We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel room for the price you pay. There are incredibly thin walls so you can hear everything in adjacent rooms. We had uninformative and unhelpful receptionists. The breakfast selection is poor and bland. Would recommend a stay elsewhere

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Skatemate5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Skatemate5

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the 29 Palms Inn, we’d love the opportunity to connect directly with you and would like to offer you a gift card for an upgraded room if you would return again, so please give us a call or email us at theoasis@29palmsinn.com
We take pride in having friendly and helpful staff so it is very unlike us to receive customer service complaints and will certainly follow up with our team. Here at the Inn we acknowledge we do things a little differently from the average large chain hotel, including our approach to the complimentary morning foods. We are sorry to hear you found the offerings bland. We put out homemade breads, hard boiled eggs, porridge and fruit as a healthy and hearty breakfast but understand it might not be what all hotel guests are used to.

We do hope to hear from you and invite you back to the Inn for another visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Jane Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

My friend, his children and I stayed at the Hermitage cabin that has a special loft for kids to sleep in like a tree house. It was fun for the kids to climb up and down the ladder. It was very quaint with large bay windows next to your bed that lets the desert morning sun radiates the room in full brilliance. The bathroom and shower room is detached from the main cabin which gives you a sense of a modern outhouse just steps outside the kitchen door which brings you first to a patio area overlookiing the oasis. The Oasis shelters a small group of wildlife. The food is made fresh with herbs and spices from the plots of vegetable garden outback. Best of all, the place is just minutes away from the north entrance station of the park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tfabros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the final two nights of our three week road trip in August. We have stayed at the Inn many times before and always appreciate the beautiful setting, the gorgeous cabins and the very special ambiance- so relaxed with the feel of the Joshua Tree Park seeping into you! We have stayed in many of the various cabins- all fabulous in their own distinct ways-this time we stayed in Dandelion, which was possibly our favourite so far- really really cute and pretty with truly amazing views of the desert from your bed!We ate in the restaurant by the pool on our last night- food delicious, setting Perfect , and such friendly and professional service. Another fantastic stay and we would love to come back!

Room Tip: All great in their own unique ways- have a look at the plan of the grounds+ the staff are Really hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

driving from las vegas to palm springs this small hotel was the highlight of our holiday. we stayed in an adobe (2 rooms and small yard) great situation in the desert.food grown in own plot. good service.small pool.best food on trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djnic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just got back from a short vacation at the 29 Palms Inn. Actually considered backing out as it is a nine hour drive for us but so glad we didn't! We had a great time! The food was excellent, the weather perfect (early October), the Hermitage cabin so awesome funky-cute with an amazing view of the desert and mountains (and having to go outside to get to the bathroom just meant I got to see a shooting star at 4 AM), the on site pottery place got us all crafting, and the pool was refreshing and clean. We met up with a couple other families and the kids all had as much fun as the adults. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: This is not your standard hotel and that's why it's so charming! Enjoy the awesome uniquene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff at check in - charming "Adobe" cottages - really gives you a wonderful feel of being in the desert - rooms well maintained and clean - price is fair - wifi in area surrounding unheated pool (cold in early October) - good restaurant

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have to admit I was a little bit nervous about booking this hotel, and the google streetview didn't give me too many assurances. How wrong I was! This place is absolutely amazing. From the friendly reception to the amazing 'room' this place is a must for anyone needing a bed in the desert. We had the Guest House which sleeps six with it's own courtyard, kitchen and ample living accommodation. We only stayed on night but wished we had booked for longer. Despite the tremendous heat outside the air conditioning kept the place a cool as a cucumber. The kids loved the pool, with live music at the poolside in the evening. A good breakfast was served in the restaurant (reviewed separately) which also provided a good value packed lunch.

It is also just a few minutes drive from Joshua Tree National Park. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
651 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $70 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing