We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The MUST restaurant in Novigrad / Umago area”

Restaurant Belveder
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Novigrad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Treviso, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The MUST restaurant in Novigrad / Umago area”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Oh My. God, i don't know where to start writing about this restaurant...
Absolutely fantastic, my favourite one in the area!

I've been visiting Novigrad for almost 10 years, in the summer and in the winter, and this is the restaurant I fully reccomend to everyone, and the place where I bring my friends for a good dinner

LOCATION:
By the sea sight, there is a very nice bay from where you can enjoy the sunset
They have very nice tables outside in a just renovated area, with an amaising old tree
The restaurant is very simple, in Croatian style, and very clean.

OWNERS
The two brothers are always very professional, just few words, but at the same time open if you start speaking with them. One of them should work in a theater :)

FOOD
How can I explain that, it's basic, fresh and very well cooked! In italian we say ti si scioglie in bocca
I reccomend to follow their suggestions for chosing your dishes
Raw food is very good, and the fish with potatoes cooked in the hoven is something deliciuos
I've never tried the dessert, because I tent to enjoy the fish once I'm there
I know they have 2 types of sorbetto and good rakjia and liquors

WINE
You can have a good selection of bottles of wine if u don't like the house wine Malvazjia

PRICE
I would say that for the quality of the products they serve you is a very good quality/price level

It's better to book if you want to make sure to have dinner here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Federica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    70
    17
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eccleshall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dining with victor”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is an Italian fish restaurant where you sit literally inches from the Adriatic if you can get one of the outdoor tables. Open all year round but closed on Tuesdays. Italians drive 100 miles from Venice for Sunday lunch where you will see tables of 10+ consuming five courses or more. Everything is good but large platters of fish can be pricey, having said that two people can eat here for £60 a meal that would easily cost £100 in the UK. Start with simple grilled prawns and do not miss having a sorbetto to for dessert, a blend of vodka and lemon ice cream laced with various liqueurs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tedcownoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Arrogant and grumpy”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We dropped in around 19:45 as a last chance to have a decent dinner. The waiter looked us up and down draw a fast conclusion. Two adults and three small kids are not fitting into the desired profile of customers. We were told, that all tables are reserved and not available. This was funny, the outside seating was empty. My wife was upset about the reaction and called 10 min later to reserve a table for 5. She was told that they have tables available right now and we could drop in.
Thank you.....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank parkranger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Belveder restaurant is shellfish heaven by the sea”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We sat under the huge old mulberry tree on the terrace and groaned with pleasure. We feasted on raw scampi, local mussels, clams, crayfish, calamari, local carafes of white wine finished with lemon vodka sorbet. Don't miss it if you are in Croatia then go for a swim nearby. Cost for four stuffed adults including wine and cafe £100. You have to book on weekends and holidays and the service may be slowish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pvk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleshall
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As good as it gets for a fish restaurant!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant is a firm favourite with at least one visit there each time I'm in Croatia.
The Lunch menu is a little cheaper and can last for hours if so desired.
Great choice of fresh fish and a good variety of wines to wash it down with.
The Prosecco works well with the prawns and the sauce they're served with!delicious fresh crusty bread.
Two brothers head up the team and a visit to the kitchens is welcomed by them to enable you to see which fish you want cooked.
This place is well known by the Italians who often pop down to visit this popular venue.
In summer a table on the terrace overlooking the sea is best but do book!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bartonsmpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Belveder also viewed

 
Novigrad, Istria
Novigrad, Istria
 

Been to Restaurant Belveder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing