We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Villa Velike Stine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Velike Stine
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful 4-night stay with Igor and his family. Although I doubt they often get young children, they were very accommodating and patient with us and our 18-month old. Our flight didn't leave until much later in the evening and though we had to check out on time (as the villa was booked) we were allowed to stay on the grounds so we weren't "homeless" with the baby which was much appreciated.

The restaurant is absolutely amazing and some of the best food we've ever had. The prices were very reasonable considering the quality of food and service you're receiving. If you prefer cheaper foods there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance but I highly recommend enjoying dinner with Igor AT LEAST one night, though we chose to dine with him every night but the first.

The hotel is far enough away that it's nice and quiet and a bit secluded but close enough that it's a 10-minute walk to the beach. The rooms have air conditioning which was a must for us and the balcony had a beautiful view of the bay. The pool and garden were both very nice as well! We had a very enjoyable, peaceful and relaxing time and can't wait to visit again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    3
    2
    10
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Igor and his family offer a very good and very priceworthy hotel at Medulin. The small family based hotel gives comfort, hospitality and a good breakfast. If you wish you can have a good dinner ast Igor's hotel. Het prepares a good dinner in a very nice ambiance. Igor and his family are very helpfull and give you good tourist tips for the surroundings.

Room Tip: Just a good family based hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fredkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Velike Stine, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Fred, Thank you very much for your overall positive review. I am glad that you were happy with all service aspects of Villa Velike Stine and will share your comments with other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjeving, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 11 day at this hotel in june 2012. A family hotel with very nice garden and pool area. The owner was very service minded regarding taxi, trips to islands and beaches.
We were asked by the owner/hobby chef if we would like to enjoy local cooking 3 nights and said yes. The owner never specified any prices. We specified that our children would like small portions of simple food and they enjoyed pasta, lasagna and plain chicken breast. They were also asked if they wanted a little bit of grilled vegetables with the chicken - the cost of the vegetables was 150 Kuna (150 Kuna is what you have to pay for 4 pizzas in other restaurants nearby). The next day the owner only stated that he did not want to serve smaller portions, thats why he charged full price.
Checking the bill we got shocked about prices. All children menus were charged at full prices, which were 2-3 times the price at next-door restaurants. Our local specialties were charged by the kilo - that means that the owner decides how much he serves and charges you as a guest.
We were charged for 1,2 kilo of fish, 1 kilo of octopus for 2 persons and 1 kilo of lamb for 1 person.
2 meetings with the owner got us nowhere and we paid the bill.
So stay away from this restaurant.
On the day of departure we were accused of breaking a bedroom lamp and fixing it with toilet paper. The staff were very rude in this discussion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanGLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Excellent!! A 5 generation family hotel with beautiful new garden and pool area. All rooms have a beautiful sea view. Tradititional restaurant with amazing food, prepared freshly every day, using only natural bio ingredients. Breakfast was a dream with everithing on the table and fresh fruits from the trees in the garden. All rooms are charming but room a2 was the best choice. A lot of space with big private balcony. Lovely small table on the terace and inside the room for reading the books and relax. The best value for money what we found in Istria, and we stayed in 5 hotels with 4 and 5 stars. It was a treat to stay in a hotel where the owner is so attentive and helpful. We would highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Ines G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinqu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We only had an overnight stay here, but it would have been perfect to stay longer. Hospitality was excellent, room was clean and well fitted out. Internet was good.
Breakfast was excellent and the surrounding terrace and garden were very peaceful.
Staff were very friendly and helped organize taxi's the next morning out to collect a hired
car. Couldnt fault the place, would definetely reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
53 Thank VeeCinqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. The setting of the hotel is beautiful. It is compact, with only 5 rooms, but has everything you would need. The pool area, gardens and eating terrace are beautiful and very well maintained. There is also a comfy hammock for relaxing in! We were very happy with our room and the nice balcony with views towards the sea.

Igor, the man who runs the hotel, is very friendly and helpful. He will always go out of his way to help you - for example, we weren't sure about train times for our return journey and he looked all this up for us and printed the relevant information.

Igor is also a very talented chef. He cooks everything freshly to your tastes and was happy to cater for vegetarians. He makes very nice cakes!! All the food was locally sourced and of high quality - for which, you do pay. The prices match the quality of the food but are not obvious when you order and so if you are on a budget, as we were, make sure to check what you will be charged. It may be that booking half board with the hotel is better value for money. But that said, the food was delicious!

It was a treat to stay in a hotel where the owner is so attentive and helpful. We would highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
53 Thank Amy_Baird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Velike Stine, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our Hotel. Your review shows us that we are doing the right thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Apparently, not too many Americans stay in Medulin. When we arrived in Medulin and met Igor, he was very excited to have Americans stay at his establishment. The Villa, which is a cross between a Sobe and a Bed & Breakfast, is located on a small road called Regi. We had navigation, but could not find it that way. We put Regi as our destination, but it did not take us to Regi – it got us close. We turned down a one way road toward the harbor and on this way, we found the street sign Regi. We went straight on Regi, and there is was on the left 44 Regi . On the side of the building, it says Villa Velike Stine. It is hard to see – so try to get here in the light of day. I don’t know if I could have found it at night.

Upon our arrival, we were given the choice to park outside or inside. Although on booking.com it says free parking that is not completely true. Read the fine print – it cost 8 Euros per day to park inside. You can park outside for free, but be forewarned, the streets are narrow and parking it at a premium. I paid for the parking and the reason he charges for it is because he built the area especially for parking. He gives you a gate opener to get in and out of the place.

The 5 Room establishment is beautifully maintained on the outside. Great little pool with deck chairs and a nice relaxing dining area. Some people have complained at the size of the pool, but it only had 5 rooms so it is a perfect size for the place. Apparently Igor cooks, but we did not stay and eat dinner there. I did read on other sites that his cooking is amazing, but very expensive. ASK FOR PRICES BEFORE EATING!
The rooms themselves are very nice, but a bit dated. The bathroom could use a little updating, and the kitchen area does not really work. It says you need to ask ahead before using it. There is a nice balcony that overlooks the pool area and has a view to the sea. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the harbor. The bed was comfortable, comes with a very small table, one couch, TV and cable (never used) and free wireless internet.
Breakfast was good, with juice, meats and cheeses, breads, and yogurt. Igor offered to make eggs, but we declined. I am not sure if they cost money, but he did offer.
Additionally, Pula is only a short drive from Medulin. Consider it if you plan on staying in the area. Overall, it was great. We will probably come back to Medulin at sometime in the near future and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medulin
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#4 of 9 in Medulin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ai Pini Resort Medulin
Ai Pini Resort Medulin
#5 of 9 in Medulin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
22.9 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Velike Stine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Velike Stine

Property: Villa Velike Stine
Address: Regi 44, Medulin 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Medulin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Velike Stine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Velike Stine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing