We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown and tired”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rundown and tired”
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We decided on this hotel based on a recommendation on Sunset.com as the place to stay close to Joshua Tree Nat'l Park. From the pictures on the website we expected quaint, adobe houses. The rooms turned out to be old and tired. They are in dire need of an update. The curtains had holes in them, the sink was rusty and there was no artsy decoration at all. At a spring break price of $155/nt we should have stayed at the Motel 6 for $59/nt in a new room. The grounds don't really offer anything nice either and the colors of the bungalows hurt your eiyes. The food at the restaurant was pretty good.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sj_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    86
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
94
150
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We picked this hotel to be close to Joshua Tree and because the wonderful reviews on this website led us to believe it would be a quaint, fun place to stay.

We couldn't have been more wrong.

As soon as we entered our house we were met with an awful chill. We finally located the thermostat after ten minutes of searching, but both of the vents remained covered in ice all night and blew cold air.

Our two rooms were connected by a grody bathroom with a shower that gave us the creeps. It couldn't even relieve the eyesore caused by the old, stained furniture and rugs out in the rooms.

We were thrilled to leave after our two night stay was finished. When we pulled up the "You Choose" stop sign, we defintely wished we had chosen not to go there at all.

  • Liked — There was something good about it?
  • Disliked — the accommodation
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IlliniChiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I made reservations to stay at the inn and relax after camping a few days in Joshua Tree natl. park. I found their website and from their description and the photos thought it looked nice. I was so dissapointed upon arriving to find myself and my girlfriend in a 10 x 12 room. They claimed each room was decorated by local artists. Ours was a bare room with an old framed poster. The bathroom mirror had areas that were no longer reflective, the soap holder was cracked and hanging from the wall. It just felt worn-out and tired. The pool is directly in front of the restaurant glass windows so who wants to swim with an audience? The hot tub had some strange rules and time limits and was behind a padlocked door in what looked like a dilapidated workshed. We didn't bother. Oh, when we checked in to our room we discovered an unmade bed from the previous guests so we had to walk to the office and tell them because none of the rooms have phones! nor alarm clocks. I would have been so much happier had we stayed at the local Holiday Inn for probably half the price in a much larger cleaner room. $168 dollars for this? Never again.

  • Liked — The restaurant actually had very good food
  • Disliked — The restaurant staff was surly, rude and immature
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ClimbingRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The property is definitely the nicest and has the most ambiance of any others we saw in 29 Palms. We stayed in one of the adobe houses, each housing two seperate rooms. Each room has a name, and we stayed in Encelia.

The room was very clean, the queen sized bed had an excellent mattress, and the patio was very private with two lounge chairs.
The highpoint is a wood burning fireplace, for which they supply all the necessities of gettting a nice fire going. The shower was adequate,

While the accomodations are very basic, meaning a tile floor, no hair dryer, no place to plug in a computer, very hard to find a plug to plug anything into, the quaintness and the friendliness and the true to adobe feeling made up for the shortcomings.

The restaurant on the property is truly a find. It serves excellent dinners, great Sunday brunch, and a free little continental breakfast every morning.

The swimming pool was freezing, but who goes to Joshua Tree NP to swim? There is a hot tub on the property for first come first served. We did not try this.

  • Liked — Location and authentic adobe room
  • Disliked — Lack of electric plugs and cold floors...bring slippers!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

This is an old, dirty motel. It was $175 a night for a room worth about $40.

Our room connected with 2 other rooms. Get this: the door between the rooms doesn't lock. That means that anyone in either of the adjacent rooms could enter our room at anytime.

Huge, greasy stains on the carpet, all the furniture was either ratty or completely broken, the shower was filthy, with only a cheap hand held plastic wand for a shower head. Towels are threadbare. There was cracked plaster in the walls and ceilings, the wind blew through the inoperable air conditioner all night. There was only one thin blanket.

Forget about phones, TV (ours was smaller than my laptop screen), or any amenities like shampoo or do not disturb signs. The toilet paper was the poorest quality available. You could read the newspaper through it, if one was available at the hotel. Shampoo and soap were out of a push dispenser in the shower, just like in the cheapest motels.

The food wasn't bad, nothing to write home about, but this isn't an area known for its restaurants.

For $175 a night, they should be ashamed of themselves. The Motel 6 down the street is $39.99. Although probably not much better, a lot less insulting.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

This resort has a special place for us. We have been back time and again and always love it - it really is unique.
We love the oasis, restaurant and cottages - right in the desert.
It has a magical quality to it, with a huge owl that sweeps over the floodlit pool at night.
I would rather keep it a secret really!
The best place to stay in 29 palms by far if you want to get away from the usual hotel fare.

  • Liked — Its unique charm
  • Disliked — the town it is based in
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kumedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed here years ago and loved it, and are happy to report that the place is just as nice as we remembered it. The adobe casitas are quaint and wonderful, and we love the location in the desert on the eastern edge of town. Their restaurant was good too, and one can dine on the patio in warmer weather. An excellent location, being next to the national park, too. A little pricier than your average chain motel, but worth every penny. They take dogs too, for a rather expensive additional fee, but worth it in the end for the pleasure of staying here.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
613 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing