We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic & busy Konoba experience ”
Review of Konoba Barba

Konoba Barba
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

We had no idea it would be a busy night in Biograd as it was ‘out of season’ but we were glad we reserved a table as there was a large sailing event in town. The waitress kindly held onto a table for two outside, as we had requested.

Service was quick despite the restaurant having no space available. We ordered cheese, bread and a salad to start (unfortunately the salad never arrived), but the cheese was excellent.

We then ordered the squid and spaghetti with scampi, both of which were extremely good. The squid was fresh and cooked on a traditional ‘grill’, the spaghetti was in a lovely sauce and we were both very happy.

The only downside was that after finishing our food and wine (a local house white which was lovey) we had to wait a while to get the waitress’ attention in order to pay.

Despite the restaurant being at capacity due to unexpected busyness, the waitress (singlehanded it seemed) did an outstanding job at keeping everyone happy.

A lovey atmosphere and excellent food, we come to Biograd a lot and will be visiting again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ChusHajdukGuino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 189 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2018

It is real traditional mediterian restorant with good food a nice ambience, but there is too much smoke in restaurant

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martin_nemec_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Everything was soooo delicious! Pure hedonism! Fresh tuna from Adriatic sea! #freshshrimps #pasta #jadranskomore #dalmacijaumomoku #freshstuna

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Danijela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We read a few reviews about this place and decided to try out the restaurant. We were early so there was no wait problem. They only serve bottled water, at 4€ per 0,75 l which is really annoying since the tap water in the town is clean and drinkable. We all ordered seafood - fish, calamari, gamberi shrimps and dagnja mussel. The fish was ok, there were only 2 shrimp and 6 mussels on a seafood plate for 2 persons - not even for a taste. The calamari were burnt and with lots of residue from the grill, which left a bad aftertaste. After the meal we asked the waiter what was the difference between calamari and "Jadranski" calamari, and she told us that only the "Jadranski" were from local fisherman, all the rest were frozen calamari from the the shop. This again was frustrating, because you would not expect that a seafood restaurant, 100m from the sea would serve imported frozen calamari from an unknown source and quality, and selling them at 14€ for two medium pieces with potato side. All in all a disappointing evening that peaked when the waitress told us that they do not accept any credit card, only cash. So we had to walk to the ATM and back to pay. In this time, a place that serves mostly tourists and does not offer any other means of payment other than cash is just being rude. Stay away from this place, there are more than 5 restaurants within 50m that serve fresh, tasteful seafood that are worth checking out.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JCerar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

I came with a group of friends 3 days ago and still all of us has a happy stomach!!!The food was excellent a bit late but got a cold formeal instead. Our waitress Marta was easygoing cheerful and there for us to explain us all we needed. Comfy atmosphere, local music and interiour made it a complete evening!! Really great and highly recommendable!!!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Mateja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Barba also viewed

Biograd na Moru, Zadar County
Biograd na Moru, Zadar County
 
Biograd na Moru, Zadar County
Biograd na Moru, Zadar County
 
Biograd na Moru, Zadar County
Biograd na Moru, Zadar County
 

Been to Konoba Barba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing