We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!!”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It is so serene here. The staff was amazing and the place was comfortable and clean. I wasn't even aware that they served a continental breakfast. We got exactly what were we looking for in our stay. I highly recommend signing up for a tour of the property. We stumbled onto one and Pat was a wealth of knowledge as well as a good teacher. My sister has stayed here in the past and told us it was wonderful. I was happy know someone else who had been there before. We absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: We had 3 adults and a teen and got the last open guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 380 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

A great place to help enhance the magic of JT park. So close to the entrance, it borders the park itself and is right on a desert oasis. The resort itself is family run and full of history, dating back I believe to the 20s or 30s. You certainly get the sense this place has a lot of roots. Our adobe was cottage-style, rustic but very well cared-for. Great poolside bar, helpful staff. We found the restaurant expensive and opted to eat in town, however, it's a bit of a drive for roadside pub fare and we kind of wished we had stayed put to soak
up the ambiance at 29 palms. Morning breakfast was lovely. There are a lot of cheap roadside inns, but if you want something more comfortable with character that won't break the bank, this is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank agifford14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nineteen years after my first visit, the 29 Palms Inn is still a favorite and certainly the best lodging near Joshua Tree National Park. The individual cabins are simple delights (happily without televisions or telephones or internet access) and the restaurant is wonderful for lunch and dinner, serving much from their own adjacent small farm.

Pros: Authenticity and character, privacy, location, in-room propane fireplaces, nightly outdoor wood fires, modest pool, restaurant, staff, value, self-selects a great clientele.

Wifi: Free in lobby and poolside.

Cons: The hot tub spa, which used to be a great relaxer after hiking, is padlocked and permanently closed. Breakfast is weak.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a basic cottage, and it was so lovely to have all the amenities pool, tv,hot shower after travelling round Death Valley for a week. My room X, did not have a fireplace, and it did'nt need it, so I am glad I didn't pay the extra for a room with one, the pool area was great, and had a nice vibe, the free breakfast away good, a selection of homemade breads and cakes, oatmeal, juice, tea etc. one of the nights I did have someone stay next door, and yes I could hear them ( as another review says) but overall it would recommend staying here, for the 1950's vibe alone.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank macymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel room for the price you pay. There are incredibly thin walls so you can hear everything in adjacent rooms. We had uninformative and unhelpful receptionists. The breakfast selection is poor and bland. Would recommend a stay elsewhere

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Skatemate5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Skatemate5

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the 29 Palms Inn, we’d love the opportunity to connect directly with you and would like to offer you a gift card for an upgraded room if you would return again, so please give us a call or email us at theoasis@29palmsinn.com
We take pride in having friendly and helpful staff so it is very unlike us to receive customer service complaints and will certainly follow up with our team. Here at the Inn we acknowledge we do things a little differently from the average large chain hotel, including our approach to the complimentary morning foods. We are sorry to hear you found the offerings bland. We put out homemade breads, hard boiled eggs, porridge and fruit as a healthy and hearty breakfast but understand it might not be what all hotel guests are used to.

We do hope to hear from you and invite you back to the Inn for another visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Jane Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My friend, his children and I stayed at the Hermitage cabin that has a special loft for kids to sleep in like a tree house. It was fun for the kids to climb up and down the ladder. It was very quaint with large bay windows next to your bed that lets the desert morning sun radiates the room in full brilliance. The bathroom and shower room is detached from the main cabin which gives you a sense of a modern outhouse just steps outside the kitchen door which brings you first to a patio area overlookiing the oasis. The Oasis shelters a small group of wildlife. The food is made fresh with herbs and spices from the plots of vegetable garden outback. Best of all, the place is just minutes away from the north entrance station of the park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tfabros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the final two nights of our three week road trip in August. We have stayed at the Inn many times before and always appreciate the beautiful setting, the gorgeous cabins and the very special ambiance- so relaxed with the feel of the Joshua Tree Park seeping into you! We have stayed in many of the various cabins- all fabulous in their own distinct ways-this time we stayed in Dandelion, which was possibly our favourite so far- really really cute and pretty with truly amazing views of the desert from your bed!We ate in the restaurant by the pool on our last night- food delicious, setting Perfect , and such friendly and professional service. Another fantastic stay and we would love to come back!

Room Tip: All great in their own unique ways- have a look at the plan of the grounds+ the staff are Really hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
693 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
286 reviews
1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $70 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1928 at the historic Oasis of Mara in Twentynine Palms, the 29 Palms Inn has welcomed guests to the beautiful California Desert for almost a century. Across the 70-acre property, looking out to the mountains of Joshua Tree National Park, the 29 Palms Inn offers an eclectic mix of guest accommodations. Family owned and operated for five generations now, the Inn offers a kind of retreat that’s hard to compare with other places. You’ll stay not in one of a hundred cookie-cutter rooms, but one of a few wood frame cabins built in the 1920’s, adobe bungalows from the 1930’s, or full amenity guest houses built in the 1950’s. The vibrant poolside restaurant is open daily for lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch, with a fresh menu that specializes in seafood, steaks, daily fish and pasta specials, and great vegetarian options. Sourdough bread is baked daily on premise, and seasonal fruits and vegetables are harvested from the Inn’s very own Faultline Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing