nice walk near the sea) and very relaxed in day time. It's a small city, but enough bars and restaurants to eat. There is not too much of culture, but you can easily do 5 half-day trips to nice cities in driving distance less then 1h. (Rovinj / Motovun / Porec / Pula) and also a boat trip is recommendable.

No complaints at all.

We really enjoyed this place and the environment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankJanssenBilzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovac, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel is very nice, on a very nice location-near the beach and near the center of Novigrad (10- 15 min walk by the sea) . Staff very pleasant,helpful and kind. I really didn't met one person working there who didn't had smile on his/her face, from the cleaning ladies to chef in the restaurant. In the summer time, this hotel offers so many activities and animation that you can barely have time for the beach :) -of course, if you are interested in activities and active vacation. If not, you can lie all day by the pool ,or on the beach. (That is if you catch the sunbed on time). Animation team is great , there are lots of them, and are very kind and professional, from mini club for children to sports and activities for adults. (I didn't like just one person in this team, and that is their boss, who in few cases showed in front of guests that they are not doing something she wanted and acted a little bit nervous. I think it is unprofessional and that guest shouldn't see if she has problems with them or not.) Restaurant is the weakest point of this hotel. When hotel is full, it is a bit crowdy,so it's hard to find a table. But , as I read the previous reviews, I see that they have improved ,and whenever you come down , it's plenty of food, and they keep on putting new food,so no worry you will be late on something. My biggest disappointment was the food . I expected more fish, more squids (calamary), more istrian food, and although there is variety of choices, I couldn't helped not to get the feeling like the hotel wanted to save a little bit of money on food. For example, in 7 days, we only had 1 time squids,and those were not squids, like they wrote, but as we call it "Lignjun"-big squids that are very rigid and not tasteful (but cheap). No other fish, no octopus salad, no sea food salad, no sardines, no squids, no shrimps- those are normal things that I always eat in 3 and 4 star hotels on our coast, and that's why I was very surprised not to find this here. There was hake 2 times and on the same day some fish from North sea. That was really funny, I came to Adriatic sea, which has I don't know how many fish species,and I got nordic fish served? Come on, it's like I get Big Mac in Burger King. Till today, I didn't find out what was served in those glasses, I thought first day it is a pudding, 'cause it shore looked like it, but I got water with some chocolate? Really, not very good quality of food ,and not many quality choices. But all together, I would recommend this hotel for very nice,active vacation ,especially for families with children!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaNovigrad, Guest Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Dear Ana K,

thanks for your extensive review! We are glad that you spent a good time in our hotel.
Also, your satisfaction with our staff is very important for us. Regarding fish offer in hotel restaurant, every tuesday we provide fish dinner that includes variety of sea specialties.
Local food station, as a part of our buffet dinner, also offers local dishes connected with blue fish.
Our a la carte restaurant "Oliveto" and beach restaurant "Sirena" serve a large variety of fishes from all parts of Europe.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent a long weekend with our two small children @ hotel Maestral and I can highly recommend it. Excellent service, helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms, great food, clean pool & area around hotel. Hotel is suitable for people with pushchairs & wheelchairs.
As it was already mentioned the only thing they should work on is wi-fi in rooms.
Hotel is occupied mainly by German guests - young families or older couples.
We enjoyed our time, and we'll be back soon :-)

Room Tip: If you preffer quiet room - choose the one with sea/tennis court view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaNovigrad, Guest Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Ivoni,

we are greatful for your comment about the hotel, we do our best to provide excellent service for our guests.
Looking forward to see you soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

In Croatia it is difficult to find a hotel that has a full service, open, and an indoor swimming pool, beaches and sports facilities such as the Maestral in Novigrad. I had a room overlooking the parking, but very pleasant, with lovely surroundings, and the north side, where there was no heat from the sun. Wi-Fi in the room is not the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shobo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alensalamun, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Shobo01,

Thank you very much for your comment as well as for appreciating all our services.
We are doing our best to fix the functionality of the Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novigrad
0.1 mi away
Aminess Laguna Hotel
Aminess Laguna Hotel
#2 of 12 in Novigrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nautica
Hotel Nautica
#3 of 12 in Novigrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
17.9 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminess Maestral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminess Maestral Hotel

Property: Aminess Maestral Hotel
Address: Tere 2, Novigrad 52466, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Novigrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Novigrad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Novigrad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aminess Maestral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel, grown on the tradition of Istrian hospitality, offers modern outlook on the Mediterranean. Unimposing, but well-appointed, Hotel Maestral puts the accent on simple enjoyment. With 308-room capacity, abundant hotel facilities, vicinity of the beach for daily enjoyment of sea and sun, as well as the vicinity of Novigrad for evening outings and relaxation, Hotel Maestral will delight you. The sign of bike-hotel points the guest to the stay in a hotel which is additionally equipped to welcome cyclists and is, beside other things, ideal for stays by smaller or larger groups of cyclists, as a starting point of their cyclist trail throughout Istria. Since it is only 150 metres away from the sea, Maestral will particularly suit those who wish to spend every moment of their holiday on the beach, using their holiday for swimming, sunbathing and water sports. On the other hand, only 800 meters divides it from the picturesque small town of Novigrad, tickling every curious guest by different summer events, inviting him for an occasional outing to the town. A doctor's surgery is just 300 metres away from the Hotel and can be useful should you travel with children or groups of youths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Aminess Maestral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestral Hotel Novigrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing