We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aminess Maestral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Novigrad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel is in a good position and it is not hard to find.
It is located at the entrance of Novigrad.
We stayed at the hotel out of season and was not crowded.
Rooms are clean, newly decorated and relatively spacious.
Air conditioning works great - the heating and cooling
Our room (210) had a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea.
Delivery of food to the room was not expensive

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bojan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alensalamun, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Hello BoyZagreb,
Thank you for your kind review!
We truly appreicate it!
Best regards,
Hotel Maestral Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 491 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Renovated hotel in an excellent location close to town, the staff professional and friendly.
For dinner, free drinks in the dining room, excellent food, the choice is enormous.
A considerable number of sports facilities for all ages, but is also catered for people who love to lie by the pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and those with a sea view have a balcony, which is great for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IztokStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was in Maestral for 3 days having a workshop with colleagues.
Hotel is on a good location and it's recently renovated. But rooms are very small and very basic. The whole hotel looks like a lower mid-class place - by design and services.
Spa center is very good, but only pool is for free. You have to pay almost 15EUR for 3 hours of saunas. In general they have this "charging for extras" politics which I don't like. (fresh orange juice during breakfast, for example).
Food is very decent. Breakfast is good with good choices and dinner is also quite OK. Juices and coffee served during breakfast are criminal - I know that's often case in hotels but this was over the top! :(
During dinner it's almost impossible to get a waiter and order drinks.
Internet was broken for 3 day and they haven't done anything to fix it. I consider this as a BIG minus. We had troubles during our meeting because of that.
I don't recommend this hotel for any business related visits. It can be OK if you are 60+ retired person or grandparents with kids. Otherwise, find something else. Istra has so many nice hotels and places.

Room Tip: Don't take standard room. If you don't want to pay more (for better room) don't take thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EstebanBelgrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We, a family of four spent last weekend in Maestral and had a great time. My children kept on saying "Mum, this is the best holel we have ever been to!" and they have been to very good hotels - on Croatian coast and in Austria when skiing. We had tons of fun at the playground, playing mini golf, table tennis, spending time in the sea, climbing on iceberg - kids were more successful than their parents, and jumping on "trampolin" on the sea was something new and tons of fun. Hotel food was delicious - everything we tried was very tastfull.
And because of all of that, we are planning another weekend there very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globtrotter606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Nice staff in the inside and outside bars. Nice and quiet rooms, mostly sea view. If you like romantic spa treatment just go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you are looking for a vacation with relaxing atmosphere this is NOT the place to be!! For thoose who have been traveling around knows that 4 stars hotel should be much better!!

316 rooms means overcrowded and noisy breakfast, lunch and dinner! Going back to school lunch, that's a fair review! Quality of all food, poor, to average!! Not top class at all. You could collect oranges at breakfast for free, but if you want fresh juice you have to pay 2 € for 1 glass!!

After breakfast it would be nice to use the pool facilities!! But NOOOO way!! It's impossible!!! Overcrowded and no sunbeds available, the are of course occupied! There are around 50-60 available....and around 800-1000 guests!!!

The rooms are definitely not 4 star class! Awfully small and low class standard!! And for god sake! Do not try booking a economy twin room. There is only one bed in it, and the room is so small that you cannot fit in another one!!!

I've been around Slovenia, Croatia, and Bosnia a lot! And never seen a 4 star hotel at this low class. Although there is a good spa area! This does not make it worth visiting. And my final question is?!? Does the hotel staff wright the super reviews itself??

Conclusion...poor to average hotel! Overcrowded at pool facility! Fair, definitely not more if you are talking about the food. This is a hotel we will never visit again!!

AVOID this 2 star hotel (correct rating in my opinion)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mattiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alensalamun, Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear Mr. Mattiaz,
Thank you for staying in our hotel and for this review.
Regarding the vacation with relaxing atmosphere: Hotel Maestral**** is a family-friendly hotel, with family-oriented facilities and services, therefore it is a bit unreasonable to except the hotel to be the quietest place to be - especially in the summertime and schoolbreaks period. But even in this case we offer our guests guaranteed peace in our VIP Spa area or on hotel Maestral's spa relax terrace.
Our most important feedback regarding food quality, hospitality and service comes from the questionnaires, which ensures us that our guests are served with best food in combination with top service.To make our offer complete we offer the complementary beverages during dinner (soft drinks, wine, and beer).
Sunbeds. As you already noticed, there are approximately 800 guests in our hotel, and it's quite difficult to find a sunbed for each one of them around the pool. Therefore we have lots of sunbeds on the beach, in the pine forest and on the meadow - to make sure every guest has his own place to relax.
Rooms. Our newly renovated rooms meet the standards for an 4-star hotel. Economy room (as the name of the room says) is the most affordable room that consists of a single bed with additional bed. Every guest is warned that it is a small room - less than 10 square meters and it's always guest's choice whether to book such room or not.
We would like to point out that we do not write our own reviews; Hotel Maestral****, as well as our other hotels and campsites, have lots of returning guests, friends, singles and families, that with our hotel staff make part in our main goal - providing our guests an excellent, relaxing and friendly stay.
Dear Mr. Mattiaz,allow us to thank you for your constructive comments. Your comment, as well as all other comments, will be taken into consideration.
Regards,
Hotel Maestral Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I do not know what to say. If must then it is OK, if not, avoid it and go to Porec, 10 km from Novigrad, wit much better offer and better beaches. Hotel is not more then fair, ne but ugly furniture, small bedrooms, average restaurant offer. Now, about the most importnat, very vry small outdoor swimming pool, overcrowded. Beach, I do know what to say, 50 m long? 60? What was amazing, no sunshade, and believe me in Croatia over summer is always over 30*C. To have a little bit of rest, peace, shade and beach, you should go to a nearby camp??? Good for a sport or kids, but poor beach offer. And Croatia is all about the beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dino_Rasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novigrad
0.1 mi away
Aminess Laguna Hotel
Aminess Laguna Hotel
#2 of 12 in Novigrad
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nautica
Hotel Nautica
#3 of 12 in Novigrad
189 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
1.3 mi away
Valamar Club Tamaris
9.4 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminess Maestral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminess Maestral Hotel

Address: Tere 2, Novigrad 52466, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Novigrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Novigrad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Novigrad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Novigrad
Price Range: $104 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aminess Maestral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel, grown on the tradition of Istrian hospitality, offers modern outlook on the Mediterranean. Unimposing, but well-appointed, Hotel Maestral puts the accent on simple enjoyment. With 308-room capacity, abundant hotel facilities, vicinity of the beach for daily enjoyment of sea and sun, as well as the vicinity of Novigrad for evening outings and relaxation, Hotel Maestral will delight you. The sign of bike-hotel points the guest to the stay in a hotel which is additionally equipped to welcome cyclists and is, beside other things, ideal for stays by smaller or larger groups of cyclists, as a starting point of their cyclist trail throughout Istria. Since it is only 150 metres away from the sea, Maestral will particularly suit those who wish to spend every moment of their holiday on the beach, using their holiday for swimming, sunbathing and water sports. On the other hand, only 800 meters divides it from the picturesque small town of Novigrad, tickling every curious guest by different summer events, inviting him for an occasional outing to the town. A doctor's surgery is just 300 metres away from the Hotel and can be useful should you travel with children or groups of youths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aminess Maestral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestral Hotel Novigrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing