We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Istria”
Review of Hotel Vela Vrata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vela Vrata
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Buzet
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Istria”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great and helpful stuff, very clean rooms with quality beds and nice decor. Beautiful terrace and view on valley. We slept very well here.
Good choice of local vines and food in a hotel restaurant.
My only complains are about breakfast which should be a bit improved and about spa zone; sauna doors were not closing well and we could not reach a right temperature.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to explore Istria because everything is close from here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mianaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    39
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I would have loved to give an 'excellent' or 'very good' rating for the location and the setting of the Vela Vrata (Great Gate) Hotel in the historic city of Buzet, in ancient times set on a mountain top with stunning (and strategic) views of the surrounding plains. The hotel is well kept and updated. The rooms are comfortable, with high quality bedding and linens. The bathroom-en-suite, with tub and toilet, is spacious and amply supplied with toiletries. The lay-out of the hotel though, is illogical. Next to the cramped reception booth, there is a small tasteless canteen with a few tables and chairs. Up the stairs are the rooms (no elevator, and no helping hand of the staff for luggage), on the second landing there is an entrance to an indoor swimming pool, on the third landing, in the attic, under the beams, is a gloomy restaurant with 2 small windows and no view. So the restaurant is brightly, whitely lit by environment friendly bulbs in ugly fittings. The atmosphere of a funeral parlour. The food for dinner was quite bland and still pricey. Breakfast items, the next morning were varied, very factory processed, and soon "out of stock", as the waitress remarked. The orange juice turned out to be yellow colored water. The following morning we found the restaurant totally vacated. Without prior notice the staff decided to serve breakfast in the canteen down all the stairs. The management must be economizing on the amount of personnel. I don't know.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB10Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice, small hotel with an excellent view, nice clean rooms......highly recommended. Restaurant offers healthy breakfast and excellent choice of meals throughout the day. Highly recommended. Place is located on the hill where old town is located. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in September during Buzet's Annual Truffle Festival. The hotel was very nice, clean, and had decently sized rooms and very modern bathrooms. The hotel's breakfast was good and a typical European continental breakfast. The front desk staff were all very nice and accomodating. And, we were perfectly located for the Festival which was a lot of fun. We only had one issue that ended up really tainting our ability to enjoy the hotel - there was a dead animal, I'm guessing a mouse, somewhere in the air ventilation system near our room, and the stench of animal carcas filled our room. We asked for a different room, but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked, and when we told the cleaning staff, they implied that we were somehow the source of the smell. The smell made sleeping difficult, and we avoided spending any unecessary time in the room. Our belongings retained the smell for a couple of days after we left the hotel. Aside from this problem, and I don't know that any other guests experienced it, the hotel was lovely. I would stay there again...after first sniffing out the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August and were so happy that we did! It's located right in the old town of Buzet and completely updated and modern. The rooms are incredibly spacious and cozy. It's a little deceiving (in a good way) because from the outside it looks like a tiny hotel but when you step inside it's quite large and has all of the amenities you could hope for. The front desk was incredibly nice and helpful.

We drove in and quite frankly the turn to get to the hotel would seem mathematically impossible. Somehow we did it but if your driving skills aren't the best I'd recommend parking right on the hill and then walking up.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was excellent. The service was a little slow but we were situated inside and that may have been one of the issues. But the food was excellent. There's also a beautiful pool and spa. We didn't get a chance to use it but it looked great!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Istria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetter16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is really a very beautifull just renovated hotel in the old town of Buzet on the hill with stunning views. We got a very big appartment next to the hotel with our kids, it was very cozy and big, our kids could sleep on the bedsofa which was very comfortable as well. Swimmingpool and Spa are also worth visiting. The receptionist made sure that we got a parking spot when we arrived late, it was very busy but he made sure that we got a very good place. Next to that our compliments for the staff, we forgot our passports when checking out, we were already 1/2 hour away and they made sure that we got them back. We can really recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelvoorburg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we loved our staying in hotel vela vreta last week. we both or in styuling and antiques, and this was really a pleasure to see how wonderful everthing fits together in this hotel.
The restaurant was really good and the staff is super friendly !!!
we love to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickandpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buzet
8.3 mi away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#1 of 1 in Motovun
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#2 of 3 in Buzet
58 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
San Rocco Hotel and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Vera
Hotel Villa Vera
#1 of 8 in Lovran
181 reviews
22.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vela Vrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Vrata

Property: Hotel Vela Vrata
Address: Shet.Vladimira Gortana 7, Buzet 52420, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Buzet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Buzet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vela Vrata 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vela Vrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing