We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was still there .....”
Review of Sensimar Medulin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensimar Medulin
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there .....”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We traveled to the Croatia earlier this month and was based at the park plaza medulin for a week. Can't say enough good things about the hotel, istria and Croatia - we had an amazing week. Be you a beach holiday type or a get out an explore type this region offers the best of both worlds.

Having read the reviews on trip advisor re the park plaza we were not disappointed. Everything about this modern hotel was excellent but I have to give special mention to the staff nothing was too much trouble and all were so friendly. The hotel is well situated a short walk from the centre of medulin, has good facilities, the food was varied and plentiful (we stayed AI and it was by far the best AI food we've encountered in Europe) and is impeccably clean. The standard rooms are not huge but plenty big enough ... Who goes on holiday to sit in their room any way!?! Would recommend paying that little bit extra for a sea view. A nice touch is the double sun loungers situated throughout the garden. Do eat in the a la carte restaurant - food and wine excellent.

We particularly picked area as it has the balance of plenty to do or relax or do nothing if you so wish. You can of course do the organised trips via your rep but there is plenty to do independently too - be it taking the local bus to pula for a day or hiring bikes and exploring the coast yourself for example. Do take a trip up to the pretty coastal town of rovinj - well worth a visit.

I would wholeheartedly recommend both the park plaza and this area of Croatia - am already thinking about when we can go back to explore some more.

My only piece of feedback , specifically for the Thomson's entertainer team, would be to mix up the evening entertainment program a bit - perhaps the inclusion of a quiz night (everyone loves a quiz!), casino night or even a film night would add some variety and are appealing to all ages groups and we've seen work well in the past.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eahns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Medulin for your holidays and for recommending it to other guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our A la Carte Restaurant, the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the helpfulness of our staff. The overall team is very happy to hear that you found them considerate and cooperative. In regards to the entertainment team, we will consider your kind suggestions and possibly insert some of them in our future offer.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    348
    71
    13
    3
See reviews for
28
873
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Croatia first visit but definatley not the last. The hotel and staff were amazing at the Park Plaza. No kids it was heaven, from beds in the bedrooms to beds in the lovely lush green grounds, never had such comfortable beds,(still missing them). The manager was brilliant I forgot my credit card in the safe on leaving didn't notice till I was in departure lounge at the airport, My friend went to security who got me a Thopsons rep who rang the hotel, To cut a long story short The Manager of Park Plaza jumped in his car and got the credit card to me just as I was about to board the plane home. To me that was an above and beyond the call of duty and I would like to thank him 'amazing' He should be proud of his hotel and staff food excelent everywhere spotless you deserve 5*

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely holiday in our hotel and that you found our staff excellent. Our manager send her warmest regards and says that it's was a big pleasure having you as our guests. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing break in Croatia. The hotel is modern and very clean, although not as big as it appears on the website. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Food was of a good quality, and generally plentiful. The a la carte restaurant was excellent. At the start of the week, service in the main dining room was excellent but as the hotel got busier, staff struggled to cope with demands, resulting in guests having to go to the bar or serve themselves. Evening entertainment was okay, but could do with more variety. Day time entertainment was a little disappointing, as many of them were cancelled due to lack of numbers, although Natasha is trying her best. We were surprised that the choice of drinks was limited, as we thought all inclusive meant just that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Medulin for your stay. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the hotel, our diversified gastronomic offer and the helpfulness of our staff. In regards to the entertainment part, we have taken all of your remarks in consideration and we'll be discussing them internally. Please note that as stated in the Thomson brochure as part of the all inclusive offer, our hotel offers only local alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks.
Hoping we'll be able to welcome you again soon within our facility we send you our kindest regards!

The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel 1st - 15th June. First couples holiday and not disappointed. Hotel was clean, modern . Bedroom clean and really comfy. We paid extra for sea view but not necessary as didn't spend much time in there to sit on the balcony.
I really don't understand anyone that didn't enjoy this hotel not really sure what they want.
We could not fault any of the staff they were all really friendly, helpful and just lovely. Slovan and Thomas at the bar were just really lovely and genuinely want to make sure our stay was good, not that the rest of the bar staff were not great because they were but some stand out more than others. Receptionists friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff always friendly not sure about the comments on shorts, we were not advised not allowed at dinner and nothing in the brochure and yes my hubby did were very smart 3/4 length modern shorts I certainly didn't see any scruffy shorts and flip flops and to be honest bit sad if people are so shallow they worry about that kind of thing in a 4* hotel. I can honestly say I cannot fault my holiday we met some lovely people in our two weeks both others on holiday and the staff. Shirley the rep was lovely. DNA the duo in the evenings were great, played some fab music and were just genuine lovely people. We went of a couple of nice trips, got out each day for some lovely walks and hired bikes. Food was really good the variations of food were amazing and I didn't hear anyone complain about the food in the two weeks we were there. We loved Croatia and will deffinately be back and although I would not hesitate coming back to this hotel I would like to see other areas of Croatia. So anyone that remembers Claire & Pete on our two weeks we say hi and thank you to those we were lucky enough to spend time with, chat with and just catch up on what you had been doing through the day just lovely meeting such lovely people this deffinately is one holiday that we will not forget and for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: We were in 352 paid extra for seaview it was a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank indiolakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Claire & Pete,

Thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear once again that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the Hotel’s facilities, the entertainment and our gastronomic offer. Your kind comments about the employees, especially Slaven and Thomas, have been shared with the entire team.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

all in all this is a very good hotel,clean and welcoming and providing a good standard of service.the all inclusive drinks were not very exciting but are more or less what you would expect.the wine in the dining room definitely needs an upgrade.i enjoyed the food and thought there was a good variety and I think people who are complaining should realise that there is a limit to the number of different animals and vegetables in the world.i also find it a bit creepy when I see from other reviews on here that some guests were studying what and how other people ate their meals and then post it on here.takes all sorts though.i also found that there are hidden wardrobes in some rooms so have a good look.rooms are very nice and modern, recommended for a quiet relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john.martin1_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Medulin for your stay and for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that we were able to provide you a good standard of service. In regards to the wine in the dining room, we have shared your comment to our Food and Beverage Manager.
We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First day we relaxed and got slightly overexposed to the uv rays but as we were off to Venice on day 2 this was not important. Third day we picked a sunbed in partial shade and settled down to read and relax and expose ourselves to a minimum of sun. After a couple of hours the staff began to set up a barbecue next to our sunbed and then proceeded to place tables closer and closer. We were then asked if they could take the sun umbrella for their sound system and we happily agreed to. After a while we began to get the feeling that we should move although nobody asked or explained what was happening. We took our valuables , iPad iPhone camera etc., and retreated to the terrace to await developments. We then saw the rest of our belongings along with sunbed and table removed to a spot that was totally exposed with no explanation to us by any of the staff or Thomson reps. My wife approached to of the Thomson reps to register her dismay at being treated in this manner. One rep began to apologise which would have been acceptable but the other rep just made excuses as if we should have known and made out they were too busy to come and inform us. This we felt was wholly unacceptable and made us feel as if we were in the wrong. We eventually calmed and decided lunch would be best, but aware that the rep was now covering her back by explaining that all she had done was move our belongings.
Half way through our lunch she passed our table with a curt "sorry about that" disturbing our lunch and not caring that some 3 hours of our day had been disturbed.
We have been holidaying with Thomson,s for over ten years and and have never had even the smallest complaint but then we have always been treated like guests and not just objects in the way.

Room Tip: Pool side faces the sea and is by far the most interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIREMALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. First and foremost, we must apologise for the experience you have described here. It is clear from what you have wrote that your stay was not to the usual high standard of the Park Plaza Medulin and we will certainly be following up with the appropriate members in order to take the necessary actions. Your personal belongings were moved due to safety reasons (the barbecue’s heat and fire could cause damage and therefore we always make sure that there are no personal belongings nearby). You are right in saying that you should have been informed about it and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience our staff may have caused you.
We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service to all of our guests and we are truly sorry that we didn’t manage this for your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Kind Regards,

The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were worried about going to this hotel due to the reviews, well we need not have worried at all. The management have a brilliant team of staff. They were all very cheerful and helpful. The hotel is exceptionally clean. The food was of extremely good quality with plenty of variety.The rooms are a bit on the small side, and I did have to hang my long dresses in the bathroom on the high taps, but we did manage to get all our clothes in the two wardrobes and the bedside cuboards, and I take lots of clothes. Our only slight issue was not getting to sit poolside as early as we would have liked as we are early risers, I felt it could be possible to clean the pool area in the evening. There are still a few small issues to sort out but they are nearly there. Shirley the Thomson rep was very helpful, the duo were very good. The weather was great after the first two days so all in all we had a great two weeks holiday and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank martiandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality and variety of our food and especially the helpfulness of our staff. Our wonderful team is our main asset and we are thrilled to know that they exceeded your expectations. Thank you once again for your kind words and for your recommendations. We are looking forward to seeing you in the nearest future in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medulin
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
5.0 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#4 of 9 in Medulin
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
23.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
720 reviews
22.8 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Medulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Medulin

Property: Sensimar Medulin
Address: Osipovica 31, Medulin 52100, Croatia (Formerly Park Plaza Medulin)
Location: Croatia > Istria > Medulin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Medulin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Medulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing